ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

James Willis Makes a Million - Book Review.

Updated on December 9, 2010
Source

Motivational stories of financial successes are a dime a dozen, but there is none I‘ve enjoyed reading more then the fictional tale of a young boy who begins his first successful business at the age of eight.

Aptly entitled, James Willis Makes a Million, by K. Wodke, the mantra, “I’ll play when I’m rich,” rings loud and clear on every page.

More than just a book about how to achieve financial success; James Willis Makes a Million is an endearing and motivational tale of what anyone of any age can do when they put their mind to it.

In addition, the ideal conveyed that a person can successfully change his or her not-so-favorable circumstances with the loving and sometimes reluctant support of family and community members is refreshing, considering the ‘me-first- out-for-myself’ attitude we find in this day and age.

Set in the early 1970’s, the young hero of this story, James Willis, experienced poverty first -hand as he lived in an old, rundown house with his loving father and his stern grandmother who insisted on being called “Mrs. Brown.”

Like most people of that era, James was surrounded by poverty. Not only were he and his small family poor; he lived in a neighborhood where people “barely had two nickels to rub together” and it seemed that no matter how hard his father tried, he could never improve on their lot in life.

Consequently, from a very young age, James Willis decided that he did not want to be poor all of his life. So at the tender age of seven; with a broom in hand and his first paying gig; James Willis’s career as a successful young businessman was born.

Young James was not afraid of hard work. On the contrary, while other kids played, he worked. Surprisingly enough, work felt like play for him. Never did he feel more financially secure then on the occasions he deposited money in his savings account. Half was to go in his savings account, and the other half would be spent just the way he wanted - just like his father wisely advised him.

Though achieving financial stability and freedom is the main theme of this book, the underlying message that money should be kept in its proper place is often conveyed through the many conversations James has with his always supportive father.

Ingeniously, James Willis Makes a Million is more than just a warm tale of a young boy who makes it rich. This book can be used as a guide of sorts for those who have financial dreams of their own.

Practical advice that include; creating a brand, advertising, seizing golden business opportunities, gaining and remaining loyal to repeat customers, getting and staying organized, putting at least half of your earnings safely away, and living below your budget are intricately woven into the story.

Geared toward middle to adult readers, this gem of a read is a great reminder that success can come at any age and that no one should allow their circumstances to define who they are and what they will do with their life.

A warm, motivational tale of how a very young man used his talents, hard work, determination, perseverance, and the support of his family and community to become a millionaire all before the age of eighteen; James Willis Makes a Million is well worth a read.

About the author: K.Wodke lives in the Midwest and has other works that can be viewed at the website http://wodke-hawkinson.com/.

copy right © 2010

 

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Veronica Allen profile image
      Author

      Veronica Allen 7 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks for stopping by Hello, hello. I've been so busy with helping my eldest in school so I haven't been able to write as much. You know, I thought the same thing about the book - maybe it will help me to be a millionaire or close to it :). Good to hear from you.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 7 years ago from London, UK

      Hello,Veronica, and it is so nice to see hub from again. Thank you for a great review and will look out for it. Maybe it will get me to be a millionaire.

    • Veronica Allen profile image
      Author

      Veronica Allen 7 years ago from Georgia

      Thank you so much ListLady for taking the time to stop by, read, and rate. I tell you, this book was inspirational to me and I just had to share it. It is so nice to read stories that show how strong the human spirit is.

    • TheListLady profile image

      TheListLady 7 years ago from New York City

      I need inspiration where ever I can find it. So this book will work. Thanks a lot Veronica Allen. Another winning hub and rated up for sure!

    • Veronica Allen profile image
      Author

      Veronica Allen 7 years ago from Georgia

      I'm blushing....:) Thank you BkCreative and CassidyS for taking the time to stop by and read my little book review. I was extremely moved by this book and much credit goes to the author. Its so true Bk - there is not much in te curriculum about teaching our children about money and many of us adults are not setting a good example ourselves. This book is a great reminder for us all.

    • CassidyS profile image

      CassidyS 7 years ago from OK

      Great Review!

    • BkCreative profile image

      BkCreative 7 years ago from Brooklyn, New York City

      Great review and a reminder - that working for yourself is the way to go. Paycheck to paycheck is not going to get it - your wealth is controlled before you get it and then your income is monitored from this point on - with no tax breaks and write offs etc.

      Seems to be nothing in the curriculum about teaching children about money - so a book is the next best thing.

      Thanks a million$$$$$$

      And rated up of course and more. Yay!

    • Veronica Allen profile image
      Author

      Veronica Allen 7 years ago from Georgia

      Thank you Cain, Karen, and Creativeone59 for taking the time to stop by and read this book review. I'm glad you all liked it.

    • creativeone59 profile image

      benny Faye Douglass 7 years ago from Gold Canyon, Arizona

      Thank you Veronica for a great and awesome review, thank you for sharing. Godspeed. creativeone59

    • Karen Wodke profile image

      Karen Wodke 7 years ago from Midwest

      I love it too. Thanks so much!

    • profile image

      cain 7 years ago

      I luv this review!!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)