ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

LOVES LOST AND FOUND - Book Review

Updated on August 1, 2010

Illustrations Below By Tracy McDurmon

Rendezvous
Rendezvous
The Last Moon
The Last Moon
Rivers Of The Soul
Rivers Of The Soul

A Book Review...

Loves Lost and Found

Written By Michael Ray King and Illustrated By Tracy McDurmon

When I first opened this book I was captivated by the illustrations. Since I am a photographer I always seek the visual presentation first. I was moved by the illustrations in this book. Then I proceeded to read the words and poems that accompanied each painting with beautiful titles that grabbed me. Titles like "Rendezvous," "The Last Moon" and "Hold Life By The Hand."

From the moment I opened this book, I felt such amazing passion reach out from the page! Some of the lines so thoughtful, very real and also timely in the world today. Michael Ray King is a magician with his heart, passion and words. Tracy McDurmon is a wizard with her brush, visions and color. I did notice that she wrote one of the poems in this book entitled "Sounds Of Perfect Passion." Together they bring a beautiful presentation to the page. I was excited to show my young daughter who is an aspiring artist. I asked her to tell me which paintings she liked best and it was interesting to see how we both were drawn to different ones. Color, passion and understanding is key. We were both moved by the eyes in the illustrations.

Michael's poetry is very moving and I could relate to his poetry on many levels especially when it comes to love. I feel his heart speaking when he talks about revisiting his youth for a short moment in "Rendezvous." I also can relate to the pain he speaks about in "No One's There" or in the poem "Mind Blown."

I am so happy that books like this exist in a world where people are infatuated with celebrity and place importance on words of people who can not write well at all. People in the media who decide to publish their poetry and sell it based on how famous they are. When I was a child I wrote poems every day and it took me into my forties to express them here on the web and reach out with my heart on the page. I hope that other artists and writers publish a book like this one. This sort of book inspires a lot of people to create and be themselves nomatter what. I will keep this book on my favorite coffee table so that others may be inspired too.

The words and illustrations in this book "Loves Lost and Found" have inspired me to continue writing from the heart because even if you reach just one person, they may do something beautiful. They may just reach out and inspire someone else. I wanted to leave you with one of Michael's poems that really got me. Quite a few did, but at the present moment this one sort of moved me in a really deep way.




"Rendezvous" By Michael Ray King

I sat,

Waiting for the trees to dance.

Leaves filled the air with their tuneful romance.

Wind swept my ears this night in haunting fury.

Mind at its rest, no need to hurry.

A moment,

Recaptured from days in my youth.

Feeling life in my lungs, Hearing it whisper through the trees...

Over the pond...

Then I lost it,

It was gone. Life and I, We meet now and then,

When I am alone.


Hub Pages Author - GPAGE

All rights reserved. This material may not be republished, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form or way.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      prasetio...thank you always for your lovely heart and passion. You are always such a great presence here. I'm so happy to know you. Thank you for being you. G

    • prasetio30 profile image

      prasetio30 

      8 years ago from malang-indonesia

      Wow, I thought I missed this hub. But I hope I can still give a little attention to this hub. My dear, my beautiful friend. This was great book. Thanks for reviewing this lovely book. I wish I could read all the entire of the book. It will be great. Good review, GPAGE. Michael Ray King is the best for me. You sense of beautiful touch by showing this hub for us. I hope you always healthy, So you can still give us something great like this one. Vote this hub. My pray, my love always for you......

      Prasetio

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      Michael..

      I'm so glad you liked this review. I always write from the heart you know.

      Nice to see you here. GPAGE

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      habee...thanks for stopping in. G

    • Michael Ray King profile image

      Michael Ray King 

      8 years ago from Palm Coast, Florida

      Hi GPAGE!

      What a nice review! Poetry is an art form that resonates with passion. The only way it works for me is when the heart is fully invested. I'm sure your poetry is incredible based on what you wrote in this review. Thank you for your kind words about Loves Lost and Found. I'm looking forward to more samples of your work.

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Sounds like an interesting read! Thanks!

    • profile image

      Tracy McDurmon 

      8 years ago

      Thank you for the awesome review, I am so glad this collaboration is touching hearts. Your words were perfect! Shine on*

    • profile image

      TattoGuy 

      8 years ago

      Not my thang G but as its you I rated you up ; ) x

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      Pamela...I always try to leave something for the reader and not give away too much! I want the reader to be surprised too! There a many more poems and illustrations in the book. Very nice. Thanks for stopping by! G

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      8 years ago from Sunny Florida

      GPAGE, This sounds like a very good book to read. Thanks you for the short review.

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      ms....YES...for sure! Inspiration is key! We all need to be inspired!!! Thank you for stopping by!....G

    • msorensson profile image

      msorensson 

      8 years ago

      Thanks for sharing, GPage! Sounds like a wonderful read. More important is that it has inspired you to continue writing from the heart. Keep it up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)