ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Just One More Thing Book Review

Updated on August 18, 2019

About the book

Author: Peter Falk

Publisher: Arrow Books

Published: 2008

Pages: 280


The Book

I've always been a fan of Peter Falk and his role in the Columbo series. So when I saw this book on Amazon, I decided to buy it. Peter talks about his acting career from the very beginning and the many people he has worked with. The beginning of the book tells us how he lost his eye. This I found very interesting as I always did wonder this. In his early years, Peter did a lot of theatre work and moved into films.

In his early days, Peter tells us about his time in the army and subsequently moving into acting as a career. He specifically points out that when he wrote the book he wanted to make each chapter quite short and to the point. He knew that this would grab the readers attention and that it can become quite a chore if the chapters are rather long. There are, as it happens, quite a lot of chapters in the book. In fact, there are 63 chapters, not including the forward and epilogue. But as I say, he likes to keep things short and brief. Actually, some of the chapters may only be 1 or 2 pages long. But I found this a good thing. Peter did have a very long and extensive acting career and worked with many people. He has a lot to tell! There are a lot of pictures included of himself and with co-workers and of directors/producers he has had the pleasure of working with.

During his career, he travelled a lot to film locations and tells us about his trips abroad and some of the antics he got into. Of course, there is also Columbo. It is still re-run on television today, so the show is still popular. He tells us interesting little stories about how Columbo came about and that famous mac that he wore throughout the whole of Columbo. He also tells us about the dogs that they used. Actually, I didn't think he spoke that much about Columbo, which I found quite surprising as this was such a big part of his life.

The chapters and stories in the book are more like anecdotes of things that have happened throughout the course of his life. He does talk about a bit about his personal life - growing up with his loving parents, his marriage and not getting into acting until he was 28 years of age.

I was 28 and I decided to become an actor. I told my father and he said, "You gonna paint your face and make an ass of yourself the rest of your life?" I said, "That's right." He shook my hand and said good luck.

— Peter Falk

My thoughts

For someone who is after more biographical account of Peter Falk's life, then I wouldn't consider this book to read. This is more of an anecdotal account of his life and acting career. Each chapter gives short snippets of information about his personal and professional career. I rather enjoyed reading this. Although the book is 280 pages long, it won't take you too long to read. The book contains plenty of pictures.

I like the fact that each chapter is broken down to short stories giving you little titbits of information. There is also some funny stories in the book which made me laugh. One thing I learned about him, he certainly had a sense of humour and up for a joke. Also, I didn't know he could draw. He contains a few pictures in the book of some of his drawings, and he was rather quite good! The only thing I found a little disappointing was the fact that he didn't really talk too much about Columbo. But I still found what he did write very interesting and informative.

If, like me, you are a fan of Peter Falk and don't want something too big or heavy to read, I think you would enjoy this book. It's short and snappy, and plenty of laughs in it to keep you amused.

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      4 weeks ago from British Columbia, Canada

      Like Dora, I didn't know that Peter Falk was a writer. His book sounds interesting. I think I would enjoy learning more about him through his writing.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      4 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Never knew Peter Falk as an author. I also loved him in Columbo. Thanks for the review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes, I'll add some text. =)

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 

      5 weeks ago from Houston, TX USA

      Could you add some of what Falk actually says?

    • Tim Truzy info4u profile image

      Tim Truzy 

      5 weeks ago from U.S.A.

      Thanks, Louise. Columbo is still one of my favorite shows. Those guys could act during that time, and Peter was one of the best. Great review.

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      5 weeks ago from SW England

      Loved watching Columbo - still do when they repeat it here which is quite often.

      Will have to look out for this book as it sounds good.

      Ann

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Liz, thankyou for the lovely comment. =)

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      5 weeks ago from UK

      This is a great book review. It gives a real idea of what the book is like without giving too much detail away. It takes me back a bit, as I remember watching Columbo too.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)