ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Bestsellers

Book Review of the book "Fat Chance" by Dr. Robert H. Lustig, M.D., M.S.L.

Updated on November 18, 2014

The book....

A NY Times best seller about sugar, processed foods, obesity, and diseases associated with them.
A NY Times best seller about sugar, processed foods, obesity, and diseases associated with them. | Source

Halloween candy is the real horror show!

After months, if not years, on the New York Times Bestseller List a book must either be widely considered entertaining or broadly informative on a topic of widespread interest.

Just as Silent Spring rode such a wave of acclaim, so also has Fat Chance by Doctor Robert H. Lustig M.D., M.S.L.

Whereas Silent Spring addressed what we have done to our external environment, Fat Chance addresses what Americans and others around the world have been doing to our internal environment, namely our own bodies.

The culprit? Sugar.

Go into your local store or supermarket, or in too many cases your local school, or even your local gymnasium or fitness center, and you won't have to look hard to spot attractively packaged, and addictive sugar products from sodas which are cheaper than potable bottled water, to the universal mainstay bread. Dr. Lustig has stated that of 600,000 items in a major supermarket, 80% have sugar as an included ingredient.

Whether the sugar is there as the major attraction, or for something as profitable as extending the shelf life of that loaf of bread, sugar is ubiquitous....everywhere.

The proverbial "sweet tooth" doesn't do the thinking, our brains do. Our brains are looking for the pleasurable endorphins that come from a shot of sugar,

If you don't believe it, try going for just one day "cold turkey," no sugar. If you decide to really kick the "sugar addiction" it will take a miserable two weeks of denying the craving, accompanied in all likelihood by some headaches and irritability.

The reward for kicking your "sugar addiction"? The possibilities are an elevated brain power, a slimmer and sexier body, better blood flow to all parts of your body, and substantially reduced odds of having to live with the results of diabetes, stroke, heart disease, some forms of cancer, and even gaining the possibility of lowering your risk of dementia, Alzheimer's, and liver disease.

Dr. Lustig is an endocrinologist and has studied how sugar intake affects the body in close partnership with insulin. In a listing of how insulin resistance develops and causes metabolic syndrome (on pages 95 and 96) Dr. Lustig shows the cascading effects that can result from high sugar intake.... a sugar intake level in America that is unmatched per capita in any other country in the world.

The goal of Fat Chance is not to make you swear off sugar, but rather to know and understand what you can do for your life going forward by controlling your appetite for this addictive substance, just as you would limit your intake of any other harmful substance.

Humans can drink alcoholic beverages to excess and get into a world of trouble. Dr. Lustig knows that sugar consumed repeatedly and in excess can lead men. women, and children into their own world of troubles.

If knowledge applied is power, and truth can make us free, then an easy read through Fat Chance can arm you with the knowledge and power to be more of a master or mistress of your own destiny and far less likely to have to deal with diseases that no one in their right mind would ever wish for themselves or their loved ones.

For anyone who cares about health, I strongly recommend obtaining a copy of this book from Plume Books the publisher, your local library, amazon, or ebay.

Dr. Lustig has also written a cookbook intended to reward your efforts at getting a healthy balance to your daily menu. Check out its reviews and reviews of Fat Chance the next chance you get.

____________

Copyright 2014 Demas W. Jasper All rights reserved.

Sugar Addiction....

Can you yourself sense that you have a sugar addiction?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 3 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      CatherineGiordano - Lessons unpracticed are lessons unlearned. These are important, for sure.

    • CatherineGiordano profile image

      Catherine Giordano 3 years ago from Orlando Florida

      I agree with you about the importance of this book. I wrote about the interview bill Maher had with Robert Lustig on my blog. http://billmaherrulesforreal.blogspot.com/2014/05/...

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 3 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      aviannovice - So much knowledge is available. What knowledge do we need today? How do we stand the best chance of obtaining it? Seek out truth where it is to be found, and always be seeking and sharing it. Someone needs it today.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 3 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      I wrote a piece about robotics, and I ask indicated the same thing about sugar, as well as fried food. The more that you eat, the more you crave it. This content is very true. Once you are able to rid your body of tees substances, your gut bacteria will become normal, and the pounds will drop off, quite naturally. Also water is one of the most important things that we can consume. Good read and very true.

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 3 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      dilipchandra12 - Wishes across the oceans, from and to India.

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 3 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      Eiddwen - Wishes across the sea, from and to Wales.

    • dilipchandra12 profile image

      Dilip Chandra 3 years ago from India

      Never heard about him, good to know and thanks for the same my friend :)

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 3 years ago from Wales

      A wonderful hub which really did make me stop and think. Voted up and wishing you a great day my friend.

      Eddy.

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 3 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      Ericdierker - You will think about it even more, if you accept the challenge to do a fast from sugar for a day! (P. S. And don't even think about chocolate chip cookies, or a can of soda (liquid sugar) or a cup of coffee with sugar.)

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 3 years ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      I was aware it was common just not this common. Makes one really think about what they eat. Great hub.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)