ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How to Write a Critical Movie Review

Updated on July 31, 2010
Veer photography
Veer photography

A guide for beginners

Chances are, you like to watch movies. It's only natural that you would want to write about them. With the internet, it's easy for moviegoers to espouse their thoughts about movies at their blogs, journals, and forums. But if you want to write a good movie review, one thing you can do is make sure that it's critical. That doesn't mean that you should review the movie negatively; rather, being critical is the act of "exercising or involving careful judgment or judicious evaluation" (Merriam-Webster).

The idea of writing a review that is not solely based on one's subjective feelings may be new to you, but I think that a strong review shouldn't simply state whether you like or dislike a movie. A strong review weighs different aspects of the movie, and draws a fair conclusion about its merits and flaws.

To write a critical review, do the following:

  • Be specific.
  • Be objective.
  • Do your research.

Keep these points in mind if you want to write a fair and thoughtful review.

Be specific

Being specific and giving examples makes it more meaningful for the reader. It doesn't mean that you should rehash the entire movie; it means that you should speak of precise, not general, things. Instead of saying "The dialogue is poor," say, "Real teenagers don't really talk this way." Rather than "the stunts are awesome," say, "The action sequences are stylish, but realistic." Instead of noting how "the movie has plot holes big enough for a space ship to go through," say, "The movie doesn't explain how the crew made it back to the solar system in time."

Being specific engages your readers in a few ways. It gives those who have not seen the movie a better understanding of what it's like (and might help them determine whether or not to spend ten dollars to see it). It also engages those who have already seen the movie, because they can relate to what you're talking about--though of course they are free to disagree.

Be objective

It's not always easy, but strive to be as objective as possible. Don't let your feelings--positive or negative--about an actor, director, or genre dictate the content of your review. Don't let the fact that sci-fi movies are your favourite genre sway your review of a sci-fi movie that you didn't enjoy that much. It's okay to go against your usual opinion.

A more important distinction to make, when speaking of objectivity, is to not confuse one aspect of a film with its overall quality. Is a relentlessly depressing movie a bad one because it made you sad? Is a movie with completely miserable characters necessarily a bad movie? On the other hand, if a movie is inoffensive and has a 'happy' ending, is it automatically a good one? Beyond the movie's surface, look at its meaning: what is it trying to say? Look at the big picture (pun not intended), and remember, the best movies are often those that move or disturb you.

One last thing about objectivity: being objective doesn't mean that you can't say how you feel about a movie. You can still say that a movie is well done, but too dark for your liking.

Do your research

You might not think it, but research--which might amount to just a quick Google search--is important for a balanced and accurate movie review. For example, I once edited a movie review that cited a movie's cinematography. The review then gave examples of things that had nothing to do with cinematography (which is camerawork and things related to the technical aspects of the camera). If you're going to use film terminology, make sure you use it correctly. The same goes for things such as citing dates, names, and other factual information--why not spend the few extra minutes to confirm what you've written?

You can also do research for comparisons. Reviewers often draw comparisons between films of the same genre, original films and their remakes, movies and their sequels, and so on. Reviewers may also compare the works of directors and actors' performances. Doing this shows that you have a basis for some of your observations and judgments about the film. It lends your review some credibility.

Putting it all together

Once you've formulated a review that is specific, objective, and well-researched, make sure that you've said what you really wanted to say about the movie. Like most good reviews, address some of the key points of the movie, and then evaluate it overall.

Finally, here are some extra tips to ensure that your critical review is the best that you can make it:

  • Use correct spelling, grammar, and punctuation. Writing a review for the internet doesn't mean that you should resort to IM speak. Use the spelling and grammar checker in your word processing software, if necessary.
  • Talk about what interests you. If you're interested in costumes, address them. If you're interested in how women are portrayed in movies, discuss how it affects the movie you're reviewing. Topics in which you are interested will bring out more perceptive observations, and thus make your review better.
  • Don't be afraid to go against the grain. If everyone's raving about a movie, and you thought it terrible, review it honestly. An honest, well-explained review is a good one, no matter what the rest of the world thinks about the movie.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Johne690 

      4 years ago

      you are in reality a good webmaster. The site loading pace is incredible. It kind of feels that you're doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a great process on this matter! bafaadbadegf

    • profile image

      Pharmd94 

      4 years ago

      Very nice site! cheap goods http://opeaixy2.com/qsqsrqa/4.html

    • profile image

      Johna170 

      4 years ago

      I have read several good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make such a magnificent informative web site. edabkacbcedd

    • profile image

      hiu 

      4 years ago

      brerbef dgbdrge

    • profile image

      Hgguufufuf 

      5 years ago

      Your putched

    • profile image

      sazuki hasamauhazuki 

      6 years ago

      hmm A+ but you could do better

    • profile image

      Gabbie 

      6 years ago

      i didn't really understand but still ....

    • profile image

      Gabby 

      6 years ago

      Thanks

    • Maria Cecilia profile image

      Maria Cecilia 

      6 years ago from Philippines

      this is very informative and may comeback here from time to time...That is why I am very careful when I write about particular movies and drama... I don't write reviews because I am limited when it comes to watching movies... I only watch movies for two main reasons 1. my favorite actress is the lead character;2. I read the book,I should see the movie version... voted up

    • marimccants profile image

      marimccants 

      6 years ago

      Great information. You've great suggestions here. Thanks Irene.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      7 years ago

      its easy to understand ,to the point,helpful for beginners

    • Dr. Seriously profile image

      Dr. Seriously 

      7 years ago

      Hey there! I'm just lost my virginity on this site. Would you be so kind as to check out my review? Cheers :)https://hubpages.com/entertainment/Narnia-and-the-...

    • LindaJM profile image

      Linda Jo Martin 

      7 years ago from Post Falls, Idaho, USA

      This is great information! Now I feel I have to get to know YOU better! I own a movie review blog that I'm having a rough time getting going... mainly because I needed this kind of information. Thanks so much!

    • profile image

      dianne 

      7 years ago

      oh.. my!

      thanks a lot..

      it really helps..

    • _Irene_ profile imageAUTHOR

      _Irene_ 

      7 years ago

      Thanks for dropping by, everyone!

    • profile image

      dayo olowu 

      8 years ago

      Good and informative.Keep it up

    • Jon Law profile image

      Jon Law 

      8 years ago from Birmingham UK

      useful information and links to further resources, I like

    • WA Christopher J. profile image

      WA Christopher J. 

      8 years ago from First American Ruins, MI

      Irene,

      Well structured and informative! And I appreciate the links to the movie review literature. Keep it up.

    • profile image

      suju 

      8 years ago

      thanks a lot...it helps me very much..!

    • profile image

      8 years ago

      not bad

    • profile image

      johnny depp 

      8 years ago

      i was here

    • profile image

      alex :P 

      8 years ago

      BOOOOOOOO!!!!!

    • profile image

      Anon 

      8 years ago

      Wonderful and helpful. Thank you!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)