ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy - Review

Updated on October 12, 2012

How Did You Rate 'Fifty Shades of Grey'?

4.3 out of 5 stars from 3 ratings of Fifty Shades of Grey book/s

Fifty Shades of Grey - Outline

'Fifty Shades of Grey' was a topic that was recently mentioned in our office and caught my attention. I love to read (oddly enough like Anastasia) but can be woefully ignorant of the current bestsellers on the market. (Also, living in a smaller country, we tend to get the 'latest and greatest' anything a little after the rest of the world - mainly the USA) I ignored the comments not fully realizing what the story was about, but later I thought that maybe it would be fun to read a current out-coming book, so I asked my husband to purchase an online copy for me.

Little did I know what I would find - and to begin with I was kind of shocked! I am no prude and have read Penthouse forum as a younger woman, especially with my very sexy and attractive boyfriend (now husband) ... hmmm, a little like Christian in fact....but in a book?!?

A bit like the swearing that is heard in some movies, I persevered for the sake of the storyline which in hindsight appeared to develop very slowly due to the expansive descriptions of the sex/lovemaking scenes. Don't get me wrong, perhaps the story would not have enough substance to hold interest if it were not for the detailed descriptiveness of the sexual interaction between the two star-crossed lovers. They do add color and insight to the characters but I felt that they took up more than enough of the book...

The story is written from Ana's perspective and the plot is relatively simple... Kate and Anastasia are 'roomies'... Kate has an interview with a powerful rich CEO but is sick at the last minute. She is loathe to call off the interview because it took her so much to get it, so she 'weedles' Anastasia into taking her place, thrusting written questions in her hands, before verbally pushing her out the door. So, how hard could this be anyway?

Ana arrives in two minds about the interview and so consequentially is nervous. So much so, as she enters the room she trips and falls.

The interview takes place, Ana hurriedly exits and that's the end of that. Or is it?

Ana certainly fell for Christian's charms from the very first moment she laid eyes on him (I mean, who wouldn't??) but endeavors to put him out of her mind forever. Unknown to her, she has had an equally profound effect on him, a first for him and he cannot get her out of his mind.

Here he plays the part of a very rich man who is used to getting what he wants, when he wants it... and he wants her! He pursues her and so their tortured relationship begins...

At the end of the first book, she leaves him...

The second book is about the restoration of their relationship after a separation of ONLY one week (rolling my eyes), their consequent marriage and the boss at Ana's work turning out to be a sleaze-bag who comes on to Ana and gets his 'arse' fired. And, a 'sub' stalking Ana...

The third book finds the 'ex-boss' has resurfaced and is not finished with Ana or Christian and his family, but what is the connection there?

The story does develop a little more meat in the third book but each one could be read on it's own with the exception perhaps of the very first one, it obviously cries out for a sequel.

My 'Mr Grey'
My 'Mr Grey' | Source

Fifty Shades of Grey - 'Verbal Porn?'

Reading some of comments others have made about the story and the descriptiveness of the sexual scenes between Ana and Christian I can agree and disagree.

Is the depth of content and verbal imagery generated absolutely required? No... not really, but how would the reader gauge the depth of damage that a child can suffer through insensitive or deliberate abuse sexual, or otherwise, if powerful images were not conjured up. Near as I can see, the mother's lifestyle did harm to the young boy, but being left alone with a dead mother would have had dramatic affect on his psyche.. irrevocable damage one would expect.

So, is there hope of recovery? How resilient is the human spirit that it can weather monstrosities and horrors of unspeakable darkness ...?

This trilogy... while it covers rather explicit verbal imagery of a sexual nature... doesn't mean it is all bad. Look at it in context... it highlights the childhood (Christian's), and the effects that having a less than desirable upbringing can have on a child; it shows the naivete of a young woman before she gets into a physical relationship, and how her 'untarnished' past meant that she had the potential to positively influence her 'tainted' man; and it also shows some of the more valuable aspects of married life, and the intimacy that ideally should be part of every marriage relationship. Things like: honesty, respect, care and concern, genuine love (even though in the story it appeared to be quite superficial at first), transparency, communication, the kind simple gestures that show a person that they are cherished...

The book is written from a unique vantage point; one that gives the reader an intimate 'behind-the-bedroom-door' view and insight of a relationship between two people.

It's a reminder to every married couple about the closeness and intimacy of a good marriage relationship; not just the sexual closeness, but the emotional closeness as well.

