ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Four Book Series to Check Out if You Love Game of Thrones, by Kimberly Bond

Updated on March 5, 2020

The smash hit HBO series Game of Thrones had up to 16 million viewers for its most-watched episodes last year. Fans love the combination of grim political scheming and bloodshed mixed with elements of the fantastic like fire-breathing dragons, ice wights, and miraculous resurrections. However, Westeros has come and gone from our television screens until possibly 2019. True fans will already know (and may already have read) that the series was inspired by the A Song of Ice and Fire novels by George R.R. Martin. The series includes five published volumes and two more still to come. But what’s a GoT fan to do if you’ve already read those and still want more? If you’re pining for another glimpse of dragons or longing for another opportunity to lose yourself in literary political intrigue, here are four book series to check out while you wait.

  1. The Dragonriders of Pern

Daenerys may be the Mother of Dragons on Game of Thrones, but fans of this classic sci-fi and fantasy series have been reading about the bond between dragons and humans since Dragonflightwas published in 1968. The series now contains 30 books that stretch over thousands of years and combine elements of hard science fiction (think space travel and genetic engineering) with the kind of fantasy dreams are made of – heroic battles, a low-technology feudal society, and dragon-rider pairs wed through a lifelong, telepathic bond. Purists prefer the books written solely by Anne McCaffrey, the creator of the series and the first woman to win a Hugo Award or a Nebula Award. Her son Todd co-wrote some Pern books with her and wrote some alone after her death in 2011. If you have a YA reader, try starting them out with the Harper Hall Trilogy (Dragonsong, Dragonsinger, and Dragondrums). These novels are a great introduction into the complex world of Pern, which has its own customs, vocabulary, and complex social structure.

  1. Wolf Hall

If you’re like yeah yeah, the dragons are great, but what I really love is the political intrigue – then Wolf Hall is the series for you. Comprising two acclaimed novels by Hilary Mantel, Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, this series focuses on the dramatic court of King Henry VIII during the 1500s. The first novel features the intrepid and cunning Thomas Cromwell and details his attempts to stay one step ahead of the executioner’s axe as he counsels England’s king through one crisis and the next. Bring Up the Bodies focuses on the tragic tale of Anne Boleyn and her dramatic trial for adultery and treason. Both novels were loved by critics; each book won the Man Booker Prize in the year it was nominated, Wolf Hall in 2009, and Bring Up the Bodies in 2012. As a bonus, these books have also been made into a television show – PBS Masterpiece aired Wolf Hall in 2015. Starring Mark Rylance, Claire Foy, and Damian Lewis, the show won the Peabody Award and a Golden Globe in 2016.

  1. The Baroque Cycle

Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire novels are known for their realism, their obsession with detail, and their incredible length. Steampunk star Neal Stephenson has achieved a similar feat with his epic trilogy The Baroque Cycle. Featuring Quicksilver, The Confusion, and The System of the World, these novels detail advancements in society and technology throughout Europe during the 18th century. Although the novels feature real historical figures such as Isaac Newton, Oliver Cromwell, and William of Orange and discuss actual historical events, Stephenson considers them to be works of science fiction because of some... shall we say "unusual" elements. The novels were critically well-received and won several awards including the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the Locus Award.

  1. The Kingkiller Chronicle

An incomplete heroic fantasy series with a legion of fans – sound familiar? No, it’s not A Song of Ice and Fire – it’s Patrick Rothfuss’ The Kingkiller Chronicle, a planned trilogy that is quickly gaining popularity among readers. There are two published books, The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear, plus a planned third book that will reportedly be called Doors of Stone. The story focuses on Kvothe, a mysterious musician and adventurer who becomes a powerful wizard. Need more convincing? Rothfuss included a short story set in-universe in George R.R. Martin’s Rogues, a collection of fantasy stories with similarities to Game of Thrones, and The Name of the Wind is set to become a major motion picture as well as television series with none other than Hamilton mastermind Lin-Manuel Miranda on tap as a creative producer.

Written by Kimberly Bond

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)