ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Christopher Moore’s Island of the Sequined Love Nun – A Review

Updated on January 30, 2015

Christopher Moore’s laugh-out-loud Island of the Sequined Love Nun introduces a string of interesting and zany characters that includes the native Shark People on the remote island of Alualu; a missionary and his much younger, beautiful, exhibitionist wife; a “girl-man” named Kimi and his/her talking pet bat Roberto; a dead, card-playing, World War II fighter pilot; and main character Tucker Case. It is a whacky and loveable tale from start to finish that is nearly impossible to summarize.

Tucker Case, your typical, womanizing, 30-year-old bachelor, finds himself in quite a predicament after he crash lands his boss’s pink plane while engaging in extracurricular, bachelor activities during flight.

Faced with unemployment, losing his pilot’s license, and the possibility of forever losing his favorite pastime due to an unfortunate and squeamish injury during the crash landing, Tucker accepts a keep hush-hush, don’t-ask-any-questions, high-paying job offer from a missionary and his wife as a pilot flying unknown cargo back and forth from the island of Alualu and Japan.

The terms of Tucker’s employment are nearly unbearable, at least for him. Forbidden to drink and cooped up in a bungalow with his every move monitored by flunkie ninjas, Tucker has a lot of time on his hands to discover himself and begins, slightly unwillingly, to develop a conscience after secretly befriending some of the natives when all he was looking for was a little bit of alcohol.

Christopher Moore has a unique ability to weave witty humor into thought, description and dialogue with ease, without a break in pace and without diluting a storyline unlike most authors of today.  Island of the Sequined Love Nun is a perfect example of this extraordinary talent and a great choice as an introduction to Christopher Moore.  It will not disappoint and will have readers running to the bookstore in order to purchase all of his books.  He published his first book in 1992, Practical Demonkeeping, and currently has eleven novels under his belt.  His latest novel is Fool.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Deni Edwards profile imageAUTHOR

      Deni Edwards 

      7 years ago from california

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Jean, and I hope you enjoy the read!

    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 

      7 years ago from New Jersey

      I read one of his books a few years ago. I can't recall the name. I thought he was hilarious though, and really enjoyed it. I think I will check out more of his work now that you reminded me.

    • Deni Edwards profile imageAUTHOR

      Deni Edwards 

      7 years ago from california

      Thanks for reading, ScottMadiJack. I just discovered Christopher Moore a few weeks ago and have been going crazy reading him ever since.

    • Deni Edwards profile imageAUTHOR

      Deni Edwards 

      7 years ago from california

      Thanks, Martie! I really loved this book and don't believe the author is that well-known. I'm hoping the review did his book well and gains him some more readers!

    • MartieCoetser profile image

      Martie Coetser 

      7 years ago from South Africa

      Deni, it has been a few years now that I don’t buy a book before I’ve read two or three reviews of it, because my personal library is bursting out of its shelves. You’ve written the kind of review I like – you did not reveal the end of the story – I hate it when people do that to me. You’ve just introduced the main character and his issues to overcome before he can greet us at the end as a winner and not a looser, and you gave us a hint that the narrator has a sense of humor. A perfect review, voted up and up!

    • Deni Edwards profile imageAUTHOR

      Deni Edwards 

      7 years ago from california

      Karen, I know it is. You could very well be his female writing twin.

    • Karen Wodke profile image

      Karen Wodke 

      7 years ago from Midwest

      This sounds like a book I would enjoy.

    • Deni Edwards profile imageAUTHOR

      Deni Edwards 

      7 years ago from california

      Thanks, bugslady8949!

      tnderhrt23, please come back and let me know what you thought.

      Thanks to the both of you for reading and commenting on this review!

    • bugslady8949 profile image

      bugslady8949 

      7 years ago from The Bahamas

      I think you did a great job on the hub, keep up the good work.

    • tnderhrt23 profile image

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      This is a well written, enticing review! I have never read any of Christopher Moore's work but will, thanks to this review! Voted up!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)