ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Jack Reacher Novel Review "Personal", By Lee Child

Updated on October 1, 2014

“Reacher is the stuff of myth, a great male fantasy. . . . One of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes . . . [Lee] Child does a masterly job of bringing his adventure to life with endless surprises and fierce suspense.”

— The Washington Post

Review: Lee Child's #19 Jack Reacher Novel "Personal". *No Spoiler Alerts*

Synopsis:

Your favorite ex-Army M.P. Jack Reacher is back better than ever in Lee Child's #19 book in the series, "Personal". "Personal" starts off like all the previous 18 books in the series, with Jack Reacher touring around the United States visiting sites that he missed out on when he was in the military. His means of transportation? When he isn't walking, he's riding on a Gray Hound bus (Side Note: Us in the military and veterans, get an awesome discount on all Gray Hound bus fares). Then, the poop hits the fan in France.

Someone took a shot at the French president with a sniper rifle. One of Reacher's previous commanding officers, cashes in a favor Reacher had owed him. In this novel, Reacher isn't just staying in the United States, he's going to France and the UK to get in trouble. Don't feel to bad for Reacher, like always, Reacher is surrounded by the ladies. He is the Army version of James Bond. When Reacher realizes who the villain in this novel, he realizes this is personal (hence, the name of the book).


Author's Review:

First, I have a confession to make, I didn't actually read this book, I listened to the audiobook. I like to listen to books on long car rides, and when I go on long-distance runs. You can buy "Personal" audiobook at www.audible.com.

I liked this book. It does seen like Child is getting a little tired of the series, but he still brought his A game to the table. I did like the new setting of the book, with Reacher going to France and the UK. It was interesting to see how America jurisdiction and intelligence agencies interact with their European counterparts. While I know Reacher has played judge, jury, and executioner, I was still a little a little surprised how little his conscious effects him when he has to kill someone. Just like every book, Reacher gets partnered up to a very attractive lady.

It must be a hard life Reacher, guns, girls, and glory.

"The best one yet".

— Steven King

Why You Should Buy "Personal" (Hardback) From Amazon

List Price: $28.00

Price: $16.45

FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Save: $11.55 (41%)

Trade In: $4.51

Used: $12.46

Kindle: $10.41

Picture of author Lee Child. Lee Child is actually his pen name. This British author who was never in the military, he was born Jim Grant. Jim Grant is another famous author, so perhaps that is why he uses a pen name.
Picture of author Lee Child. Lee Child is actually his pen name. This British author who was never in the military, he was born Jim Grant. Jim Grant is another famous author, so perhaps that is why he uses a pen name. | Source

List of All the Jack Reacher Novel Series by Lee Child in Order

1. Killing Floor (1997)

2. Die Trying (1998)

3. Tripwire (1999)

4. Running Blind (2000)

5. Echo Burning (2001)

6. Without Fail (2002)

7. Persuader (2003)

8. The Enemy (2004)

9. One Shot (2005)

10. The Hard Way (2006)

11. Bad Luck And Trouble (2007)

12. Nothing To Lose (2008)

13. Gone Tomorrow (2009)

14. 61 Hours (2010)

15. Worth Dying For (2010)

16. The Affair (2011)

17. A Wanted Man (2012)

18. Never Go Back (2013)

19. Personal

Movie: "Jack Reacher" Based on Lee Child's "One Shot"

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Alli Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Alli Rose Smith 

      4 years ago from Washington, DC

      Thanks, Merrci, then you're in for a treat!

    • Alli Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Alli Rose Smith 

      4 years ago from Washington, DC

      Thanks Marja, 61 hours is a great book!

    • Alli Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Alli Rose Smith 

      4 years ago from Washington, DC

      I love James Patterson, if you like him you will love Lee Child!

    • Alli Rose profile imageAUTHOR

      Alli Rose Smith 

      4 years ago from Washington, DC

      Thank Rebel, it is my favorite book.

    • rebelogilbert profile image

      Gilbert Arevalo 

      4 years ago from Hacienda Heights, California

      It sounds like an exciting read, Allison.

    • Dana Tate profile image

      Dana Tate 

      4 years ago from LOS ANGELES

      This review sounds interesting. I am an avid reader, more of a James Patterson kind of fan. However your review of Jack Reacher sounds interesting. I may give it a try.

    • Marja79 profile image

      Marja79 

      4 years ago

      I love Jack Reacher! I am reading 61 hours. Cannot get them in order, not all of them are translated to Finnish, which is a shame! I had not heard about this book, but I must check out if this has been already translated. Unfortunately it can take time. Thanks for sharing this!

      Ps. I did not know there is a movie of one of Jack Reacher novels. Too bad Tom Cruise is starring. He is so not Jack Reacher. Where do I start... Tom is not tall and edgy, hehe.

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Love Jack Reacher! I'm reading them in order, and trying to stretch them out a bit, but this is definitely going on my list. Thanks for sharing.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)