ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Fiction»
  • Romance Novels

50 Books Like The Fifty Shades of Grey Series

Updated on November 19, 2013
Source

Unresistable List of Literary Highlights in the 50 Shades Genre

If you have been devouring the Fifty Shades trilogy or perhaps just the first novel, you will probably be dying to get your hands on some more of that. To help you find books that live up to the promise here is the ultimate list of Fifty Books like 50 Shades of Grey.

From parodies, fifty shades shadows to even hotter versions of Fifty Shades. There is a book waiting for you. Titles E.L.James would approve.

Did you read

See results

#1. Shades of Gray

Great debut by Kim Sanders. Both a mystery novel and a romance story. An award winning photo journalist gets charged with a murder and that's how she meets the defense attorney Caleb, a bit of a dandy. A powerful story revolving around love and death.

#2. Reflected in You

Sylvia Day is the nr.1 New York Times and nr.1 international bestselling writer of more than 12 award-winning books translated into over thirty languages. Reflected in You is driven forward by a fast paced plot that is full of passionate sex scenes.

"Finally--someone who is hotter than Christian Grey." - The Wall Street Journal

#3. Bared to You

Bared to You is not the least of titles it's both an Amazon 2012 Best Books of the Year in Romance and a Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist for Best Romance. It is well deserved if you ask me because it is essentially a hotter version of Fifty Shades. Sylvia Day is a star author in the genre who deserves to be read. She draws you in with compelling plots and interesting characters.

#4. Thoughtless

If you loved Jamie McGuire's "Beautiful Disaster" and "Providence" and savored E.L James' Shades of Grey Trilogy,Then this S.C Stephens book will be an exciting addition to your library. There is nothing better then fleshed out characters who are finding themselves and each other in series of passionate encounters, both sexually and violent. Thoughtless won't be dissapointing.

#5. Effortless

Effortless is a sequel in the Thoughtless series that is widely regarded as a top series in the genre. To some people this is the best book in the trilogy to others certain parts of it are pure torture. Read and suffer along with Kiera on her romantic adventures.

#6. Beautiful Disaster: A Novel

New York Times best selling author Jamie McGuire has penned the Providence series and contemporary romance Beautiful Disaster. Abby is the new college student and gets wrapped up in an interesting "relationship" with the campus ground bad boy. If you are not good at separating reality and fantasy this is not the book for you but otherwise it's a captivating read.

#7. Slammed

Young Adult Novel that was written in no more then 30 days! The characters are well developed and you get sucked right into the love story that quickly becomes far more interesting. If you are in your late twenties or thirties this is probably not the book for you but for girls in their teens or early twenties it's a good read with interesting characters they can relate to.

#8. If I Stay

An uncanny deep book for a Young Adult novel. Mia the main protagonist is both believable and interesting. The book jumps between past and present and in a beautifully told story the main character is torn between a decision of life and death. Very moving, highly recommended.

#9. Sweet Persuasion

Serena's fantasy is to give herself completely to one man entirely for his pleasure. Enter Damon, who is ready and very able. He doesn't only take her but also takes great pleasure catering to her deepest darkest fantasies.

He liberates her body, mind and spirit, in some of the most erotic scenes since 50 shades of grey. This erotic fantasy is not for the prudes, but for those that can stand some serious heat, I highly advocate that you engulf yourself in this sizzling tale of self discovery and steaming hot erotica! Like I said earlier, a true literary carnal ride. Deserves it's place in this list of books like fifty shades of grey.

#10. Sweet Addiction

There are a total of six books in the sweet series: sweet possession, sweet temptation, sweet persuasion, sweet seduction, sweet surrender and this one sweet addiction. This is a kind of dark book. It's not for the faint of heart though, the steamy scenes follow each other up in quick succession. The heroine going from one dominating master to another.

#11. Seven Years to Sin

"Top Ten Romance of Fall 2011! "

Sylvia Day is the number one NY Times and number one international bestselling writer of more than 12 prize-winning novels that are being sold in 39 countries. She is a favorite of audiences worldwide, she sold millions of copies globally. Her work won the Amazon's Best of the Year Award in Romance. She won the RT Book Reviews Choice Award.

This historic romance novel is about a a successful merchant and the newly widowed Jessica. They knew each other in a distant past but meet again on his ship for a transatlantic voyage.


