ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review:The Galvanized Yankees by Dee Brown

Updated on December 20, 2014

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Rock_Island_IL_Barber_1865p322_cropped.jpg

Source

Anyone interested in Civil War history, Plaines Indians, Indian wars, or American frontier History will find this book a valuable read. Dee Alexander Brown (February 28, 1908 – December 12, 2002)) was both a historian who wrote both serious fiction and history, especially about the American Indians and the American West. This review is about his history of the Galvanized Yankees, a book that I have found useful as a reference for both short stories and history articles of my own. In addition to telling the story of the Galvanized Yankees, Brown relates many facts and stories of the Indian Wars, the Army, Civil War prisoner of war camps and conditions.

The University of Illinois Press in Urbana, Illinois in 1963 published the Galvanized Yankee. It is packed with interesting information and unfortunately it may be hard to find now, since libraries do not seem inclined to keep old books anymore. It is a good read for any student of the American frontier or the American Civil War. As Brown notes in his introduction there were about 6,000 Americans who “served as outpost guardians for the nation that at one time or another each had sought to destroy. They were former soldiers of the Confederacy who became known as “Galvanized Yankees.” “They became members of the Union Army and assigned to…the Western frontier so they would not meet their former comrades in battle,” Many were “…killed by Indians, scurvy, epidemic disease, wintry blizzards.”

They were officially “…known as the United States Volunteers…” They consisted of six regiments made up of recruits from “…prisons at Point Lookout, Rock Island, Alton, Camps Douglas, Chase, and Morton.”

According to Brown these six regiments have been largely ignored and forgotten The south did not want them and the North forgot them. “Yet the record of the six regiments in the West is one in which any American could take pride,” Brown states.

They filled a gap. Many Union soldiers were coming to the end of their enlistments. There were riots in Northern Cities due to draft calls. In other words the North could not spare men for frontier duty because they were needed in the war.

Not only were men needed for the war but there was getting to be a shortage of men on the home front. As a result the state of Pennsylvania was having to pay bounties to get substitutes for those who could stay home as substitutes. It was two politicians from Pennsylvania that presented the idea to President Lincoln to use Confederate prisoners as substitutes. Lincoln felt he needed the votes in that state in the next election and approved the idea.

Rock Island To Duty on the Plaines

In 1865 after much government delay two regiments were organized at Rock Island. Toward the end of February various companies of the 2nd regiment were sent to Fort Leavenworth. Companies from the 3rd regiment soon followed.

North of Fort Riley and Kearney they were informed that there was a real Indian war.” General Samuel R. Curtis led a few regiments on a thousand mile march up the Platt and then back to Leavenworth over the Santa Fe Trail,” the author tells on page 15. The Overland stage agreed to run coaches providing the government provide guards and escorts. This was upset when a group of cavalry engaged in what was to become known as the “Sand Creek Massacre” on November 29, 1864.This in turn led to the Cheyenne and other tribes making attacks for revenge.

Extra effort to keep lines open would need strong military support, Most of this fell to the Galvanized Yankees.

Learn to be Western

The new troops found that they would have very little problem with the Northern soldiers who were more than glad for the support. It wasn’t long before the new soldiers were speaking like northerners. They learned to spot game to shoot and fit right in. Life was too dangerous to worry about petty prejudices. “The U.S. Volunteers soon learned that in the social ranking of road drivers, the coachmen were lords of he lash. Next in order came the horse and mule teamsters, and then the lowest class—the bullwhackers, who drove oxen.” Brown (p.29) The escorts became close to the stagecoach drivers and called them by their nicknames.

Galvanized Confederates

The Confederate army recruited several hundred Galvanized Confederates. These sometimes got confused for Galvanized Yankees. These too were from prison camps. Although some Union prisoners did pledge loyalty to the Confederacy it did not work out as well as for the Galvanized Yankees since there was not frontier duty for these men. Some were captured on the battlefield and sent to a prison for spies.

Conclusions

The Galvanized Yankees were an interesting and not well-known aspect of the Civil War. As I mentioned above Dee Browns book is well worth reading for fans of the Civil War History, Plains Indians, Indian Wars, American frontier History and Americana.

Copyright 2011 Don Hoglund

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • dahoglund profile imageAUTHOR

      Don A. Hoglund 

      7 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      Hi Peggy W. I always find these odd bits of history of interest. This book also supplied quite a bit of material to write about.Thanks for commenting.

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      7 years ago from Houston, Texas

      This sounds like it would be a very interesting book to read. Thanks for the review. Up votes!

    • dahoglund profile imageAUTHOR

      Don A. Hoglund 

      7 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      phdast. Thank you for the comment. I myself have not had a whole lot of interest in the Civil War. My interest in The galvanized Yankees probably has more to do with having worked at the rock Island arsenal for many years and its history interests me.I am glad you enjoyed the review.

    • phdast7 profile image

      Theresa Ast 

      7 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

      A very well-written and interesting review. I know very little about the Civil War (European history is my focus), but you have almost convinced me to run out and buy the book. :)

    • dahoglund profile imageAUTHOR

      Don A. Hoglund 

      7 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      Praselio,Although it is not a recent book, I think it is an important one.It tells about an unusual aspect of our Civil War and of American western history. I appreciate your reading about it.

    • prasetio30 profile image

      prasetio30 

      7 years ago from malang-indonesia

      I love this book. Thanks for reviewing and introduce this book. Well done and rated up!

      Prasetio

    • dahoglund profile imageAUTHOR

      Don A. Hoglund 

      7 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      Kittythedreamer,

      I appreciate you're reading this and leaving a comment.The book is about a forgotten group of soldiers and touches on Indians only to the extent that it relates to them.By the same token it is not about the Civil War but does touch on some aspects of it. I am glad you found the review useful.

    • kittythedreamer profile image

      Kitty Fields 

      7 years ago from Summerland

      Voted up and useful. I am not into reading too much on the civil war but I do read a lot about different Native tribes, so this book review is definitely of some use to me. Thanks so much. What an awesome review!

    • dahoglund profile imageAUTHOR

      Don A. Hoglund 

      7 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      Becky thanks for being the first to comment.Dee Brown was a good historian of the West, although he didn't live in the west.I have had some of his books that I bought to sell and didn't pay much attention to. He also had one about pioneer women which was useful.Since I worked at the Rock Island Arsenal where the soldiers were first recruited it was interesting to me.

    • Becky Katz profile image

      Becky Katz 

      7 years ago from Hereford, AZ

      Good review of the book. I noticed there are several ads for the book throughout the article. You have done several interesting stories from it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)