ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

If You Enjoyed the Hunger Games, You May Also Enjoy These Books for Teens and Older Kids

Updated on September 26, 2012

So, you've devoured the entire Hunger Games trilogy in a matter of weeks. You've learned all there is to know about Katniss, Peeta, and the fate of Panem, that distopian world in which children are regularly sacrificed as Tributes to die for the amusement of the citizens watching on television. But summer has just started! What will you read next? Try some of these great reads about courageous young people trying desperately to stay alive in nightmarish worlds.

The Tripods series by John Christopher - In the year 2100, the entire world has been enslaved by the Tripods. These huge machines have taken control of the earth by forcing all human children over the age of thirteen to be surgically fitted with a Cap that controls their minds and makes them willing and compliant slaves. Will, his cousin Henry, and a boy named Beanpole run from these tripods in search of the human resistance movement, set in the White Mountains of Switzerland.

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix. - Luke Garner is the third child in his family. In this grim society, food is very scarce, and it is illegal for any family to have more than two children in it. If the ruling Barons find out about Luke, they will kill him. Luke soon meets a girl named Jen, who is, like himself, a "Shadow Child" and he begins to dream of a world in which he can be free.

The Giver by Lois Lowry - Jonas lives in what appears to be a happy, perfect world. There are few conflicts and little pain; all the people in the community have given themselves over to the concept of "Sameness". However, when Jonas is chosen from all the twelve-year-old children in his community to become The Keeper of Memory, he begins learning terrible truths from an old man he calls The Giver. "Sameness" has taken away all intense, beautiful, and emotional experiences from the people of his community. Even worse, Jonas learns the terrible truth of a common practice known as "Release." "Release" is not, as Jonas believed, a form of benevolent exile. It is euthanasia, the final solution for all those who threaten the Sameness of the community...

Unwind by Neal Schusterman - Abortion is illegal in this nightmarish society, but parents of unwanted or unruly children have a second option. Any teenager between the ages of 13 and 18 can legally be Unwound - harvested by doctors for their body parts. The law says that these young people will not really die, but live on in the bodies of the people who receive their transplanted organs. Connor, Risa and Lev are all sentenced to be Unwound... until an accident allows them to escape... Can they help each other survive? Will any of them make it to the age of eighteen, when they can no longer be harvested?

Heir Apparent by Vivian Vande Velde - All Giannine really wanted to do was play a game. Now she has to figure out how to win the game, and get out alive. When religious protesters cause the wiring in a hi-tech Virtual Reality Arcade to malfunction, Giannine finds herself immersed in a fantasy world that she can't escape.. She must solve the medieval quest presented to her and become the King before the wiring to her brain kills her.

Surviving Antarctica: Reality TV 2058 by Andrea White. - In this future, the government distracts a miserable, poverty-stricken people from insurrection with television. Television has replaced education, and all children over the age of fourteen must throw dice for the chance to continue their schooling. In an effort to improve ratings, one television station proposes a new reality show in which five fourteen-year-old teenagers will attempt to recreate the doomed Antarctic expedition led by Robert F. Scott in 1912. They must face subzero temperatures, mechanical failures, starvation - and even some deliberate sabotage.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding - No list of books about teenagers struggling to survive in a dystopian society would be complete without mention of this classic, in which a group of English choirboys marooned on an island during a war attempt to survive without any adult supervision. At first, they appear to function well under the leadership of Jack, but there is a Beast on the island, and the Beast is their own human nature. Slowly the boys become savage and cruel as they turn on each other, leading to tragic consquences.



Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • tipstoretireearly profile image

      tipstoretireearly 4 years ago from New York

      Good suggestions. I'll need to look for one of these at the library. Thx!

    • pstraubie48 profile image

      Patricia Scott 5 years ago from sunny Florida

      Oh my...I told my daughter she did a bad bad thing. She gave me her Hunger Games books to read and they are keeping me from doing anything else. Have read Lord of the Flies...will have to give the others a shot. Thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      Alex 5 years ago

      You should definitely mention Ender's game.

    • recappers delight profile image
      Author

      recappers delight 5 years ago

      Thanks for the additional ideas, Jenna. I've thought of other books that might do well in this list, including The City of Ember series by DuPrau, and Gregor the Overlander series, which is also by Collins.

    • Jenna Kunc profile image

      Jenna Kunc 5 years ago from Colorado

      There were some interesting suggestions that I hadn't thought of! I'd also consider Divergent by Veronica Roth, Ender's Game, and maybe The Uglies series. Of course, there are TONS of books out there, and it would be impossible to list them all.

    • Kennedi Brown profile image

      Kennedi Brown 5 years ago from Richlands, Virginia

      Great article! I know how it feels to close a book and instantly be screaming, "MOAR!"

      That's why I always try to keep a list nearby of similar books, heh.

    • Thundermama profile image

      Catherine Taylor 5 years ago from Canada

      Great suggestions. My 12 year old daughter just finished the HG trilogy and is desperate for something new to read like it. Off to the library we go with your suggestions in hand.