#12. Sweet Possession

Maya Banks, successful author of the Breathless Trilogy, delivered another work of art. A torrid story about a female singer/rockstar called Lyric Jones and a man called Connor Malone. The book is a lot more romantic then others in the series. If you expect the same levels of hot kinky scenes as in the other books you will be disappointed. If you don't mind Maya Banks turning down the temperature just a little bit, this will be a great read. It might even become your favorite book.

#13. Fifty Shades of Pleasure

Named after the wildly successful fifty shades of grey novel this is a perfect how-to guide into kinky, naughty sex. Whether you feel truly inspired to get up close and personal with riding crops and studded spanking paddles, or just want to introduce some fun little things into your bedroom to keep your lovelife from going stale, Fifty Shades of Pleasure is just the guide. Its witty, lighthearted tone makes it a great read, while at the same time helping the bondage-curious into expanding their repertoire.

#14. Sweet Surrender

Under Faith Malone’s soft outside there is a woman hiding who knows exactly what she wants: A man who’ll take without asking—because she’s willing to give him whatever he wants…

Dallas police officer Gray Montgomery has only one thing on his mind: to find the man that killed his partner. What he’s found so far is a connection between the killer and Faith. If Gray has to get close to her to catch the murderer, no problem. She’s everything Gray ever wanted in a woman, but he has suspicions she’s playing games. No way that she would have a man call the shots in their relationship. Or...maybe she would?


#15. Reason to Breathe

Rebecca Donovan is a USA Today Bestselling author with her debut novel Reason to Breathe she connected to readers all over the world. There is also a sequel called "barely breathing" and currently she is working on a third book called "out of breath". Emma Thomas has a horrible secret that she carries around. And in reason to breathe a page turner from the first to the last page, is a story of cruelty, hope and all encompassing love.

#16. Her Master's Kiss

After Renee finds out the one thing she can do to save her relationship with a hurtful boyfriend is to be more submissive, she gets herself a dark master to train her. Unfortunately, Renee's new training has her infatuated with master Stefan, becoming immersed in the spellbinding sensual world of submission,

Renee soon finds out she is attracted to a master who always mysteriously stays out of her grasp; a man who doesn't want to be loved. Behind this new Master's cold, distant front is a man who is working out his own past and his own pain. 'Her Master's Kiss' is an intense love story full of emotion and passion. Conflict and hot erotica.

#17. Ask for It

This novel is set against the background of England (1770). Silk and lace hides a London secret, illicit, elite organization of infiltrators and spies. Protecting the Royalty against its enemies is extremely dangerous, but to Marcus Ashford it's even harder to protect his heart from a passion that will not die... Being an agent of England's Crown: Ashford, the Earl of Westfield, has battled countless enemiees and yet, nothing arouses him like his ex-fiance, Elizabeth. Many years in the past, she left him for the devilishly charming Hawthorne. Now the smart and illuster widow is his to protect.

He wants to while attending to her deeper carnal needs at the same time. With all the passion of a real man's desire...Bloody secrets have led to the demise of Lady Hawthorne's husband, The secrets she has in her possession, many would murder for to gain.

To entrust herself to the guardianship of the most alluring man she's known in her life? Outrageous. Utter Madness, Unresistable. For it was Marcus's unrelenting passions and flaming desires that scared her into leaving the man many years in the past - and her answering craving has never waned. Today he wants to attend to her safety and more, in every sense. Maybe the right way isn't to resist temptation? But Instead to surrender to it completely...

#18. Barely Breathing

Emma’s fight against an abusive husband came to an exhilerating final in a "Reason to Breathe". Now everybody in Weslyn has knowledge of Emma’s dark secret, but Carol is done hurting Emma anymore. Some are still plagued by the terror of those nights, and others must face the consequences of past choices. Fans of the earlier novel in the series by Rebecca Donovan’s will find out there’s a lot to find out about Emma’s life.

#19. The Stranger I Married

Gray was gorgeous 4 years ago, when he begged Isabel to get married. Now no words can describe what is left of him. He turned into a a tormented man, full of secrets and quiet about what he has done since he left.

She was well equipped to handle the boy he once was, but this man…this man cannot be tamed any more. Does she dare to find in herself the places that Gray now demands to possess? Does she trust this man to show herself entirely to a lover who came back to her as a stranger?


#20. Pleasures of the Night

He arrives in the twilight zone of waking and sleeping to fulfill her deepest desires. Lyssa Bates has never in her life encountered a man who can instill such ecstasy in her with his deep, soul-penetrating, blue eyes that promise tempting intimacy and pleasures to decadent to imagine. . But the stranger, mystical lover, undying seducer is nothing more then a phantom of her deepest desires but then, inexplicably he arrives at her door in the real world!

