ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review of "Sherlock Holmes" series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Updated on July 2, 2013
Sherlock Holmes
Sherlock Holmes

About Sherlock Holmes...

Most of us already know about Sherlock Holmes. For those who don't, I highly recommend that you continue reading through.

For most of us who are familiar with Sherlock Holmes, he is as real as a fictional character could ever be. For us fans, Sherlock Holmes is made out of blood and bones just like all of us. That is evidence enough for the masterpiece Sir Conan Doyle had created.

Who is Sherlock Holmes?

In the most basic sense, Sherlock Holmes is a detective. He does not work for anybody or any authority. He worked alone. In modern terms he was a freelance detective-or more of a consulting detective. But wait! He was no ordinary detective. He was far from any play-by-the-book detectives. In comparison to them Sherlock Holmes was leaps and bounds ahead of them. How? Let me tell you...

Sherlock Holmes has a special skill or a special brain in some sense. Now don't get disappointed. It;s not a super power. It's just an extension of a capability that all of us possess. This ability is the power of keen observation, analysis and perfect judgement. We all do have it, but not as much as we would like to have. Anyway Sherlock Holmes is able to make connections between causes and effects better than anyone else.

He is a tall, thin person with a nose shaped like the beak of an eagle. His eyes are deep and watchful and observant. He doesn't blabber, but he does have a way with words when necessary. He dressed like a gentleman with a big overcoat and a unique cap (as seen on the picture). He almost always had a pipe in him mouth , usually to help him concentrate and think on problems.

Holmes solves crimes with his gifted mind, but he does have immense strength and a natural talent for martial arts, be it with guns, swords, canes, chains and even a walking stick. He is active and lively-visiting the crime scenes, questioning people and gathering evidences. And he is always two steps ahead of the London Police.

Sherlock Holmes's unique ability...

Holmes sees things that an ordinary person would miss, not exactly miss but rather we don't pay any attention to them at all. But for Holmes small details provide the most valuable information. For an example a darkened skin patch under the thumb finger of person could derive that the person is a typist and the darkened patch caused by constant touch of the thumb finger on the typewriter. This method of analysis is known as 'Holmesian Deduction'. Yes, it is named after Holmes. This is a form of abductive reasoning. A person having a chalk patch on his coat elbow could mean that he is a professor or a teacher using a blackboard with chalk and the chalk patch has occurred due to resting the hand on the board when writing on the board. For more example read here.

Probably one of the most interesting dialogues that occurred could be as follows when Holmes visited to investigate a case of a theft.

Gregory (Scotland Yard detective): "Is there any other point to which you would wish to draw my attention?"
Holmes: "To the curious incident of the dog in the night-time."
Gregory: "The dog did nothing in the night-time."
Holmes: "That was the curious incident."


Holmes and Dr. Watson (Holmes with the pipe)
Holmes and Dr. Watson (Holmes with the pipe)

Holmes and Dr. Watson...

Of course Holmes didn't operate alone. He had a best friend-probably the only friend, when all of the London underworld had sworn to kill Holmes for bringing most of their members to justice. Dr. Watson was the anchor that kept Holmes sane and healthy. Dr. Watson meets Holmes as a result of an apartment search. That is during the beginning of Holmes's career as an independent investigator and hadn't established any name for himself. Dr. Watson really didn't excel at his dental practice, not due to any lack of his talents, but for some other reason. The interesting fact is that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle too is a doctor who did not really succeed as a doctor and also fitted the description of Dr. Watson quite well. So most of us speculate Sir Doyle is in fact portrayed as Dr. Watson in the series. After some time in that apartment in Baker Street, London, Holmes invites Watson to join in one of his investigations. And so the journey begins. The stories are told by Dr. Watson, in his perspective. He begins composing stories out of the investigations he takes part in and with time he is in almost every investigation. Holmes isn't much of a fan of illustrious writing of Watson but doesn't object nonetheless. Later on we come across two stories narrated by Holmes himself.

Professor Moriarty
Professor Moriarty

Brain of the London underworld: Professor Moriarty

Sherlock Holmes has one life goal. That is to bring Professor Moriarty to justice. Moriarty is a professor of Mathematics and is the criminal mastermind of London. As put by Holmes himself, he is the 'Napoleon of crime'. Moriarty is the apex of a complex web of the London underworld. If the underworld is the web, Moriarty is the spider-all strings are connected by him but he is nowhere to be connected to any of the strings. Anywhere a theft, crime, smuggle takes place, Moriarty is behind every one of it.

The truth in fact is that Professor Moriarty was given birth by Sir Doyle as a plot to kill Sherlock Holmes. So he features only in two latter stories of the series.

According to Sherlock Holmes, Moriarty is the biggest threat to peace in London.

Watch the movie starring Robert Downey Jr.

