ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Fantasy, Friendship, and Family Combine in Fast-Paced Magical New Read for Fans of Jaleigh Johnson

Updated on July 28, 2018
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

A Magical Story with a Timely Lesson for Acceptance of New Refugees

Fast-paced magical read for ages 10-16.
Fast-paced magical read for ages 10-16. | Source

Fun Magical Read with a Lesson in Acceptance

Fans of Jaleigh Johnson's magical reads for ages 10 and up have a new release to enjoy with her The Door to the Lost. A huge explosion carries a skyship with a load of children to a new land. The children have no memories of where they came from and are now refugees in this strange new land. The citizens of this new land Talhaven have no idea what to make of these new arrivals. They actually blame the children for the disasterous explosion that brought then there and they consider the children to be exiles. Rook takes a chance to go through a door and the adventures begin. There are numerous doors to travel through as the magical read continues with beasts, monsters, and strange characters. Rook frequently wonders what the children of her old world back in Regara are doing and knows that they do not have to worry about being a refugee in a strange land and wonder about where food will come from or be insulted by some who does not welcome refugees. Rook's friend Drift is her companion and goes through each magical door with her. Fox also goes along with them throughout their discovery of more magical doors. The one helper that they feel that they can trust, Lily, leads them through the door in the tree and to their surprise, they discover that this could be a trap. They discover that Lily may have betrayed them. A surprise kidnapping is part of the magic that creates this page-turner as the story unfolds. The adventures conclude with the door that leads to home. There is a huge surprise ending with a discovery that will delight readers who value their family. A new family relationship is found at the conclusion.

The Door to the Lost was published by Delacorte Press, a division of Penguin/Random House Children's Books. It is recommended for ages 10+. it has an ISBN of 978-1-101-93316-9.

The New Land

The new land that the displaced children arrive in to begin their adventures as exiled refugees
The new land that the displaced children arrive in to begin their adventures as exiled refugees | Source

Lessons for Use with The Door to the Lost

Teachers who teach reading with students ages 10+ will find Johnson's The Door to the Lost to be a fun read for use in the classroom. Chapter books that engage students in reading are a great way to teach many concepts that can be combined with several subjects in the curriculum. The Door to the Lost is one of these that I have found to be quite interesting in preparing some lessons to correlate with other subjects. I find this to be a fun read to teach a lesson about acceptance of new refugees who might come into the community.

*Read The Door to the Lost in a group reading with students, reading a few chapters each day. Students enjoy listening to a book being read aloud. The book may also be assigned to have students read on their own to later share their reading experience in a reading or social studies project.

*Call attention to the disaster that brings the children to a new land when they become refugees in this strange place. What disasters in the real world today cause people to run from their homeland and become refugees in a new land? make a class chart of the kinds of natural disasters that the students have heard about on the news that have caused people to lose their homes in their homeland.

*Are there refugees in the town where the readers are living? What countries have they come from? Use this knowledge to learn about the country or countries that the refugees have come from. Have a globe available for students to find the country or countries that refugees come from.

*What adventures do Rook and Drift encounter as they go through each door in the story? Which door do students like the most? Why? Make a class chart of the favorite doors.

*What are the favorite elements of magic that students like? How does the magic transform an ordinary book into one that is a fun read?

Classroom Use for Chapter Books

How do you use chapter books in your classroom?

See results

© 2018 Cindy Hewitt

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)