#21. Easy

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior...
The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he'd worked so hard to overcome, and the future she'd put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.
Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth - and find the unexpected power of love.
A groundbreaking novel in the New Adult genre, Easy faces one girl's struggle to regain the trust she's lost, find the inner strength to fight back against an attacker, and accept the peace she finds in the arms of a secretive boy.

#22. Anything he wants

Lucy Delacourt's temporary job isn't really a dream job but it gets her through the month. The best part of her day is taking the elevator early in the mornings at the same time as a handsome unknown. Tall, dark, and very sexy, Lucy realizes that he is a little out of her leauge but a girl can dream.

Then her world changes when the stranger starts to seduce her. Entirely out of character, she gives in without so much as a fight, but she has no clue her carnal acts with this unknown mystery man with no name will change her life forever. The sexy stranger turns out to be Jeremiah Hamilton, the billionaire CEO of Hamilton Industries. As the billionaire dream man draws Lucy deeper into his lifestyle, full of high stakes deals and mercyless takeovers, he wants nothing short of her complete surrender.

#23. Love unscripted

Ryan Christensen is a big time movie star who only wanted to act. Not once in his wildest dreams did he think about a life where crazy fans chase after him, photographers stalk him, and Hollywood studios act like they own him. While shooting in Seaport, Rhode Island, Ryan hides in a neighborhood cafe to get away from hordes of screaming fans. Surprisingly enough he finds more than he would have thought.


#24. Shadows of Pearl

Pearl Robinson feels like the happiest girl alive. In just a few months she will be getting married to the man she loves: the alluring and interesting Alexandre Chevalier, fifteen years younger then she is and owner of billion dollar social media platform, HookedUp.

But Pearl suspects that Alexandre's sister Sophie Dumas, is planning something dark.

Will her past come back to haunt her?


#25. Providence

Nina Grey studied at Brown University and after moving back to Providence Rhode Island where she meets Jared Ryel. A man with stunning looks and talents beyond belief. He turns out to be a welcome distraction while she goes through some problems but then it turns out he knows an awful lot about her...


#26. Pride and Pleasure

Eliza Martin is a practical, intelligent spinster heiress who wants to mvoe back to the country but her uncle insists that she meets with a few fortune hunting suitors. She starts to suspect that the accidents that happen are attempst to kill her. She hires Jasper Bond to pose as another suitor to investigate the other men around her.

#27. Belong to Me

FBI analyst Tara Jacobs's best friend, who is also an FBI agent, dissapears while look into a sex ring, Tara has to go undercover as a slave into the BDSM scene. There isn't a guy who can top a woman like Tara-until a dangerous Dom comes onto the scene and her heart is pounding. It's a shame he's the guy who took away her innocence in the past and who she never wants too submit too. Navy SEAL Logan Edgington realizes that he is the only one who can protect her.

#28. Mine to Hold

Tyler Murphy is a LAPD agent who is both single and happy but then disaster strikes and cripples her friend Eric Catalano. When Tyler is supporting Eric, he also acts as a shoulder for Eric's wife Delaney to lean on. One naughty idea from Eric, on a drunken night with Delaney turns into a night of erotic abandon.

After a few years of living in pain, Tyler searches and finds Delaney on his doorstep, her husband having left her ages ago. She has a shocking secret and is in dire need of refuge from a stalker who wants to see her killed. As they struggle to stay ahead of the killer and alive they discover that the flame of the past is now a raging fire.

Collision Course

#29. Collission Course

Lucas was living the dream. Then disaster strikes for him and the people he loves. After a terrible accident Lucas finds himself an outcast, condemend by his former friends and full of guilt. After losing everything he struggles to find peace, love and hope.

#30. Rock Me

Candace Andrews feels trapped in her life, only pleasing others. One day she decides to do something for herself and walks into the tattoo parlor owned by her cousin's ex. When she gives into his masterful touch, she realizes how attracted she is to the bad boy who is pierced in all the right places. An explicit tale of love and longing.


#31. Hot in Handcuffs

Meet the FBI agent determined to save a virginal professor's life--and claim her... a sexy female fire inspector with a desire that burns like a blast furnace... and a Texas cop with a psychic gift that tells her exactly what some men want. Three never-before-published novellas that'll teach readers the futility of resisting arrest.

