ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Jennifer Bell's The Uncommoners: The Crooked Sixpence is a Magical Read for Fans of Magical Mysteries

Updated on June 21, 2017
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

A Magical Read for Fans of Uncommon Events

Jennifer Bell debuts her first book in a series by a first-time author with this page-turner The Uncommoners: The Crooked Sixpence. This magical tale follows the genre that fans of Harry Potter will find to be a great read. Common objects take on magical powers, characters in the land of the uncommoners are definitely out of the ordinary, and the mystery involves solving family secrets that began on Twelfth Night. Ivy and her brother tumble down to the land of the uncommoners under the city of London by way of a suitcase. They are in search of answers to their questions about what happened to their grandma on the last night of the celebration of Twelfth Night. Family secrets are discovered as they travel through the magical town of Lundinor. Common objects such as a paper clip, a bell, and rugs take on magical characteristics during their search for answers. Residents of Lundinor have magic carpets as their favorite mode of transportation. Residents are dressed in Hobsmatch. A candle that makes Ivy invisible aids in learning all of the secrets of the uncommoners. Ivy and her brother discover the wonderful secret that they too are uncommoners. A glove holds all of the secrets that Grandma must remember and Ivy and her brother have to decide how to tell their mom and dad about this uncommon adventure.

The Uncommoners: The Crooked Sixpence was published by Crown Books for Young Readers, a division of Random House Children's Books. It has an ISBN of 978-0-553-49845-5.

Tumble Down by Way of a Suitcase into this Magical Read

Fans of the genre of magic and uncommon events
Fans of the genre of magic and uncommon events | Source

Black and White Illustrations by Karl James Mountford Capture the Magical Events

Under the city of London in a magical town of the uncommoners
Under the city of London in a magical town of the uncommoners
Ivy and her brother discover family secrets in the underground city of Lundinor.
Ivy and her brother discover family secrets in the underground city of Lundinor.

Get Acquainted with the Author and Illustrator

Jennifer Bell is a newly discovered talent in the world of children's books. She began her career in writing children's books by working as a specialist bookseller at Foyles Bookshop on Charing Cross Road in London. She recommended children's books to customers that included many celebrities and royalty. She decided to write a book of her own, and her blockbuster The Uncommoners: The Crooked Sixpence is her debut into the world of children's books. She used her knowledge of traditional English nursery rhymes to create the world of Lundinor. She also used her memory of stories that she heard as a child from her grandparents when visiting Cockney markets. She still works as a bookseller in an independent children's bookstore in London.

Karl James Mountford contributed his talent as an illustrator with his magical black and white illustrations that capture the uncommon characters with their Hobsmatch apparel.

Mountford's Intriguing Black and White Illustrations Add to the Adventures

The glowing fountain at a gate to the secret mansion
The glowing fountain at a gate to the secret mansion

What is the Celebration of Twelfth Night?

The celebration of Twelfth Night plays a large part in Bell's magical story and the adventures that Ivy and her brother tumble into in order to answer the question of what happened to their grandma many years ago on the last night of the celebration of Twelfth Night.

Twelfth Night is a festival that is celebrated by some Christians during the Christmas season. It is the period of the twelve days of Christmas. The last night of the celebration is known as Twelfth Night that is celebrated on January 5th and sometimes the 6th. The Church of England celebrates Twelfth Night on January 5. January 5 is the day of Epiphany, the day when the Nativity story tells us that the wise en visited the baby Jesus. Twelfth Night celebrations added additional festivities to the twelve days of Christmas. The punch known as wassail is a part of the celebrations.

It is considered unlucky to leave Christmas decorations hanging after Twelfth Night. In Colonial America the wreath was taken down and edible portions of the Christmas wreath were part of the foods that were consumed during the celebration's feast. The Christmas tree was also to be taken down after Twelfth Night.

Young Readers and the Appeal of Magical Adventures

What do young readers find appealing in the genre of magical adventures?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)