ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Literature

Book Review of Gorillas in the Mist by Dian Fossey

Updated on August 16, 2012
Gorillas in the Mist Bookcover
Gorillas in the Mist Bookcover | Source

In the Beginning

Dian Fossey, was a remarkable and selfless woman, who did all that she could to ensure the lives and well-being of the nearly extinct mountain gorilla of Rwanda, Zaire and Uganda through the efforts of Karisoke Research Center, which she founded.

Her work began in 1967 and continued until 1983, a small segment of time to study a species and attempt to help it proliferate.

Own Your Own Copy!

The Facts

She and an assortment of students and African staff worked zealously and above and beyond the call of duty to eradicate the selfish work of poachers. Not only did the poachers cause grave harm, death, and suffering to the mountain gorilla, they also cruelly caused injury and death to other species, as well.

Sadly, a third world country with people so poor that they will do anything for their survival, including nearly eradicating an entire species. Even officials in these countries will sell these wonderful animals to get money and vehicles for their organizations without a second thought.

Saddest of all, these mountain gorillas, when confronted by traps, guns, arrows and bows, as well as spears, can only fight for their lives as best they can. This causes the upheaval of life of the species as they know it, which includes infanticide, deaths of other animals within their familial groups, and emotional trauma for the cruelly captured animals that have survived their first round with human beings. Dian Fossey was then looked upon to try to repair these animals both mentally and physically.

What We Can Do

Unfortunately, when it comes to the almighty dollar, the animals are always the ones to suffer. They cannot afford due process, medical care, or even blood money to ensure their survival.

That is where you and I come into the picture. One of the mountain gorillas that was cruelly killed was named Digit. The Digit Fund was established to try to help fund the work of anti-poaching operations, and it still exists, but has been renamed. Tax deductible donations may be made to The Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund International, 800 Cherokee Ave. S.E., Atlanta, GA 30315, telephone 800-851-0203.

This book is a must-read for everyone that wants to know what really happens with animals that have been captured and sold for profit. It is not pretty, but it will enlighten all to the injustices that humanity can create, and turn a blind eye to it, all at the same time. This is why there have been trusts created, and organizations begun to save animals before there are none left.

So please, the next time that you are solicited for a donation from these organizations, remember that these animals really are on the verge of extinction and once they are gone, it is over. We will never see them again to experience their beauty, for they have lost their freedom forever. We must be grateful that we have ours, for it is the humans that run the planet.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 3 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      So true, Aspen, so true. Thanks so much.

    • profile image

      Aspen 3 years ago

      Ah, i see. Well th'ats not too tricky at all!"

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Hey, Peg! There are so many animal pioneers out there, trying to get people to recognize their value. It is up to us to continue their work in whatever way that we can. Thanks for reading and your continued support.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 4 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Aviannovice. The story is one I'll never forget. It is heartwrenching to see the injustice and cruelty against a species as close to our form in nature and family values as the gorilla. Bravo to you for an enlightening review on this important topic and of the work of Dian Fossey.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      That sounds wonderful, Letitia. I will find it, you can bet on that.

    • LetitiaFT profile image

      LetitiaFT 5 years ago from Paris via California

      What a groundbreaker she was. I was lucky enough a few years ago to organize a retrospective tour of France of Bob Campbell's National Geographic photographs from those years and spend a little time with him. A warm, delightful man, I can understand how she fell for him. His book, The Taming of the Gorillas--if you can get a hold of it--offers additional insights into the animals, the woman, and the events.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Billy, you will get a LOT out of the book. It is written on a scientific note, but the love and tenderness is there.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      She truly was a remarkable and loving woman; the movie was beautiful; I have never read her book but may have to do that shortly. Great hub! As a former science and geography teacher, this subject is dear to me.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      gamby, yo are so right. Some people out there don't care about too much, which doesn't make them good members of society.

    • gamby79 profile image

      gamby79 5 years ago

      Great review. I have seen the film but definitely need to read the book now. I truly believe it's true that you can tell the character of a person by the way they treat animals. When I hear of the senseless cruelty humans inflict on not only their own species but other species too...leads me to wonder if we're not in fact at the bottom of the food chain. Senseless acts against animals cause me so much anger but unless I do something about it...it's just wasted emotion.

      Great information here too. Thanks aviannovice!

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Thank YOU, daydreamer, as well as for sharing that story with me.

    • daydreamer032 profile image

      daydreamer032 5 years ago from Texas

      I watched the movie as a young girl with my grandmother and I will never forget it. What a moving story and what amazing service and works she did for the gorillas. Thank you for your wonderfully written review; I think I will watch the movie again and possibly now read the book!

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Thanks, Kashmir. It is always good to see you. Sigourney Weaver did a great job in the role of Dian Fossey. I saw the movie, too.

    • kashmir56 profile image

      Thomas Silvia 5 years ago from Massachusetts

      I have not read the book but enjoyed your review of it. I have seen some documentary about her and the work she had done.

      Vote up and more !!!

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Thanks, Pollyannalana. We can all work on good causes, and "the power of one," can really make a difference, as each one of us adds up to so many.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Mhatter, yes, it did have an effect on me. To see animals killed just for the sake of killing, it's criminal. Sounds like you read it?

    • Pollyannalana profile image

      Pollyannalana 5 years ago from US

      Though I haven't read the book I am familiar with this story and cause too. A heartbreaking story and a very good cause. Up and sharing.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 5 years ago from San Francisco

      Boy, did this excellent book have an effect on you. Still I agree with you. (such a passionate book review)

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Thanks, xstatic. I read the book once, saw the movie, and had to re-read the book again. Cherrio!

    • xstatic profile image

      Jim Higgins 5 years ago from Eugene, Oregon

      I remember seeing that movie years ago, and some documentary about her work too. She was important and her work is worthwhile to remember and carry on.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      I appreciate your comment, whonunuwho. We are all in this together.

    • whonunuwho profile image

      whonunuwho 5 years ago from United States

      A wonderful work and very important to us all. The loss of our species of large animals and small is a great loss to us as human kind. We all depend upon each other in the chain of life. Thank you for your great hub work.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)