ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

HubReviews 1 : A Series of Reviews on Short Stories on HubPages

Updated on March 15, 2012

We write reviews on movies, books, games, and all the other things that we think people might find interesting. So I thought, 'Why not write reviews on some short stories that are right here on HubPages?' After all, there are some amazingly talented storytellers right here in the community.

Remember, these are reviews, not summaries so if you happen to read a review here that you find interesting, you can follow the link at the bottom of the story's review and read the story on the owner's page.

Enjoy!

Source

The Promise

This short story is clear, easy to read and understand, and is very well-written. The characters are superbly developed. So much so, that the reader is fully able to appreciate the message and experiences of the characters. You smile when they smile and feel their hurt, anger and vulnerability.

There is nothing as important to a little girl as her father's love. If that one thing is missing, nothing else may seem to matter. Sof's story is a perfect example of how meaningful a father's love really is. Not the love that breaks the bank and hurts your pocket, but the kind of love that does not cost a thing. It does not matter to a child how expensive their education is, how costly their toys are, or how noble are the people the people they get to associate with. What matters is knowing that the people they depend on the most, their parents, love them unconditionally.

The Promise By: Sofs

I, Them, and the Things They Didn't

I had to read it three times before I fully understood what the writer was trying to say. I think that is what is so interesting, I had to reread it. I couldn't help it. The poetic flow of this piece is compelling.

Source

This short story is unlike most short stories. Even though the writer is very descriptive about what is taking place, there is still room for the reader to add their concept to it without completely ruining it. For example, each time I read it I would always see it in a different way.

Interest Captured describes a group of people who, even though they will be successful, lack the passion for what they are doing. As the writer sits and paints a worded picture of his surroundings, he shows a true picture of society today.

This ambiguous piece is meant to "spark an idea, or at least help you to pass the time" [Interest Captured]. It did spark an idea, in fact many ideas. Ideas for stories, articles, and, of course, ideas on how to pass the time.

I, Them, and The Things They Didn't by: InterestCaptured

Source

Johnny On The Spot

A cute and funny short story with a childish smirk. Little Johnny is put on the spot again, asked to do something he'd rather not do. It seems he'll never learn, but at least its good practice for later on.

Johnny On The Spot 1 by Under cover agent

Source

Ruby Red and the Wolf

This is a creative and modern twist on a classic story. We have all heard the story of Little Red Riding Hood, in fact we can probably recite the story on the spot. We are all familiar with the characters in the classic story and all their roles.

In this romantic and mysterious short story, our classic safe characters take on different roles. The tension, fascination, and suspense is skilfully woven in every line.

The suggestive and seemingly incomplete ending left me with a lot of questions. What happens next? What did he/she do? How does this modern classic end?

Ruby Red And The Wolf by Literature Fairy

Source

Megan's Journal

Most people have seen news reels, entertainment magazines, and reality shows that spoon-feed the ever-hungry audiences with the latest scandals of their favorite artists. The world knows when a rock star breaks a nail, when pop star goes to rehab, or when an actor overdoses.

This story gives us an interesting peek behind the scenes. Megan writes about her experiences of having an alcoholic rock star as a father. As she describes the reactions of people around her as she sits in a hospital's waiting room, the reader can appreciate the emotions that are underlying her words.

There are two or more sides to every story. This piece shows the side of the story that most people do not even think about: the child's side. After all, aren't they affected by what their parent's do?

Megan's Journal by weestro

Here's my short story

Once upon a time, I was lost in town but then I found my way home. The end!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Loi-Renee profile imageAUTHOR

      Loi-Renee 

      6 years ago from Jamaica

      You are welcome Sofs. I enjoyed reading your story. Good luck with the challenge.

    • sofs profile image

      Sophie 

      6 years ago from From the land of wonders

      Loi-Renee, Thanks for the wonderful review.. I am honored to be mentioned... I just got to your hub by chance.. Once the 30/30 March contest is over I will have a lot of catching up to do on my reading. Thanks for making this easy. I appreciate this very much. Have a wonderful day!

    • Loi-Renee profile imageAUTHOR

      Loi-Renee 

      6 years ago from Jamaica

      Thanks for the raving review Cardisa. My Biology teacher always told me to KISS my writing (Keep It Short and Simple). :)

      My favorite part about writing this hub was reading the different stories that are on HubPages. There are a lot of them that are unreadable and so the others might get a bad rep so I only featured ones that I thought were good.

      I hope you get the chance to check them out.

      Walk good.

    • Loi-Renee profile imageAUTHOR

      Loi-Renee 

      6 years ago from Jamaica

      Thanks Jenubouka. You are right, there are a lot of great authors here. And we can learn so much about someone from what they write about, especially their stories.

      I love reading the stories here because I can take a quick break from what I'm doing and its likely that I get a few ideas from them.

    • Loi-Renee profile imageAUTHOR

      Loi-Renee 

      6 years ago from Jamaica

      Thank you Becky. I love reading the stories that are on HubPages but I noticed that they do not have a lot of comments or followers so I thought I'd do this.

      Hop on the boat girl! Its practically empty. I spent all day searching and no one else is doing this. There are reviews on hubbers and overall hubs but none dedicated to stories and poetry on HubPages. I'll be sure to check it out when you do. Good Luck.

    • Cardisa profile image

      Carolee Samuda 

      6 years ago from Jamaica

      I really like your one line story, so precise and to the point, and that's my review of your story....lol

      Now about the hub. What an interesting idea for a hub! You are highlighting other short story writers here on HP and that is great. I will check some of them out when I get the chance.

      Have a great day.

    • profile image

      jenubouka 

      6 years ago

      Very creative idea! There are so many great authors here that is a sure help to get to know some of them and their stories. Awesome!

    • Becky Katz profile image

      Becky Katz 

      6 years ago from Hereford, AZ

      This is awesome. I may write about some of my favorite stories on HubPages.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)