ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Book Review on Who is Joseph Pulitzer? by Terrence Crimmins

Updated on November 30, 2017
Lisa Jane39 profile image

Lisa Jane loves to write and read. She uses her love for writing and reading by writing book reviews on the books she reads.

Who is Joseph Pulitzer by Terrence Crimmins is a 278-page historical fiction novel that is based on the personal life and professional conflicts of Joseph. This book was published by Knollwood Press in Boston Massachusetts on the first day of September in 2016. In his life, the author Terrence Crimmins has led an exciting life with his writing online columns, having his work published in scholarly journals, by writing biographical picture screenplays and as a teacher of history in Baltimore Maryland. He is now writing comedy and drama on the American experience through his short stories and novels.

In today’s world, we the public are in awe of men who influence major changes in regards how the news is broadcasted. There were men like that in the 1800” s in which Joseph was one of those men. As you read this novel, you will be fascinated on how Joseph goes from having nothing to being in control of the newspaper industry.

The public love their rag to riches stories. What would you do if you went from rich to rags then back to riches, again. This is what happened to Joseph. He was born in Hungary to a wealthy Jewish father and mother. When his father died, seventeen-year-old Joseph’s mother remarried so that the family wouldn’t be in poverty. He walked out on his mother’s wedding and tried to join the army, but no one would take him due to his being to skinny and wearing glasses. What would you do if you found out that the army you joined was only after the bounty? During his voyage over to the United States, he found out that the reason that the army signed him was for the bounty that they would get since they were not planning on giving it to the recruits. So, Joseph jumped ship and swam to shore where he went to get his money. He ended up serving in a bureaucratic role instead of fighting.

. After the war, he ended in St. Louis doing the odd jobs to make a living. Joseph would have a tough time because he had a high opinion of himself, thought he could do things better, didn’t like taking orders and had huge ambitions which made him short of temper with mood swings. When he wasn’t working, you could find him in the library reading all he could. He learned English and even passed the law exam. He loved reading the classics. He met his future bosses Carl Schurz and Thomas Davidson while he was a waiter at a restaurant/barroom.

It's not surprising that with all his ambitions that buys the Post newspaper from his boss and buys out another newspaper.

Pulitzer, at the age of forty-one, lost his eyesight due to a broken blood vessel in one of his eyes. He also developed asthma, stomach problems, depression, nervous affliction and weak lungs. His doctors wanted him to quit the newspaper business, but it did not happen. He ended up hiring teams of men to act as his secretaries as his eyes and ears. For a while, he and his secretaries would move from place to place so Pulitzer could seek the peace he needed from noise. Soon he was running his newspaper by telegrams and letters. Towards the end of his life, he and his secretaries sailed off in his yacht to take a trip around the world, so he could find that peace. His wife and two daughters were there to send him off.

The sad thing was that after his death, the World newspaper went into bankruptcy because he was not there to manage it whereas the Post-Dispatch newspaper remained in business. Before his death, he created the Pulitzer Prize to give awards to people who achieved greatness. What an amazing legacy.

Pulitzer changed the way journalism was regarded by creating sensationalism and stopping the exploitation of the poor from corrupt politicians and the wealthy. He is my favorite character because within twenty years of emigrating from Hungary to America, he fought for the underdogs (i.e. the poor and the immigrants) by using the two newspapers that he owned to undercover the corruptness of the wealthy. That’s not bad for an Hungarian immigrant who spoke little English and was poor himself. He owned two of the biggest newspapers in his time, the Gilded Age.

I loved the book. Even though this is a historical fiction it is based on Pulitzer’s life and the novel is filled fascinating and intriguing facts. I am so glad that I was able to read this. I have to admit that before reading this book, I didn’t know anything about the Pulitzer Prize except what they do now. I didn’t know that it was named after someone.

There was nothing about this book that I didn’t like. I found this book to be full of rich details about the life of Pulitzer. It was enjoyable to read about a man who went from riches to rags to riches. His journey was aspiring in that he didn’t let anything get in the way of his ambition or dream.

I would recommend this book to everyone who loves to read especially novels based on fact. I believe that anyone who is fascinated with the history of our country, history buffs and anyone interested in biographies would love this book.

5 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of Book Review on Joseph Pulitzer

Was this book interesting?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lisa Jane39 profile image
      Author

      Lisa Jane 6 months ago from Washington

      It was the United States Army. It didn't say how much or the terms. It was the United States government that paid the money.

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 6 months ago from Houston, TX USA

      "Since the army was recruiting soldiers overseas to fight in the Civil War, the government would pay for recruits crossing the Atlantic Ocean."

      Which army? Which government? How much? What were the terms of this agreement?

    • Lisa Jane39 profile image
      Author

      Lisa Jane 6 months ago from Washington

      Your welcome. It is easy to make.

    • Lisa Jane39 profile image
      Author

      Lisa Jane 6 months ago from Washington

      He is very interesting.

    • enl1230 profile image

      Elizabeth J Neal 6 months ago from Louisiana

      They look great and very easy to make. Thank-you for sharing your recipe.

    • CatherineGiordano profile image

      Catherine Giordano 6 months ago from Orlando Florida

      I do like stories that blend fact with fiction. I ha never heard of this person, but he sounds very interesting.

    • Lisa Jane39 profile image
      Author

      Lisa Jane 6 months ago from Washington

      When his father died, his mother had a hard maintaining the business so she remarried so it wouldnt happen. The book didnt mention what the business was or why he didn't continue his father's business.

      Since the army was recruiting soldiers overseas to fight in the Civil War, the government would pay for recruits crossing the Atlantic Ocean.

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 6 months ago from Houston, TX USA

      "He was born in Hungary to a wealthy Jewish father and mother. When his father died, seventeen-year-old Joseph’s mother remarried so that the family wouldn’t be in poverty."

      Why would his father's death cause poverty? If they were wealthy he or she would inherit the wealth.

      "What would you do if you found out that the army you joined was only after the bounty? "

      What bounty? Please explain.

      How did this man achieve success? Why did he not continue in his father's business? What was the business?

    • Lisa Jane39 profile image
      Author

      Lisa Jane 6 months ago from Washington

      It was very interesting. I loved reading this book.

    • Coffeequeeen profile image

      Louise Powles 6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      This sounds like a really interesting book, and something I would enjoy. Thanks for the review. This kind of book is right up my street.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)