#32. Awakening

This is the tale of Claire Ryan and Evan Lang, the 35-year-old Claire decides to join a local book club for readers of romance novels. She thinks it will help to get over her breakup of a 10-year relationship. Book shop owner Evan is a dominant man who never fully recovered from his submissive wife dying so suddenly. As their relationship becomes something more then casual and they go down the path of Claire's submission, it's becoming terribly hard for Evan to keep Claire at an emotional arms length.

#33. Between the Lines

When The Hollywood It Boy, Reid Alexander, gets to a location, his plans are simple: film a blockbuster movie and enjoy his star studded life to the max. His costar is an unknown. Yet they have a hot chemistry going on. He's used to getting what he wants. BUt then a nasty ex girlfriend shows up and a rival to one of the few girls that have interested him in years.

Emma Pierce got a huge break after a decade of doing dusty commercials. She got the lead in a globally released movie. Except Emma is going through a building longing to be just a normal girl. Exactly the opposite of what is going on right now as she is starring in a silly, modern version of one of the novels that is her most dear with the sizzling hot Reid Alexander

#34. Wicked Burn

Vic Savian is well aware of what he wants as soon as he lays eyes on it. In this case that's his sexy neighbour Niall Chandler. One day he encounters her just when she is being harassed in the hallway of their building by an aggressive suitor.

He doesn't hesistate but steps in right away and doesn't regret doing so as he ends up being greatly rewarded…

Sleeping with her hot neighbor, not even knowing his last name,was one of the most crazy things Niall ever did. Now, she doesn't seem to be able to get enough of Vic. He stirs up passions in her she didn't know before. She’s exploring uninhibited pleasures she’s never known before. Then her past comes back to haunt her and they are forced to risk it all and go all-in on love.

#35. Wrong Bed

Elle Walsner is a smart and elegant art gallery coordinator. She isn't very good at seducing men. She has been hinting at her boss mor many months now but he has no clue. Desperate to get away from her mam's matchmaking, she hatches a plan: Buy some hot lingerie and get into her boss’s bed. The plan goes brilliantly…until she accidentally seduces a sexy stranger instead.

The bad boy nightclub owner Gabe just experienced the best almost-sex he ever had. It's a shame the smoking hot blonde figured him for his brother and bolted out before they could finish what they embarked on. Though her snobby attitude puts a damper on his mood, he never gives up on something he really wants. And he really wants Elle.

#36. The Dark Garden

If you loved Fifty Shades of Grey . . . get ready to enter The Dark Garden.

A delicious tale of self discovery.

Rowan Cassidy likes to be in charge most especially in her personal life. She is a mistress at Club Privé, the most elite bondage/S & M club on the West Coast. Rowan is living out her dominant fantasies in an environment she controls, and with entire control—then the night comes that Christian Thorne enters the club. Self-confident, sophisticated as he is, he’s as natural a dominant man as they come. Yet there is no way to stop thinking about Christian and thinking about his touch.

#37. Unleashed

One week in paradise will make or break them…

That Kelsey's husband has left her for another is just not enough... Oh, no. The “other woman” of course had to be her bff and Evan’s fiancée. Not only did she lose her marriage, but she is afraid to lose Evan as well, with how things are between them.

Evan in the meantime is thinking of other things. He has plans… he got an +1 ticket to Hawaii There’s only one girl he wants with him on the plane, the one that's always been by his side when he needed her. The one he should never have let slip away to get her heart broken.

#38. Hearts in Darkness

Makenna James is just thinking her day can't possibly get any worse but then she gets stuck in a dark elevator with someone who is a complete stranger. As she was distracted by a phone call and juggling a little too many things, the neatly dressed accountant only caught a glimpse of his dragon tattoo.

Caden Grayson is laughing inside when a gorgeous redhead literally drops in at his feet. His amusement quickly becomes full fledged panic when the elevator gets stuck with the power turned of. Despite his rugged looks he's afraid of dark confined spaces and now he's trapped.


#39. Ivy Lessons

If you loved Fifty Shades of Grey (E.L. James), The Bride Stripped Bare (Nikki Gemmell), or Bared to You (Sylvia Day) you'll love The Ivy Lessons ...

Teacher, plus student, an ancient and forbidden formula

Sophia wins a highly desirable post-graduate spot at Ivy Drama College. She is feeling on top of the world. The college is actually owned by one of the best young and talented actors in London, Marc Blackwell. He didn't only found the college but also teaches classes there.

Sophia soon finds herself drawn to the supertalent.

