ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"Heaven is for Real" ~ Book Review

Updated on June 2, 2013
Source

For anyone who has ever wondered about Heaven... if it really exists, who you might expect to see there, and what its like, this book will be a fascinating read. "Heaven is for Real" is a true story about a four year old boy, Colton Burpo, who had a ruptured appendix and several evergency surgeries, during which he was acutely ill and near death. The doctors were not certain he would live.

After his recovery and return home to his family, he began making some startling statements to his parents about things he saw, heard, and did while he was in "heaven". This story is told through the voice of his father, Todd Burpo, a Christian pastor, who tries to analyze his son's revelations and make sense of it all.

I found this book to be an easy, compelling read that gave "Heaven" a new face in my mind, one that needs to shared with a hurting world. I recommend this book as a personal must read for anyone even remotely curious about "Heaven", and a book which is worthy of passing on!

This portrait of Jesus, painted by a very young visionary named Akiane Kramarik, is the one Colton  picked out of hundreds of pictures, as the one that looks the most like Jesus whom he saw while in "Heaven"
This portrait of Jesus, painted by a very young visionary named Akiane Kramarik, is the one Colton picked out of hundreds of pictures, as the one that looks the most like Jesus whom he saw while in "Heaven" | Source
This is a picture of Colton, as a young teenager.
This is a picture of Colton, as a young teenager. | Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Juliek958 profile image

      Juliek958 

      6 years ago from Norman, Oklahoma

      The painting of Jesus that you used is by a then 8 year old by the name of Akiane Kramarik. She has had visions since she was around that same age that Colton was when he experienced Heaven. She is obviously a prodigy and beyond talented...a true gift. The amazing thing to me is she painted this from a vision she had of Jesus. Colton picked this out of 100's of photos he was shown of what Jesus supposedly looks like and said that this was him. Akiane is now 16 and still painting. Both Colton and Akiane have messages for us adults and I hope we are all listening.

    • profile image

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      Thank you, carrithomson! It is definitely a worthwhile read that moved me, and I am happy to share that.

    • carriethomson profile image

      carriethomson 

      7 years ago from United Kingdom

      hi this seems to be interesting!! I do believe in heaven maybe it is there i am not sure but definitely intrigued by the review and definitely going to read the book!!

      thanx for the review

    • profile image

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      anglnwu, thank you. I am a Christian also, and this book definitely gave "heaven" a new face, for me, so much so that I felt the need to share it. I appreciate your read and comment!

    • anglnwu profile image

      anglnwu 

      7 years ago

      I've read this book and highly recommend it. Even though I'm a Christian, heaven didn't sound like a whole lot of fun until I read this book. I recently saw an interview with Colton on our local news station--so amazing. Rated up.

    • tnderhrt23 profile imageAUTHOR

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      nighthag, thank you. If you read it, let me know. I would be interested in what you think!

    • tnderhrt23 profile imageAUTHOR

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      Haircudda, I so appreciate your feedback! This is a book that touched me deeply and it was on my heart to write this review to share its message.Thank you!

    • tnderhrt23 profile imageAUTHOR

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      Thank you, MO. I am anxious to know what you think!

    • nighthag profile image

      K.A.E Grove 

      7 years ago from Australia

      Sounds like a heartwarming read I will have to check it out, thanks for the review :)

    • profile image

      Haircudda 

      7 years ago

      I read this book tenderheart and you reviewed it wonderfully. The matter of fact description from the eyes of a young innocent child was inpiring to read. I also enjoyed how he validated the young painter whose family were atheist yet she paints pictures of heaven that are so vivid. I believe she started painting when she was four. She awed me when I saw her story as well and Colton verifies that her insights are the closest he has seen to accurately portraying Jesus. Thumbs up for this read... I would also recommend this for young children to read as it is simply stated.

    • MysteriousOne profile image

      MysteriousOne 

      7 years ago

      I am definitely going to read this!!! Thanks for sharing!

    • BL Tween profile image

      BL Tween 

      7 years ago

      Heaven is Real and God is Real! Amen

    • tnderhrt23 profile imageAUTHOR

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      Hi Ruby, My son ordered his copy from Amazon.com. That is where I pulled the picture of the book from so I know they have it. It is a great read. Let me know if you read it, I am interested in what you think! Hugs!

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      7 years ago from Southern Illinois

      I want to read this Marsha. Thank you for the review. Where did you find the book?

    • profile image

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      Preacherdon, this is a very interesting true story that sure convinced me. Todd Burpo is a pastor, himself, and it is a compelling read, especially in this age and time.

    • profile image

      tnderhrt23 

      7 years ago

      Thanks, WillStarr. This is my first book review. My son gave me this book to read and it is well worth the time. Let me know if you choose to read it. I would be interested in your take on it.

    • preacherdon profile image

      preacherdon 

      7 years ago from Arkansas

      Thanks for the review. I've seen the book advetized on TBN.I may check it out.

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 

      7 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      Nice review. I'd like to read this one!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)