ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Joni an Unforgettable Story Book Review

Updated on January 19, 2020

About the book

  • Author: Joni Eareckson Tada
  • Published: 1976
  • Publisher: Zondervan
  • Pages: 200

The Book

In the summer of 1967 Joni and her family were having a day out at Chesapeake Bay in Maryland. The day was meant to be a fun, family day out. But 17 yr old Joni dived into the lake, misjudging the depth of the water, and hit her head. What happened next would change her life forever. Joni fractured her spine, in between the fourth and fifth cervical levels, and became quadriplegic from just below the shoulders down. From this day onward, she would spend the following 2 years in rehabilitation. During this time she would experience a whole range of feelings, including depression and suicidal thoughts. At one point, she even asked her friend to help her die.

As a Christian, Joni also questioned her faith. There were so many questions. Why did God let this happen? Why hadn't he healed her? Joni had prayed and asked for healing. Even if she didn't get the use of her legs back, at the very least, she hoped God would answer her prayers and let her use her hands. At least she would be able to do things. But this didn't happen.

The book is less about her accident and her disability, but more about her Christianity and how her faith in God has helped her come to terms with her disability and lead the life she believes God had planned for her. But she also talks about much more personal things, like boyfriends, marriage and intimacy. She also talks about how people perceived her in the wheelchair. She often talks about how people talked to her like she wouldn't understand what they were talking about. She had to overcome people talking to her like this and points out that she, like an able bodied person, is capable of conversing too. Joni had to adjust to a whole new way of living. She not only learned to paint and write using her mouth, but also learned to rely and trust in God and put her complete faith in him. The book covers the first 8 years of her life as a quadriplegic and her journey in her Christian faith.

My Thoughts

I remember reading this book many years ago, but decided to re-read it again. She has also wrote and sang several songs, which I also listen to. I find this book really inspiring. I think most people question their faith at some point during their lives, but reading this book has taught me that there are people out there that really do have things happen in their lives to make them question this. I can't begin to imagine what she went through as a 17 yr old young woman. At that age, your whole life is ahead of you, but to have it change in a split second is beyond comprehension.

Joni is truly a woman of the Lord, and by reading this, we learn that through her faith, she has learned that her disability can help others in a similar situation as herself. The book I bought was published at a later date, although as I say, originally published in 1976. At the back of the book there is a small chapter about her charity, 'Joni and Friends,' which helps people in similar situations. There are 16 chapters in the book altogether. There are also a few pictures halfway through so you can get an idea of Joni's recovery journey and where her life is now. It's a definite 10/10 from me.

Joni: An Unforgettable Story

© 2020 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      5 days ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

      I am sure her journey would be inspiring to many of those who need to have their faith in God and themselves restored. It truly needs a herculean effort but faith can move mountains as they say. I am sure the story would be very interesting to read.

    • Vellur profile image

      Nithya Venkat 

      4 months ago from Dubai

      A great book, faith in God, has helped her through her difficult times. Thank you for your review of this inspiring story.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      4 months ago from Olympia, WA

      It sounds like a remarkable story. Humans are such resilient beings, aren't they? I personally can't imagine having her strength of will, but then again, I come from pretty hardy stock. :) Thanks for the review.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      4 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hello Louise this is new to me and you wrote an interesting review of Joni and published in 1976 it is no wonder I had not heard of it. Will definitely buy this one.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      4 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Audrey - thankyou for the lovely comment. I hope you find the book as inspiring as I did!

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 

      4 months ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      Thank you for sharing this story about Joni. I am purchasing the book through your amazon link. Your review is inspiring.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      4 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I have never heard of this woman before. Her determination and attitude with respect to her problems are impressive. Thank you for sharing her story.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      4 months ago from USA

      I’ve never read it but i heard of the book. I was glad you enjoyed it so much. It’s sad that people talk to people with disabilities (especially those in wheelchairs) in condescending manners.

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      4 months ago from UK

      I remember skimming through this book at my parents' house many years ago. Hers is certainly a remarkable life story and inspirational in the way she has coped in the aftermath of such a tragic accident.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)