ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen: Book Review

Updated on December 23, 2010

Just Listen

Sarah Dessen writes great love stories. Just Listen is a perfect example of what Dessen does well; a predictable story of girl meets boy, girl falls for boy and girl spends the rest of the novel deciding if she should date said boy. Only Dessen usually adds in some disturbing family dynamics and maybe a bit of co-dependent behavior.

In Just Listen, the leading lady, Annabelle Greene has gone through quite a lot over the last few months, including being ostracized by her best friend, discovering that her older sister has a devastating eating disorder and befriending a mysterious boy from school, Owen. At the heart of her friendship with Owen is a shared interest in music. Owen hosts a weekly radio show that helps Annabelle learn to not only appreciate his eclectic taste in music, but also to find her own voice.

In this novel, Dessen tackles many issues that appeal to teenage girls: family drama, eating disorders, rocky friendships, presumed sexual assault, and, of course, a dark, hunky boy. Add to the mix that this novel (as do all of Dessen’s novels) has a satisfying, heartwarming ending and you have a winner.

Young adults who want a bit less fluff and a lot more substance will likely eschew Just Listen for something a bit darker like Wintergirls or Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. And it is a good bet that most young men won’t favor the overwhelmingly female voice.

But if you like the idea of sweet love story with a happy ending, Just Listen fits the bill perfectly.

 

Source

Book Talk: Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Nothing is going right for Annabelle Greene. Just last school year Annabelle was popular, pretty enough to be a model and had a perfect family. Things changed over the summer. Now, her friends hate her, her family is falling to pieces and her new best friend is the school’s biggest outcast. To top it all off, Annabelle is hiding a devastating secret and can’t seem to find the courage to speak up.

For someone who is used to everything being perfect, Annabelle is in serious trouble. The only thing bringing her happiness is her newest friend and his funky, if not a bit strange, taste in music. But, when she learns that he is headed to jail, it just about does her in.

Annabelle needs to find her voice and quickly if she is going to help her friend and help herself.

More Novels by Sarah Dessen

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Jenna Kunc profile image

      Jenna Kunc 

      6 years ago from Colorado

      I used to love Sarah Dessen. I'm pretty sure I read every single one of her books as a preteen.

      One interesting think I remember about the books was that every once in a while a character from one book would pop up in a different book. Kind of like an Easter egg.

    • Elise Scott profile image

      Elise Scott 

      6 years ago from Chicagp

      I love Sarah Dessen and this is definitely one of her best! The theme and plot in this novel were masterfully woven together. It's YA for teen girls at it's finest. Nice review! :)

    • MakeUpObession profile image

      MakeUpObession 

      6 years ago from Bowling Green, Kentucky

      I love most of Sarah Dessen's work. Just Listen happens to be one of my favorites. Some people weren't aware but the movie How To Deal with Mandy Moore was based on two of Dessen's books. Someone Like You and another one that I can't think of off the top of my head. Someone Like You is good but I liked the movie better. I'm sure it was distorted a bit to turn it into a movie but oh well.

    • Canscorpion profile image

      Nimra Aijaz 

      6 years ago from Steel Town

      Ahan...that explains quite a bit to me. :) I'm reading Just Listen these days and done with around some 20% of book. I wasn't quite aware of the plot and hence was not gripping the concept where the story is going. But it is quite interesting enough to keep me going on. Thanks for this review!

    • bye4June profile image

      bye4June 

      7 years ago

      I just finished reading that book! It was great and I have actually found all of Sarah Dessen's books to be very enjoyable so far.

    • profile image

      risarooh9 

      7 years ago

      I love, love, love Sarah Dessen! Great review (:

    • KateMcGregor profile imageAUTHOR

      Katie Griffith 

      7 years ago from Cheyenne, Wyoming

      I love this one, but any of her books would make a good present.

    • KristenGrace profile image

      KristenGrace 

      7 years ago from Philadelphia, PA

      Very nice review. This may be a present for someone I know!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)