ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Fiction

Daughters - A book review

Updated on March 5, 2013

Daughters by James W. Nelson

A short time ago, I read an article here on HubPages by Cardisa. I read with great interest, the interview given by James Nelson, who is also known as hubber SubRon7. Immediately the article had me gripped and I decided to read some of his hubs. Check out his profile here SubRon7 for more of his work and published books. His writing technique is so effortless, and intriguing that I knew I had to read his book.

James W. Nelson (author) SubRon7 as he is known on Hubpages
James W. Nelson (author) SubRon7 as he is known on Hubpages

Daughters

I downloaded "Daughters" on my kindle and received the book in seconds. I started reading it immediately, but unfortunately work got in the way of it. I did my shift, got home and couldn't wait to get back to the book.

Without giving too much away, the book is based on a true story of the sex slave industry. It was written by James Nelson to highlight the problems that still remain in the world today and what can happen to children who become runaways, who are abducted or who become homeless street children.

The book is very powerful and tells the story of Emma, a young girl who is abducted and sold into the seedy world of human trafficking. She is only 18 years old when she is bundled into a pick up truck by her captors and this is where her nightmare begins. Her abduction takes place in broad daylight while she is finishing her work for the day as a cleaner.

Daughters is a book which contains crime, thrills, suspense, violence, rape and murder. Upon reading the first few pages, I was totally hooked. James deals sensitively with the subject of human trafficking from the young girls perspective; yet he manages to capture very well, the mentality of the captors. They see young girls as a means to making them rich by selling them as pieces of meat to the highest bidder to have their way with them.

There are lots of twists and turns in the story and several points when you will be on the edge of your seat. I felt that I knew Emma personally and wanted to help her, which is what makes James Nelson such a talented and gifted author. Some of these young girls are conditioned from such an early age that they just get on and accept it as part of life, never knowing what it is to be loved by another.

If I had to describe this book in one word, it would be "masterpiece".

Human trafficking

Before reading this book, I was not aware of just how serious the issue of human trafficking was. I thought it was something that happened in Thailand or some eastern European countries, and even this I only knew because of watching documentaries on television. I was shocked to discover that the F.B.I. estimate that more than 100,000 young women and children are used for trafficking in America today. The age of these young children and women range from around 9 years to 19 years. These statistics are hard to believe, but the truth is, that it is going on and many people are not aware that it is happening on their own doorsteps.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • jacqui2011 profile image
      Author

      jacqui2011 6 years ago from Norfolk, UK

      @ AnnaCia - I'm sure you will find it as gripping as I did. It's well worth a read. It's one of those books that you just don't want to put down til it's finished.

    • AnnaCia profile image

      AnnaCia 6 years ago

      I want to read the book. jacqui2011 thank you for sharing. Ill be looking for the book.

    • jacqui2011 profile image
      Author

      jacqui2011 6 years ago from Norfolk, UK

      @ Ruby H Rose - Thank you so much for your comment. You really won't be disappointed as this book is a fantastic read that I can certainly recommend.

    • Ruby H Rose profile image

      Maree Michael Martin 6 years ago from Northwest Washington on an Island

      A very good review, thank you.

    • jacqui2011 profile image
      Author

      jacqui2011 6 years ago from Norfolk, UK

      @ Juliek958 - I think that this book would be perfect for your book club; as it is all about human trafficking and still going on today. Thank you so much for stopping by, and for your valued comment. Best wishes.

    • Juliek958 profile image

      Juliek958 6 years ago from Norman, Oklahoma

      This looks like a great addition to my book club. We focus on human rights issues. Thanks for this review. We may have missed this one if not for you!

    • jacqui2011 profile image
      Author

      jacqui2011 6 years ago from Norfolk, UK

      Hi Lesley, I can genuinely say that you won't be disappointed in this book. I was actually disappointed that I had to go into work the day I got it. I wanted to stay home and finish reading! Take care, Jacqui.

    • Movie Master profile image

      Movie Master 6 years ago from United Kingdom

      Hi jacqui, what a brilliant well written book review, I will certainly check this one out and am looking forward to reading it.

      Best wishes Lesley

    • jacqui2011 profile image
      Author

      jacqui2011 6 years ago from Norfolk, UK

      @ SubRon7 - You are very welcome. It is honestly one of the best books I have read in a long time. I have let all my friends and family know about it, so hopefully there should be a few more sales of "Daughters". Best wishes. Jacqui.

    • SubRon7 profile image

      James W. Nelson 6 years ago from eastern North Dakota

      Thank you so much for this wonderful review, Jacqui2011. I've been gone all day, I get home, and this is what I find in my email: Your review! Again, Jacqui, thank you very much. BTW, I received the movie "The Notebook," watched it and, no, I didn't bawl, but was very close sometimes. Thank you for steering me onto that, too.

      James W. Nelson

    • jacqui2011 profile image
      Author

      jacqui2011 6 years ago from Norfolk, UK

      @ Inspired to write - Hi Dale, thank you so much for your comments. It was just such a fantastic book, that I thought I should do a review. James is such a talented writer and the subject was so unique.

    • jacqui2011 profile image
      Author

      jacqui2011 6 years ago from Norfolk, UK

      @ Les Trois Chenes - Thank you for stopping by. This book certainly won't disappoint. Best wishes.

    • Inspired to write profile image

      Dale J Ovenstone 6 years ago from Wales UK

      Very interesting book review of 'daughters,' well written the author 'James Nelson' will be proud. Thanks for sharing.

      Regards Dale

    • Les Trois Chenes profile image

      Les Trois Chenes 6 years ago from Videix, Limousin, South West France

      This is one for my reading list. Thanks

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)