ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Emerge: The Awakening--A Book Review, Updated 15 October 2016, New Award

Updated on December 21, 2017
cam8510 profile image

Chris has written more than 175 flash fiction/short stories. Working Vacation was 21st out of 6,700 in the 2016 Writer's Digest competition.

Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven

Source

Update (October 15, 2016) for the Book, Emerge by Melissa Craven

Melissa's book, Emerge: The Awakening has had some great successes since I first wrote this review. I thought I'd pass on to you what I have discovered. Here are some of the high points of 2015-2016:

1. 2015 finalist for the Dante Rosetti Young Adult awards

2. 2015 finalist for the International Book Awards

3. 2015 finalist USA Best Book Award

4. 2015 Top 50 Indie Books

5. 2016 Winner, Rone Young Adult Cover Design

Winner, Rone Young Adult Cover Designs, 2016

Source

Emerge: The Awakening, About The Story

The first several chapters of Melissa A. Craven’s Young Adult Fiction, Emerge: The Awakening, captured my attention with the mysterious flight of fifteen year old Allie Carmichael and her adoptive parents from city to city and country to country. It was not clear who or what they were fleeing, but there was no question that young Allie was somehow in danger. All Allie knew was that, by their never ending moves to new locations, she was constantly being frustrated in her attempts to build lasting friendships.

The book opens with Allie’s growing hopes that she and her family might actually put down roots in Sydney, Australia allowing her to continue her budding romance with Gavin and getting to know his friends as well. But the young couple returns to Allie’s home one evening to find her parents frantically packing the car. The reader is also introduced, at this point, to an adult character named Navid, a college professor and also friend to Allie and her parents. Navid has come to say goodbye, and spends a quiet moment with Allie. Navid tells Allie that everything in her life is about to change and that she should always remember this young girl version of herself. Then the family moves on.

This time, though, Allie’s parents decide that, come what may, they are going to return to their home on Kelley’s Island in Lake Erie, near Cleveland, Ohio. This is when the changes in her life, spoken of by Navid, begin to come about. A new circle of friends develops, the most important relationship being with a teen named Aiden.

Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven

Emerge: The Awakening (Volume 1)
Emerge: The Awakening (Volume 1)

Available in paperback and Kindle version

 

From this point on, the book is mainly about Allie discovering who and what she actually is. She experiences what is described as her Awakening, something most of her new friends have already gone through. Allie, Aiden and the others are not normal teenagers, and it takes the remainder of the book to find out exactly what that means. Immortality, superhuman abilities, an ancient enemy and prophecies which are even more ancient, are among the discoveries the reader will find in the pages that follow. By the end of the book, the ancient enemies have entered the story, threatening the existence of the immortals. The story climaxes at a very precarious point, yet the reader is satisfied with the ending.

Emerge: The Awakening, Insights About the Book

I came across, Emerge: The Awakening, at the suggestion of a friend, and I am glad I followed through and read the book. Originality is the distinguishing characteristic of this story. Young Adult Fantasy today is being pumped out like never before. In her book, Emerge: The Awakening, Melissa A. Craven has skillfully developed a believable plot that begins by blending friendship, romance, adventure and mystery but then builds on that by throwing in a race of immortal beings, martial arts, battle against ancient enemies and the anticipation of the fulfillment of a very old prophecy.

The thing that stood out to me most in Emerge: The Awakening, by Melissa A. Craven, is that she has presented this story of fantasy in a real life, believable context. This is not a new world the author has created or even a different dimension, but it is the world and time in which we live. I can almost believe that this ancient race actually exists, mixed in with the rest of us, attempting to live lives that mimic the mortal norm. They are hiding among us.

Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven

The fact that Craven wrote this story over a five year period is evident in the depth of her characters and the consistency and believability of the plot. There is another book on the way, and the author’s challenge will be to provide the same depth in a book that will most certainly be written in a fraction of the time.

I highly recommend Emerge: The Awakening, not only to young adults, but to all adults. I am 58 years old and was captivated by the plot and the pace of Melissa A. Cravens first book. Though she has a college degree in Interior Design and worked in the field for several years, this young woman has managed to transition into being a full time writer.

In their sixth annual awards, USA Book News chose Emerge: The Awakening by Melissa A. Craven as a finalist in their 2015 International Book Awards. In my opinion, the award was well deserved, and I anticipate that the success of the book will underscore the aptness of this recognition.

About the Author, Melissa A. Craven

Melissa A. Craven was born and raised near Atlanta, Georgia, but at age 17, moved to Cleveland, Ohio. Though she has since moved back to Georgia, when she thinks of home, she thinks of Cleveland. Very likely, that is the reason that her book, Emerge: The Awakening, primarily takes place in the Cleveland area. Melissa received her Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of West Georgia in 2009 after which she worked as an interior designer for several years. Melissa continues to have a high level of interest in art and design. One way she expresses this interest is to shop for and refinish derelict furniture.

