ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Chapter Two: Keeper of the Darkness: 1st part, ch 2. LAST PUBLIC PREVIEW

Updated on March 20, 2012

Keeper of the Darkness (Last Public Preview) Chapter 2, part 1

Last Public Preview Keeper of the Darkness




Chapter Two

The last days

I came home from school, Leelee, my little sister, was bouncing on my bed dressed in a flowing multicolored, Gypsy costume dress, Ipod firmly in hand which she used as her pretend microphone, singing at the top of her lungs. “You see your Gypsehhh” she crooned.

“What are you doing in my room ya little slug?” I asked, folding my arms trying my very best to look annoyed. She didn’t even look up. She bounded off the bed to the floor doing her best Stevie Nicks Gypsy dance. “Uggh, turn that damned thing off, Leelee!”

Leelee continued dancing. She was a huge fan of 70’s and 80’s pop music and she adored Fleetwood Mac, especially her idol Stevie Nicks. She finally turned and saw me standing there and I couldn’t help but smile. She was beautiful, so unlike me, I thought. She had her headdress crown of glittery flowers with fine pastel ribbons flowing down the back of her long blond hair. Small sequins highlighted the ribbons. She looked like a little gypsy Princess. I love her so much though I do my best to make her think she’s a pain in my ass.


“Hey!” she giggled.
“What are you doing in here?”
“Um” she paused, “thinking up new ways to annoy you?”
I grabbed her up in my arms and tossed her on the bed. I laid down by her transfixed by the rose in cheeks and the innocence in her sweet smile. I wondered if maybe Daddy...no, I wont let myself think that. I brushed her hair out her face and gave her a little tickle on the ribs. She giggled and wriggled in gentle protest.

“Sister time!” she announced. I laughed. “Okay, Babes, sister time”.

Sister time was our time. When we would lay down on the bed or sit together on the grass and tune out all outside activity and have our girl talk. Whatever we spoke of always remained just between us.

“Are you sad again today, Sissy?” (Sissy was her nickname for me.) “No, Babes, I’m okay” I lied. Fact is I’m sad every day. Every day for as long as I could remember. Leelee was the only one out of all my friends and family who could pick up on that no matter how hard I tried to hide it.


“I think you are...” she said, smirking. She grabbed a lock of my hair. “What’s the color of the week” she asked, referring to my Electric pink streaking. “It looks good with the black”.
“Thanks” I said smiling, “how bout I do yours?”
“No way, Jose!” she said, backing slightly away with a smirk.
“Oh, I see. Gypsies don’t have Electric pink hair, I forgot”.
“Damn straight!” she giggled
“Leelee!” I admonished, “Its damned, not damn! Grammar, young lady, grammar!”
“Damned it is then” she agreed, followed by a pinkie swear.


I sat looking at her face and her small red polished fingernails as she fidgeted with the coiling snake ring on my pinky finger. She had just turned ten a month ago and Daddy decided to treat her to a spa day for her birthday. Nails, pedicure, eyebrows and even highlights in her hair. Leelee didn’t just shine, she sparkled. Glittering blue eyes and pale skin. She would be a knock out when she blossomed.


“Hey Babes,” my nickname for her “when Mom took you for your spa day on your birthday, did you like it?”
“Well, I guess. It kinda hurt when they put the fake nails on. The lady filed so hard! I was tired when we were done but Daddy was really happy about it”
“Don’t you think you’re a little young for the fake nails?”
“I dunno. I kinda like em. My friends think they’re cool.”
“That night-” I hesitated before finishing the question I was about to ask, “did Daddy maybe come into your room or anything?”
“Yeah” she answered, “like he does every night, I guess”
My heart felt like a pounding, sinking rock that had hit the bottom of my stomach. “Okay, well, you know you can tell me anything, right?”
“Yeah” she said as she curled my hair around her fingers, “sure, I do, Sissy”.
“Has Daddy ever-you know, touched you? You wont be in trouble and I wont tell anyone, I promise”, I pinky sweared.
“No, just kisses me goodnight and takes my Ipod away” she said. “Why?”
I laid back on the bed staring at the ceiling. “No reason, Babes, just wondering”.
“Hmm, well ya know what? I know Daddy says you look like death, but I think that if you do, you’re a beautiful death and I love you.” she said, planting a pink lipstick print on my forehead. “Gotta go, Sissy!”

I lay there for a few moments, already missing her. I knew even then what I was going to do. I only wish I could say goodbye. It just wasn't in the cards.


.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Rebelchick1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Tina Di Troia 

      6 years ago

      Thanks again CWB! I so appreciate it. :)

    • Civil War Bob profile image

      Civil War Bob 

      6 years ago from Glenside, Pennsylvania

      Another good bit of writing...voted up and interesting.

    • Rebelchick1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Tina Di Troia 

      6 years ago

      Thank you so much, Jude. I so appreciate your feedback!

    • profile image

      Jude Carlson 

      6 years ago

      This is so well-written that I could see the sisters. The emotions were described to the degree of feeling them also.

    • Rebelchick1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Tina Di Troia 

      6 years ago

      Thanks sweety! Mwahz!!!!

    • ananceleste profile image

      Anan Celeste 

      6 years ago from California

      Wow! My heart stopped. I can't wait for the next one. Voted up!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)