ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Summary Catching Fire

Updated on February 9, 2016

In the book Catching Fire the story of the heroine Katniss Everdeen. Although Katniss was safe at the end of The Hunger Games, in Catching Fire she is in jeopardy again. It didn't seem to matter that she had just won, she was immediately placed in jeopardy for a second time. Katniss must put her wits and strength to the test once more. It seems so unfair and yet that is exactly what Katniss must do and must face. She has faced hard odds before and has come out on top so she must do it again.

The author of Catching Fire is Suzanne Collins. Collins and her family reside in Connecticut. She is a New York Times bestselling author. There have been hugely successful movies made that were based upon the books. She also wrote the Underland Chronicles series. The Hunger Games series is extremely commercially successful.

Catching Fire picks up where The Hunger Games left off. Katniss Everdeen has won The Hunger Games and is now home. However, all is not back to normal. The reason is that some residents of other districts of Panem have become inspired by Katniss and have interpreted her acts as defiance against the capitol.

Many of these districts begin to rebel against the capitol. Katniss is dispatched on a trip to all the districts to calm them down. This effort fails though and the leaders of Panem decide to have another Hunger Games and use all the past victors. This is regarded by the districts as totally unfair. It is definitely viewed as more oppression against the districts.

Since Katniss is going back into The Hunger Games she needs to train for it. Katniss becomes a symbol to the resistance. That symbol is known as a mocking jay. She pretends to be pregnant also as a strategy. She is desperately doing anything she can to survive.

Katniss Everdeen is on another perilous trajectory in the book Catching Fire. She has inadvertently inspired others to rebel, thus was sent back to The Hunger Games as punishment. Woven throughout this adventuresome tale is a charming love story as well. Luckily, there is still one more book in the series to be read after this and it is titled Mockingjay. This is an extremely fast paced and exciting read that it is hard to put down. When you read the books you desire more. Each book leaves you with the feeling of wanting more of the heroine Katniss Everdeen.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.