ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Review of "Breaking Night" by Liz Murray

Updated on May 8, 2012

Liz Murray

Disadvantaged Teenager Prevails

This article reviews a book called "Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival and my Journey From Homeless to Harvard", which was later made into a video.

Liz Murray and sister Lisa was born to drug addicted parents in the Bronx. Her parents had sold dope illegally and her father was in prison at her birth. For several years, her Mom got free of the drugs and got public and private assistance for maintaining a clean home, while still drinking somewhat.

Upon his release from prison, her father reappeared and life became crazier and crazier as time went on. At age 13, Child Welfare took Liz into custody. Her Mom left her Dad for another man and Welfare deemed it OK for her Mom and "Brick" to have custody.

Liz Talks About Her Story

Alcoholism Continues, Homelessness Ensues

Brick was a hard-living and extremely difficult man to live with. Liz witnessed his abuse of her mother and her mother continued to drink, becoming legally blind.

Finally, Liz left at age 15 to the streets, behind in school, yet determined to succeed. With other kids hiding her out and a street family, she was on her way.

Success to her, this meant a high school degree. With some deception from her Dad, she succeeded in this endeavor while being homeless and living with friends or sleeping in apartment stairwells for warmth during New York winters.

Doing homework whereever, she earned her degree plus a $25,000 scholarship to Harvard. I found this an amazing story of fortitude!

Breaking Night Video

A Made for TV movie was made of the Liz Murray Story including an interview with Liz Murray. This was nominated for 3 Emmy's including Outstanding Made-for-TV Movie.

I often use videos to see if I am interested in investing the time to read a book. This video was very interesting to my perspective as a westerner. I am very unfamiliar with New York and all its boroughs like the Bronx.

The actress, I thought was wonderful and portrayed the situation as well as possible given the short period of time. As usual, I followed up with the book for detail. I recommend them both very highly.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Laura in Denver profile image
      Author

      Laura Deibel 5 years ago from Aurora

      Surving New York winters homeless could not have been easy one iota. Thanks for your comment!

    • ahorseback profile image

      ahorseback 5 years ago

      That this all makes you and sis pretty amazing souls ! That is what fortitude and survivability is all about ! Awesome is where you stand right now !

    • Laura in Denver profile image
      Author

      Laura Deibel 6 years ago from Aurora

      This book is quite an extraordinary example of over-comming the odds. Thx!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 6 years ago from England

      Hi, it never fails to amaze me how people can be so strong and pull themselves out of such dire situations, fascinating review, thanks, nell

    • Laura in Denver profile image
      Author

      Laura Deibel 6 years ago from Aurora

      Amazingly, she made her own chance with gut determination. Thanks!

    • Laura in Denver profile image
      Author

      Laura Deibel 6 years ago from Aurora

      Blossom SB,

      Liz was able to deal with her drug addicted and alcoholic parents, without going that way herself. Quite an accomplishment!

      Thanks!

    • Laura in Denver profile image
      Author

      Laura Deibel 6 years ago from Aurora

      Liz was able to deal with her drug addicted and alcoholic parents, without going that way herself. Quite an accomplishment!

      Thanks!

    • tamron profile image

      tamron 6 years ago

      Most people would think that poor girl. She didn't have a chance! The truth is her situation just made her a stronger better person. Vote up

    • BlossomSB profile image

      Bronwen Scott-Branagan 6 years ago from Victoria, Australia

      An interesting and sensitive review of a great autobiographical story. Thank you for telling us about this book.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)