ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Buy Deltora Quest Series 1

Updated on May 19, 2010

The Deltora Quest Series is a collection of books written by Australian author Emily Rodda. They follow the adventures of three characters called Lief, Jasmine and Baarda through the fictional land of Deltora. Each book focuses on their efforts to recover various magical things to help them overpower the evil Shadow Lord, in the first series these were gems and in the second pieces of a pipe.

The First Series was released in 2003 and has since become extremely popular with pre-teen boys with its elements of a quest, the fantasy setting and its fight of good against evil.My son got introduced to the first book by his school friends and then read ther rest of the series more avidly than I have seen him read a book for a long time.

The Series has since been published in more than 30 countries and has sold over 15 million copies worldwide.

The First Series contains 8 separate books which cover the companions attmepts to retrieve the seven gems that had been lost from the Belt of Deltora.

The Complete Deltora Quest Series from Amazon

Deltora Quest: The Complete Series
Deltora Quest: The Complete Series

The complete Deltora Quest Series 1 in one book


The Story behind the First Series

The first series of Deltora Quest covers the takeover of Deltora by the evil Shadow Lord and his scattering of the gems from the Magic Belt of Deltora throughout Deltora. The only way to overwhelm the Shadow Lord is for someone to retrieve all the gems. The books  follows the journeys of Lief and an ex-palace guard Barda on their travels to find the gems. Along the way they meet with Jasmine, a wild child of the Forests of Silence who can speak to the trees. Their quest is to find the seven gems of the fabled Belt of Deltora: topaz, ruby, opal, lapis lazuli, emerald, amethyst, and diamond. Each gem is hidden in a dangerous location around Deltora and the three friends must face all sorts of perils to reach them. Once the Belt is complete the evil tyranny of the Shadow Lord will end and Deltora's one sole heir will take his/her rightful place on the throne.

Books from Deltora Quest Series 1

The Forest of Silence (Deltora Quest)
The Forest of Silence (Deltora Quest)

The evil Shadow Lord has invaded Deltora and stolen the kingdom¹s seven gems of great and mysterious power. With only a hand-drawn map to guide them, Lief and Barda begin their difficult quest to recover the stolen gems and rid their land of the tyrant.


More about the Deltora Quest

Emily Rodda originally conceived the Deltora Quest series as a quest featuring a continuing storyline told over several books and she purposely modelled the structure of the series on the narrative structure of video games after seeing how much her own children loved them. The books are classic fantasy adventure novels with sword fights, magical amulets, mionsters and of course each book is filled with maps and diagrams of Deltora and its inhabitants much like the Lord of the Rings.

The series has been praised for its use of riddles and codes, fast pace and epic setting and has won numerous awards including the 2003 YABBA award (VIC children's choice), the 2002 KOALA award (NSW children's choice), the 2002 Aurealis Awards: Peter McNamara Convenors' Award and the 2002 WA Young Reader's Book Awards: Most Popular Book.It was also voted as 30th best Australian Book in a nationwide poll.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • thevoice profile image

      thevoice 7 years ago from carthage ill

      fabulous great bright work read thanks