One event in the book that touched me deeply was when Christian asked Ana to cut his hair because he said it made him feel cherished. My thought was, 'Is that how my husband feels when I cut his hair?' It is amazing how seemingly simple things can mean mountains to someone else, and it is a matter of remembering to make time to do these things.

Fifty Shades of Grey - In Real Life

I must admit that after reading these books, that I enjoyed reading them. I'll also admit that the explicit nature of the 'interludes' between Christian and Ana meant that it touched on my sexual shyness and shameful feelings.

Amazingly, Ana also admitted feeling a little shamed and embarrassed about the acts she engaged in with her lover, but at the same time she was also physically excited by it.

Why does sex have this affect on us humans? It is a natural activity, and an important (vital even) component in a healthy intimate marriage relationship.

Unfortunately, sex has also been debased and scandalized by human mindsets and perverted acts; perverted by intent, by impure motives, even evil hearts...

Everyone has skeletons and hang-ups of some kind; who doesn't live in a world of fifty shades of grey; not one of us is perfect...

This story, I think, is one of hope and encouragement for healthy relationships, a reasonably good storyline (any book that keeps you turning the page has to be good in some way) and definitely a book for a mature audience!

What did you think of Fifty Shades of Grey, and have you read all three books?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      diegomaher 

      5 years ago

      not commenting on the article, just wanted you to see youtube: search diegomaher and you'll see (hopefully) my two pottery demo videos...

    • Bettyoverstreet10 profile image

      Betty (Alawine) Overstreet 

      5 years ago from Vacaville, Ca.

      I keep hearing about these books from my daughter-in-law who is quite liberal--she loved them! And now my older sister (just turned 75) is telling me about it and feels I would be a bit shocked due to my Christianity. However, some books can help our relationships and I believe I will buy at least one of these and read it aloud to my husband. He likes for me to read to him while we are on a road trip ---so I would have a captive audience while he is driving ! Have a great day!

    • jpesch1 profile image

      Jane Peschel 

      5 years ago from Currently living in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin

      I loved this hub. My daughter started reading the books and then said to her friends that it was surely a series she wouldn't want her mother to read! So of course I had to read them! I agree with your review from top to bottom. I actually enjoyed the simplistic writing style. It was, in fact, a simple story line. And, I have often wished for the kind of relationship (not the sexual voyeurism but the caring, protection, and love that grew between them).

    • Johanna Baker profile imageAUTHOR

      Johanna Mary Elisabeth Baker 

      5 years ago from Christchurch, New Zealand

      perfectskincare - I certainly felt like that reading the books and my personal inclination is always to find something good in the story. Thank you for your feedback...perhaps not a trilogy which will become a 'classic'...?

    • perfectskincare profile image

      Swati Murti 

      5 years ago from Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

      I did read the book and endured it till the last just to know the story line hoping something unpredictable would happen but honestly, it gets boring and repetitive by the second book and their unprecedented marriage was really weird!!! just by word of mouth, i guess the book became a best seller!!

    • alancaster149 profile image

      Alan R Lancaster 

      5 years ago from Forest Gate, London E7, U K (ex-pat Yorkshire)

      The book's been sold out around here ever time it's been put on the shelves - especially at Tesco's (my wife saw a Moslem girl with an armful of copies). It's the 'wet knicker syndrome' like the 'wet dreams' men had after reading Lasy Chatterley's Lover' back in the 60's. Maybe it's got something to do with wishful thinking?

    • Klavdija Frahm profile image

      Kendi 

      5 years ago from Slovenia

      I haven't read books yet either, I bought them but I just can't find time to read them :/ Some criticize books that they're offensive to women and so on....but I think that's just (too) conservative folks. You don't have to take it so seriously, books are for amusement, right? :) I'm looking forward to read them.

    • kashmir56 profile image

      Thomas Silvia 

      5 years ago from Massachusetts

      Great hub and awesome book review, i have not read this book or not ever heard of it before reading your hub, Thanks for the heads up on this book . Well done !

      Vote up and more !!!

    • Johanna Baker profile imageAUTHOR

      Johanna Mary Elisabeth Baker 

      5 years ago from Christchurch, New Zealand

      Thanks for your comment. I am sure you will find it interesting if not entertaining.

    • Minnetonka Twin profile image

      Linda Rogers 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      I haven't read this yet but sure have been hearing a lot of talk about it. I appreciate your review and plan to read it now. I will be looking at it not just as a woman but with my mental health background glasses to find the family of origin issues and pathologies.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)