#40. Fifty Shades of Black and Blue

In this funny parody on Fifty Shades of Grey, the heroine Annabelle Stilletto who comes from Jersey City and is a Beauty School graduate. Whe has no job and lives with her roommate who is a loser. Her life suddenly changes when she meets what looks like her dream guy, the both rich and striking Vinnie Griso.

She falls instantly for Vinnie's seductive charms . Not to mention, the clear blue eyes, jet black hair, tight black pants and pointy shoes. But when Vinnie asks her for a romantic evening at his mansion, she then discovers the secret that Vinnie has been hiding.


#41. Pulled

A.L. Jackson found a love for writing in her days as a young mother who is still in college. She fills up the journals that she carried around with short stories and poems that she uses as an emotional release for the problems and pleasure she has found in her daily life. Then years later, she has shared a simple story she had been working with her friends that are most dear to her. This eventually turned into this full fledged interesting novel.

#42. Close-up and Personal

If you love erotica-series like 50 Shades of Grey (E.L. James), Bared to you (Sylvia Day), Sinners on Tour (Olivia Cunning) or Fade into You (Kate Dawes) you'll love adult-romance Close Up and Personal...

Actress and director. Staging the set with passion

The drama-school graduated Isabella Green has only one thing on her mind. To become a script-writer. Then she meets the famous and well known director James Berkeley. She gets lured into the glamour world of acting.

Behind the camera, Berkeley the mysterious director commands discipline. Isabelle quickly finds out his dominant male tendencies extend beyond the stage.


#43. Ellora's Cave

Kate Snow’s has had more then her share of bad boy antics until a one way swim in the ocean brings her into contact with another one she can't resist. Charlie Storm is a Charlie Sheen like figure. Famous pop star and mega-success in the movies who is out of control and right out to sea.

The very last thing he thinks he will see before he dies is a suicidal woman. When their worlds collide, their lives become the better for it. In surviving the waves, they discover they can’t stand to be away from each other. In and out of bed.

#44. Making you Mine

The meticulous Salvador Moreno is in a pickle when the fresh bartender Grace Zendejas starts working at his family’s restaurant. She is not only invading his place of business but also his every thought. It drives the control-freak crazy.

#45. Meeting Her Match

In these modern times, it should be very easy for people who think alike, even like-minded fetishists, to find and be able to connect. Or so the protagonist by the name of Cherry thought...

She decides to get into the wild and interesting world of BDSM. This brings her into some interesting and unexpected places. She finds herself deep inside 'the scene'. Her curiosity brings her to orgies, slave trades and mansions filled with trainee submissives. Where will she find the perfect dom?

#46. Slave to Love

Vice Sarg Caroline Palmer doesn't really enjoy the whips and chains. Except when she meets detective Michael McGraw (the Iceman) takes her into an undercover in a secret world that in her wildest dreams she couldn't have imagined... This erotic thriller will leave you breathless in more ways than one.

#47. To Command and Collar

Because he wants to find the human traffickers who are leeching on Shadowlands' submissives, Master Raoul makes sure he gest an invite to a minor slave auction. Once he gets the information he needs, the FBI tells him to reject the choices as they are so limited, so he will get invited to a larger auction. But to his disbelief, one of the slaves being traded is the kidnapped friend of a Shadowlands sub he knows. Her body may be scarred but her spirit is unbroken... He can't leave her there... Ruining the FBI's carefully laid plans, he buys her.

#48. Mile High Up

“This book is everything you loved about Fifty Shades and even more” -Ana’s Attic

James and Bianca’s tumultuous story continues in the sequel to In Flight. James has initiated Bianca into a dark and drugging world of passion and pain. He taught her about her own submissive, masochistic nature, and she fell swiftly and deeply in love with the undeniably charming and impossibly beautiful Mr. Cavendish, but a painful misunderstanding and the return of the brutally violent demons of her past have combined to overwhelm Bianca, and, confused and hurt, she pushes him away

#49. Fify Shades Darker

At first I figured including the sequels to Fifty Shades of Grey into a Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey would be a little too easy but then while doing the list I realized it just couldn't be left out. If you haven't got the sequels to the sensation of 2012 then you need to get it, now!

#50. Fifty Shades Freed

The last book in the trilogy of Fifty Shades of Grey. A great nr.50 for this book list. If you worked your way through it and end with this book, it will be perfect. If you are a huge fan of the sensational erotic book Fifty Shades, the sequels are must reads. Don't skip them.

What is your favorite Book Like Fifty Shades of Grey?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.