ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Compost Stew Children's Book Review - A Fun A to Z Guide to Teaching Kids How to Make Compost

Updated on December 18, 2012

Compost Stew - A must read for the 3-6 year old

"Apple cores

Bananas, bruised

Coffee grounds with filters, used"

"Just add to the pot

and let it all rot

into Compost Stew !".......

So begins the perfect recipe for making a great batch of compost, according to the children's book, Compost Stew - An A to Z Recipe for the Earth .

Being a mother of two toddlers who absolutely adore books, I have read my share of children's stories and can honestly say that it is pretty rare when a children's book catches my attention the way this one has.

Written by Mary McKenna Siddals , and illustrated by Ashley Wolff, this charmingly unique children's book is the perfect compost making how-to-guide for both children and adults alike.

However, Compost Stew - An A to Z Recipe for the Earth , is much more than just a compost making instruction manual for young compost making beginners. Incorporating a unique and simple way to address a vital environmental issue is this books main appeal.

The author, Mary McKenna Siddals, uses catchy rhyme and flowing rhythm to convey an important message of reusing everyday items to help enrich the soil; provide nontoxic, organic, fertilizer for gardens; as well as help materials break down naturally without contributing to the already overflowing landfills.

Even the colorful illustrations are in keeping with the timely message that engenders the need to reduce, reuse, and recycle. Every page of this book is filled with vibrant collage illustrations that make use of found and recycled materials - which tells a story on their own as well.

In addition to what is needed to make the perfect batch of compost, a short note is written in the back of the book that provides a list of items that should never be added to any "compost stew" (i.e. meat, dairy, and non biodegradable items such as packing foam and metal).

Perfect for children ages 3-6, this unique 32 page book is a great way to introduce both young and older audiences to the world of composting, as well as raise awareness of important environmental issues among small children.

Hands down, Compost Stew - An A to Z Recipe for the Earth , has become one of mine and my little ones favorite children's book thus far.

This eco-conscious children's book will make a great addition to any children's library.

* A little bit about the author : Mary McKenna Siddals is a former teacher who resides in British Columbia, Canada . In addition to making her own batch of Compost Stew, she has still found the time to compose dozens of children's stories, activities, articles, and poems in a variety of magazines, as well as write several picture books for very young, up and coming readers.

To find an extensive list of other great children's books that encourage environmental awareness, check out my fellow hubber wannabewestern's list of children's picture books in celebration of arbor and earth day.

copyright © 2010

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Veronica Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks wannabwestern for the heads up. I look forward to reading your hub.

    • wannabwestern profile image

      Carolyn Augustine 

      8 years ago from Iowa

      Hi Veronica, I remembered your review of this book and am linking to it from an article I'm writing. Just wanted to let you know. It's not published yet but on the way. Have a great day!

    • Veronica Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks TheListLady: this is really a great book that teaches all that you mentioned. It will make a great gift. I plan to gift it to many of my friends children.

    • TheListLady profile image

      TheListLady 

      8 years ago from New York City

      This just makes so much sense. Children can learn so much and never forget it when it comes in handy - as adults. What great knowledge is garnered here! Living healthy and green can start so early.

      I always give books as gifts and this will make a great one.

      Rated up - and thanks!

    • Veronica Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thank you billyaustindillon for stopping by. The book is new to the shelves and I tell you, it is worth the read. It is fun and educational - so you get the best of both worlds.

    • billyaustindillon profile image

      billyaustindillon 

      8 years ago

      I wasn't familiar with this book -we do compost and we do have our children involved in our garden and planting and choosing this certainly adds more and what fun!

    • Veronica Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thank you guys for taking the time to stop by and read my little book review.

      Paige Masters - I love the fact that this book offers a vital message in such a simple and exciting way. The copyright for the book is 2010 so it is new to publication. When I checked it out from the library, it was the first time I had ever heard of the book as well.

      Wannabwestern - thank you for your lovely compliment. I hope your kids enjoy this book as much as mine have - I have a 2 and 5 year old. I think I enjoyed it more than they did :). I hope you like my other book reviews as well.

      Habee - you are so sweet to stop by, even though you are so busy at this contest. Thank you. I tell you, your grands will love this book.

      Hello, hello - yes, this book is a true gem in my opinon. Thank you for stopping by. I always look forward to hearing from you.

      CassisyS - I found this book in the library on a whim and I am so glad I did not pass it up. My girls and I loved it so much that I ordered it through Amazon.com.

      Thank you all again for stopping by.

    • CassidyS profile image

      CassidyS 

      8 years ago from OK

      I'm going to look for this book at the library! I also have a friend who's wants to start a compost so I'll pass this along.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      8 years ago from London, UK

      You have really discovered a gem here. Well done. Very informative and inspiring for young children.

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Another one for the grands! Thanks!

    • wannabwestern profile image

      Carolyn Augustine 

      8 years ago from Iowa

      What an excellent, well-written book review. I'll have to get this one to read to my own children, now almost 2 and almost 4. We have a little garden and it is always a delight to find a book that has a lasting appeal, like this one. I'll be reading your other book reviews soon. Regards!

    • Paige Masters profile image

      Paige Masters 

      8 years ago

      How awesome! Not only a great message, but it seems like a cool book. It's one I've not hear of. Thanks for sharing!

    • Veronica Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks daisyjae for stopping by. This is a really good book. I know my two little ones really enjoyed, so did I.

    • daisyjae profile image

      daisyjae 

      8 years ago from Canada

      This looks like a good one, thanks for sharing this.

    • Veronica Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks for stopping by creativeone. It is so good to hear from you. I hope things are well.

    • creativeone59 profile image

      benny Faye Douglass 

      8 years ago from Gold Canyon, Arizona

      Thank you Veronica, for this wonderful children hub on compost, sound like a great compost for gardening. Thank you for sharing. Godspeed. creativeone59

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)