About the book...

The book consisting of all the stories of Sherlock Holmes's adventures is available for purchase.

The book is named "The Complete Sherlock Holmes: All 4 Novels and 56 Short Stories" and is available in many formats and editions.

As mentioned, there are 56 short stories and 4 novels.

The novels are:

  • A Study in Scarlet
  • The Sign of the Four
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles
  • The Valley of Fear

For the list of the 56 short stories visit: bookztore

Our rating for the book...

5 stars for The Complete Sherlock Holmes: All 4 Novels and 56 Short

"The Hound of The Baskervilles" (Full video)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      pus 

      3 years ago

      Good

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      @Phillbert

      He's simply the best...

    • Phillbert profile image

      Phillip Drayer Duncan 

      4 years ago from The Ozarks

      Gotta love Sherlock Holmes! Great hub!

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      @Tim Symonds

      You are welcome and looking forward for more great work.

    • profile image

      Tim Symonds 

      4 years ago

      It's equally on honour to be permitted to comment in your hub, Nimesh, many thanks!

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      @Tim Symonds

      WOW. That's great. It's an honor to have you in my little hub. I hope to read your book somehow. Good luck and all the best to you.

    • profile image

      Tim Symonds 

      4 years ago

      Add Your CI've just had my third sherlock published (see below) where I plunged the great detective deep into Serbia in 1905 In my novels I like to transport Holmes well away from his comfort zone of gaslit, foggy London.

      Sherlock Holmes And The Mystery of Einstein's Daughter by Tim Symonds

      In late 1903 Einstein's illegitimate daughter 'Lieserl' disappears without trace in Serbia aged around 21 months. She may never have come to the eyes of the outside world but for an unexpected find eighty three years after her disappearance. In California, Einstein’s first son, Hans Albert Einstein, investigated an old shoebox tucked away on the top shelf of a wardrobe. It contained several dozen yellowed letters in German type, exchanges between Albert and Mileva.

      As Holmes exclaims in the Mystery of Einstein's Daughter, "the most ruthless effort has been made by public officials, priests, monks, Einstein's friends, followers, relatives and relatives-by-marriage to seek out and destroy every document with Lieserl’s name on it. The question is – why?"

      ‘Lieserl’s fate shadows the Einstein legend like some unsolved equation’ Scientist Frederic Golden Time Magazine

      Sherlock Holmes And The Mystery of Einstein's Daughter is available at www.mxpublishing.co.uk/engine/shop/product/9781780925721 or www.amazon.co.uk/Sherlock-Holmes-Mystery-Einsteins-Daughter/dp/1780925727. Review copies contact Steve Emecz at mxpublishing@btinternet.com.

      Holmes on justice (The Resident Patient): “Wretch as he was, he was still living under the shield of British law, and I have no doubt, Inspector, that you will see that, though that shield may fail to guard, the sword of justice is still there to avenge.”

      omment...

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      Happy New Year to you too!!! Have a great year ahead.

    • ajwrites57 profile image

      AJ 

      4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      OK thanks Nimesh De Silva! Happy New Year!

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      I see. But those are works of other authors using the character of Sherlock Holmes. I never consider them as a part of the original series.

    • ajwrites57 profile image

      AJ 

      4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      If you look on wikipedia under Canon of Sherlock Holmes, there are as many as 18 additional stories and other writings in addition to the 56 short stories and four novels accepted as authoritative.

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      @ajwrites57

      I did consider listing the books on the hub itself, but 56 names in a list kinda looked too lengthy and kinda disturbed the flow of the article.

      What do you mean there are discrepancies?

    • ajwrites57 profile image

      AJ 

      4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      I see you have the link on you hub. Maybe list them out on your hub? Keep people on the hub longer. I have several volumes of the Complete short stories, but there is some discrepancy about what is considered complete.

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      @ajwrites57

      I can give you the whole short story list of Sherlock Holmes if you want. Or the complete bookset can be bought from Amazon at a very cheap price.

    • ajwrites57 profile image

      AJ 

      4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Nimesh De Silva can't remember if I ever read them all! Read many and viewed much of the movie shorts with Basil Rathbone. Gonna hafta lock myself away and read them again!

    • profile image

      monika 

      4 years ago

      i like sherlock holmes book

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      4 years ago

      @ajwrites57

      Thanks, I'm a huge fan of Sherlock Holmes. I have read all of the books.

    • ajwrites57 profile image

      AJ 

      4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Informative Hub introducing Sherlock Holmes! Enjoyed reading Nimesh De Silva!

    • Nimesh De Silva profile imageAUTHOR

      Nimesh De Silva 

      5 years ago

      Thanks a bunch!!!

    • jabelufiroz profile image

      Firoz 

      5 years ago from India

      Impressive article on Sherlock Holmes. Voted up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)