ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review of the New York Times Bestseller "Dear John by Nicholas Sparks"

Updated on August 14, 2013

Getting to know more about the writer, Nicholas Sparks

I will share the information I gathered about the author from a reliable source online, Wikipedia.

Nicholas Charles Sparks (born December 31, 1965) is an American novelist, screenwriter and producer. He has seventeen published novels. Eight have been adapted to films, including Message in a Bottle, A Walk to Remember, The Notebook, Nights in Rodanthe, Dear John, The Last Song, The Lucky One, and most recently Safe Haven.

Mr. Sparks resides in North Carolina with his wife, Cathy; their three sons, Miles, Ryan, and Landon; and twin daughters, Lexie and Savannah.


Understanding Military Men

I have cousins and friends who are serving the military, especially the army division.

One of my cousins died while fighting against the rebels. I also gave the sad news, when I was still active on the radio.

My grandfather (father of my father) was also a World War II veteran. One of his sons also served as reservist in the army.

Being a war veteran, he instilled in us the military discipline he learned from the army during my childhood days. I had to obey first before I complain when doing chores that I was not familiar with.

Since, rebel groups are rampant in the Philippines, we are cautioned by my grandfather to be vigilant whenever strangers are passing in our place.

I was also a reservist during my ROTC years in college. I’ve seen how our officers and trainers molded us into a disciplined individual.

Official DEAR JOHN Trailer - In Theaters 2/5 c/o SonyPictures

The Grunt

Knowing Nicholas Sparks with his #1 New York Times Bestseller, Dear John, brought another roller-coaster ride of human emotions.

If you’re familiar with him, Mr. Sparks’s masterpieces-turned-into-movies (Message in a Bottle, A Walk to Remember, and The Notebook) changed my outlook in life when it comes to the feeling called LOVE.

A popular coach in New Bern High’s (North Carolina) track team, Mr. Sparks ventured into another romantic setting exploring how love can transcend time and space.

This time, it’s about true love that sprang between a college student and a US army sergeant.

Grunt as he is (most military men are tagged with that moniker, especially in the army, Sergeant John Tyre came home in June 2000.

Fresh from his mission, being in infantry division, in Germany, Wrightsville Beach at Wilmington, North Carolina was the first thing in his mind in order to pass the time and enjoy his vacation.

Before joining the army, he was, first, a surfing enthusiast, which he learned during his adolescent years.

His father, who works at the local postal service, was also a coin collector.

Father and son interaction were limited and conversations were limited to coins. Young John was rebellious, most male youths are.

Until he joined the military, the discipline “to follow without questioning” brought him to faraway places. But his sense of direction was still scattered until he met Savannah Lynn Curtis.

Note: The movie adaptation was shown way back 2009 starring Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried.

When I read the book, "Dear John"...

Starring roles are for John and Savannah, the leading characters.

John is the rebellious one, growing up without the care of a mother.

Meanwhile, Savannah was nurtured by her two educated parents and the friendly and homey environment in Tennessee who gave her a tamed and controlled upbringing.

But when love plays...

The two hit it off instantly.

Savannah is a member of the volunteering team building houses for less fortunate.

She’s basically a man could ask for in life but circumstances intervened

John met her friends and family but their fate will not jive for a happy ending.

One must sacrifice or I’ll say they should set aside their true feelings in order to help their loved ones survive.

As always, Nicholas Sparks narrated the book in the most readable way that you will not stop until you reach the climax of the story.

The twists and turns of events presented will keep you guessing as the two protagonists, John and Savannah, will continue to fight for their feelings.

John was the one narrating the whole story. It's quite a unique way for a man to be the one telling us his story (his life, his career and his love).

Twist in the ending of the story


Fictionalized love story always gives us a happy ending.

But this one has a unique way of ending the love story between the two.

Savannah and John felt a contentment that they could understand without uttering a word.

The credit goes to Mr. Nicholas Sparks in presenting the book without the grandeur of rosy ending.

But his deep understanding of human emotions made me understand what will be the feelings of the characters if they are alive.

Still, I believe that the experiences presented in the book were gathered from true accounts,

His unique ways of looking at different perspectives in life made this book a unique read.

Perhaps, the author’s thoughts about the lives of military men were inserted so that readers will be able to identify with their true feelings about life, about family and marriage.

You can buy the book, Dear John by Nicholas Sparks @ Amazon

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • travel_man1971 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ireno Alcala 

      5 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      @MsDora: Hi, Ms. D! I'm still hooked into reading fiction or a feel-good book about life's experiences. Mr. Nicholas Sparks always explore human emotions that will keep us captivated with the way he weave distinct characters that we can compare in a true-to-life context.

      Thank you for always making it a habit to drop by and leave comments in my hubs.

    • travel_man1971 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ireno Alcala 

      5 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      @Mhatter99: You're welcome, Sir. You can always check my other hubs and leave insightful comments.

    • travel_man1971 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ireno Alcala 

      5 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      @hawaiianodysseus: You better do it, Sir Joe. Please read the book first and watch the movie later. You can compare how the vizualization or screenplay can greatly affect what you've perceived or imagined about the characters involved in the story.

      Thank you for dropping by. - Ireno :)

    • travel_man1971 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ireno Alcala 

      5 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      @billybuc: With a busybody like you, Sir Bill, I am sure that you'll still find it interesting. Thank you for taking your time in visiting my hub.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      5 years ago from The Caribbean

      Nicholas Sparks is very popular with some of my friends. Although I find it difficult to read fiction, I'd say you did a good job on the "Dear John" review. Thank you.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for your review

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 

      5 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      I can see why you're such a popular and successful writer here on HubPages, Ireno. You've done a masterful job of writing this book review without spoiling the book or the movie for us. I now feel compelled to view both in the very near future. Aloha, my friend!

      ~Joe

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I'm always looking for a good book. Thanks for the review my friend, and I hope you have a great weekend.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)