ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Books That Help!

Updated on July 15, 2017

Book Review

Chicken Soup books have been around for a few decades and they have enhanced this franchise completely by categorizing their books to the appropriate genders, race, age and many other topics. However, once you start with these books they are hard to put down. Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen truly captured the hearts of many by sharing stories of everyday people; these stories are the most powerful teaching tools available to us today. The stories heal our souls but also teach us about love, necessary losses, respect and values.

MUST WATCH Story!

Books on Chicken Soup

Book Review - Chicken Soup

The stories collected in these books provide us all the wisdom on parenting, teaching, learning, death, attitude and overcoming obstacles. These books are intended to warm your heart, brighten your darkest days, help you see the light of life and heal your very soul. We all face obstacles through our lifetime and know others have experiences similar to ours makes the heart heal, the body recovered and the mind blossoms with knowledge. Regardless of which book you read, just pick one and read it.

The books come in different settings, like the book The Chicken Soup for the Mother’s Soul or the book Chicken Soup for the Golfer’s Soul plus they have books for teenagers, college students, father’s and many more. But the theme within each book is similar. The promise of love with another soul, or a coworker or a child and the books grow to include, learning about life, accepting life, how to care for others, on kindness, how to follow your heart, on courage and most common theme in every book is overcoming obstacles. Lessons on life to be learned presented in a very positive way.

One of my favorite stories is in the 3rd Course of Chicken Soup for the Soul book, page 319, Eclectic Wisdom, “The Secret of Life”

As the Lord God was creating the world

He called upon his archangels.

The Lord asked his archangels to help

him decides where to put the Secret of Life.

“Bury it in the ground,” One angel replied

“Put it on the bottom of the sea,” said another.

“Hide it in the mountains,” another suggested.

The Lord replied, “If I see to do any of those only a few will find the Secret of Life.

The Secret of Life must be accessible to EVERYONE!”

One angel replied, “I know: put it in each man’s heart.

Nobody will think to look there.”

“Yes!” said the Lord. “Within each man’s heart.”

And so it was –

The SECRET OF LIFE lies within all of us.

Author unknown

This is a powerful message to us all and we each can interpret it the way we want. But what is your Secret of Life?

The first book, Chicken Soup for the Soul, page 235, Overcoming Obstacles, “Don’t Be Afraid to Fail”

You’ve failed many times, although you may not remember.

You fell down the first time you tried to walk.

You almost drowned the first time you tried to swim, didn’t you?

Did you hit the ball the first time you swung a bat?

Heavy hitters, the ones who hit the most home runs, also strike out a lot.

R.H. Macy failed seven times before his store in New York caught on.

English novelist John Creasey got 753 rejection slips before he published 564 books.

Babe Ruth struck out 1,330 times, but he also hit 714 home runs.

Don’t worry about failure.

Worry about the chances you miss when you don’t even try!

A message as published in the Wall Street Journal by United Technologies Corporation; Hartford, Connecticut 06101

These books bring a sense of hope to many people. Not only are they great gifts for loved ones, these books bring laughter, tears, sorrow, remorse and lessens in life that will help you as a person. Authors Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen started this book to open the heart and rekindle the spirit, but what they have done is move a nation into the belief that you can overcome just about anything in life, that your dreams are achievable and hope will help you in any situation. Pick up one of these books today and find what many others have already found. Open your heart, rekindle your spirit, shape your life and live your life to the fullness.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ladybird33 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ladybird33 

      8 years ago from Fabulous USA

      Eileen Huges, these are wonderful books, I hope you read them and thank you for stopping by!

    • Eileen Hughes profile image

      Eileen Hughes 

      8 years ago from Northam Western Australia

      Great book by the sound of it with ghood advice thanks for sharing this

    • Ladybird33 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ladybird33 

      8 years ago from Fabulous USA

      elayne001, thank you and I am glad you have read some of these, they are so wonderful!

      james, how are you? I love that quote too! Thanks for coming to see me!

    • James A Watkins profile image

      James A Watkins 

      8 years ago from Chicago

      "The Secret of life lies within us"

      I love that. These are great books and I enjoyed your fine review. Thank you very much for the pleasure.

    • elayne001 profile image

      Elayne 

      8 years ago from Rocky Mountains

      I have some of these books and they are great for inspiration and encouragement. Good hub.

    • Ladybird33 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ladybird33 

      8 years ago from Fabulous USA

      prettydarkhorse, thank you for stopping by, I love these books too. Love the compliment!!!

    • prettydarkhorse profile image

      prettydarkhorse 

      8 years ago from US

      beautiful book and so you are Lady, always a LADY, Maita

    • Ladybird33 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ladybird33 

      8 years ago from Fabulous USA

      samboiam, I love that quote too, it speaks volumes to me. Hope you are well.

      drej2522, you have to read these books, they are GREAT. Thanks for stopping by, much appreciate.

      blondepoet, how are you? Yes, get these books. Thanks for coming to see me!

    • blondepoet profile image

      blondepoet 

      8 years ago from australia

      Sounds a bonza book Ladybird. A must for the library :)

    • drej2522 profile image

      Chris 

      8 years ago from Atlanta, GA

      Hmmm..Honestly, I've heard of the books but always discarded them, thinking they were 'made for women'. I believe you swayed my overall opinion and I thank you for that. I'll definitely look into. Great work, Ladybird!

    • samboiam profile image

      samboiam 

      8 years ago from Texas

      Don’t worry about failure.

      Worry about the chances you miss when you don’t even try!

      Ladybird33, I love that quoute. Thanks for sharing this wonderful hub.

    • Ladybird33 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ladybird33 

      8 years ago from Fabulous USA

      tonymac04, how are you? Thanks for reading and stopping by to see me.

      habee, yes, read these books, even in parts, they are so inspirational!!

      gusripper, how are you? Did you like the book? Welcome back!

    • gusripper profile image

      gusripper 

      8 years ago

      Hi terry how are you?

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Great book review! I've read a couple of parts of the book - I need to read it in its entirety.

    • tonymac04 profile image

      Tony McGregor 

      8 years ago from South Africa

      Good review - thanks for sharing.

      Love and peace

      Tony

    • Ladybird33 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ladybird33 

      8 years ago from Fabulous USA

      De Greek, yes, I hope all get it!

    • De Greek profile image

      De Greek 

      8 years ago from UK

      'The SECRET OF LIFE lies within all of us' - What a wonderful observation this is... :-)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)