Emerge: The Awakening, Book Information

  • Book: Emerge: The Awakening (Volume 1)
  • Author: Melissa A. Craven (Apr 1, 2015)
  • Publisher: Midnight Hour Studio (March 31, 2015)
  • Book Cover: Zoe Shtorm
  • ISBN-10: 0990981991
  • ISBN-13: 978-0990981992

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, Chris, that would be great.

      Ann

    • lawrence01 profile image

      Lawrence Hebb 

      3 years ago from Hamilton, New Zealand

      Chris

      Reading this made me think of "Highlander" and the Queen song "Who wants to live forever" really good sounding book that I'll be looking out for.

      Lawrence

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Ann, I'll have Melissa send it to your email unless you let me know otherwise.

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      This sounds really interesting, Chris. I love reading children's and young adults' books; sometimes I find them better than adults' books!

      I'd like one of those free e-books as I would like to read it and I think my 14 year-old granddaughter would too.

      Thanks for bringing this to our notice.

      Ann

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Deb, There is so much out there to read, so I understand where you are coming from. It's on Amazon now and the paperback will be available to bookstores sometime in the near future. Thanks for reading the review and for your interest in the book.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 

      3 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      You and I are pretty much in the same age bracket, and it appeals to me, too. Too bad I can't take advantage of the e-book offer.

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Christine, Melissa's book is straightforward fantasy and doesn't seem to be an attempt to have a deeper meaning. This is another thing I appreciate about the book. Tolkien, in the intro to Lord of the Rings, tells of his disdain for metaphor, yet books have been written about the deeper meaning of the trilogy. Of course there is a place for metaphor in literature, especially in poetry, and I've dabbled in that myself. In fiction, I prefer an unmixed offering of story telling.

    • profile image

      christinemariezzz 

      3 years ago

      Yes, Chris, The Shack carries much metaphor.

      I did not know that about metaphors and you. I thought it would be interesting to read what you may say about Youngs relational metaphor for God in his story.

      I now have Melissas book on order to my mailbox. What potential does she reach, in her book as far as metaphors?

      ~Christine

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Thank you Christine, for the compliment. The Shack. I read it too. If I wrote a review, it would not be terribly flattering from a literary standpoint. I am not fond of metaphor and use it as little as possible. The Shack is nothing but over the top metaphor in my opinion.

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      swetasingh513, I'm glad you thought so and glad you said so. Thanks for visiting.

    • profile image

      christinemariezzz 

      3 years ago

      Chris,

      Would've thought you've been up to Book Reviews longer by this entry. Try: The Shack (2007) by William P. Young if the chance arises, your review would hold my interest considering a few of your recent hub topics. I read it a few years back.

      Christine

    • swetasingh513 profile image

      Busara 

      3 years ago from New Delhi - India

      Great hub.

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Linda, I'm so happy you enjoyed the review. This is definitely a book you won't be disappointed in.

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Christine, This is the first full review I've written of a book. I have a couple on Amazon, but nothing this complete. This book and author just caught and held my attention. It will be fun to watch as it catches on, which I think it will.

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Frank, glad you liked the review. This author has the potential of putting together a very serious series of books with this story line.

    • Minnetonka Twin profile image

      Linda Rogers 

      3 years ago from Minnesota

      Your review of this book sounds absolutely intriguing. I really appreciate you sharing this book with us. It's definitely a book I would read.

    • cam8510 profile imageAUTHOR

      Chris Mills 

      3 years ago from Missoula, Montana through August 2018

      Shauna, What you do is go to the front end of the library shelf and push all the books back one space. See, it's that easy. haha, I'm glad you enjoyed the review. Maybe sometime down the line you can pick this one up.

    • profile image

      christinemariezzz 

      3 years ago

      I think I'll get a copy, soon, Chris,

      You've taken the time to introduce us hubbers to a lovely young writer and artist. It creates a domino-effect in a writers hub; learning more about other writers.

      "...I can almost believe that this ancient race exists, mixed in with the rest of us, attempting to live lives that mimic the mortal norm. They are hiding among us..."

      Your book review, particularly that statement pulled my strong interest in parroting, young authors, and Realistic Fantasy. Your review led me to her site as well; where I discovered another author, whom Melissa quotes; I may grab that title too!

      Do another Book ReviewI I agree with Frank, and Braivewarrior - your good at it!

      ~ Christine

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      3 years ago from Shelton

      Your book review should be named one of the top ten..LOL, you gave the author and her book a clear concise plug.. awesome my friend :)

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 

      3 years ago from Central Florida

      Chris, your style of review would make any book sound interesting. Emerge - The Awakening does indeed sound like it's a page turner. I would consider buying it if I didn't have so many unread books in my library at the moment!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)