ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Looking for Home, Adventures on the Road by Peggy Cole, a Book Review

Updated on June 19, 2018
Source

Looking For Home, is fiction, the readers will soon find themselves outdoors, in the country, where friendship and loyalty are valued as much as clean water, fresh air and a meal. Here in these pages you will follow along with a pack of street dogs that have forged an alliance, using only their wits and senses to survive. On the streets, they meet with human cruelty, neglect and indifference; they are faced with hunger and cold, yet they also encounter moments of gentleness and kindness from humans who are also on the run, living their own adventures on the road.

Travel along with Cookie and Nicole, who as the runts of their litter, were not adopted from their box and taken to a loving home. They were driven into the woods and dumped. Once they clawed themselves from the box, Cookie became the hunter, sniffing out food in many forms as she protected Nicole from their new found hard truths about life. Cookie and Nicole soon encounter Rover a tough Doberman, lean and scared, a chaser of rabbits, and wise to the ways of the woods where he lives; Buddy, whose curiosity separated him from his master now travels with Rover in search of food and shelter. He desperately tries to remember his way home.

Meet Connie, a young lady, strong and self reliant, a trainer of champion dogs and her own show champion, a Chow named Queenie and her two pups. Her worst fears are realized when her new husband’s true feelings are revealed. He was able to hide his cruel intentions for only so long and once seen, she was smart enough to run. Jeb, the husband, saw people as easy prey and with practiced deception he took what others had worked so hard to earn. The slogan, ‘people were made for him to step on’, guided Jeb’s attitude. Jeb’s sense of superiority is bruised with Connie’s departure. He is driven to outrage to seek retribution for ‘her’ crimes against him. He contrives a revenge that serves his evil design. He sets his plan in motion; it is eerie as an alligator stalking a fawn.

You will be introduced to Rusty, a seemingly aimless man. Rusty found himself alone on the road early in life, and was aware of the ropes. He is a man with a gentle nature, not always clean in appearance who rides the rails in pursuit of work. What people did not know about Rusty is that he had a plan. He thought it through, set a goal for himself, and was close to reaching that goal. This man, by all appearances is homeless, a wanderer, yet he pursues day labor and gives an honest days work for his pay.

The sweet scent of romance lingers over this tale. Looking For Home, is not a mystery, yet, there is a mystery intertwined in the story. Walk down each lane, path, metal track and twisted trail that leads these characters on a course destined to stay in your memories. Share a meal, in a clearing in the woods, along a stream that provides fish for a dinner under the stars. Burn rubber down a city street in a getaway car. Hop a freight in search of a payday.

Here you will encounter grifters and drifters, lovers and haters, those that are enterprising and those that are schemers. Dark clouds are gathering, the wind is blowing. The characters are on a collision course with havoc bearing down on them. Winds are stirring, that will push these drifters together.

Flip up your collar, brace for the storm, then help sift through the debris that pushed this cast of characters together. Join Rover and Buddy, Cookie and Nicole, Connie and Queenie, Rusty and Jeb as their dreams of home, cross and crash on this loom, as the threads of their lives are pulled closer and closer forming this tapestry of life on the road.

Author Peggy Cole, and her husband decided years ago that city living or suburban living did not suit their free spirits. They moved far enough outside city limits, to give them the feeling of freedom and country living, but still in reach of city conveniences. Their front porch attracted many a stray dog, looking for a bite to eat. With that background you can see how the author’s caring heart and resourceful imagination, produced a story certain to penetrate your inner self.


Cookie Doe

Source

Looking for Home, Adventures on the Road is Peggy Cole’s second novel. Her debut mystery The Pub, published in 2012 has Florida for a setting. Dick owns The Pub, a Florida seaside restaurant and nightclub with Ervin, his not so silent partner from Chicago. Things move fast when Bob manages the place, but they get bumpy when arguments erupt over cash flow problems. He hires Joe Mitchell, a perky young bank teller whose boring job at the male-run bank with a no room for advancement policy for the women has her thinking about a new job. She accepts the job as bookkeeper for The Pub where storm clouds start to gather quickly. When Bob disappears with a substantial amount of cash, the owners swoop in and the heat is on.

Elton John - Can You Feel The Love Tonight

© 2018 mckbirdbks

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      8 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hi Peg - Thanks. I was confused by the HP emails regarding this hub as they come on the heel of your launching of your new The Pub, Aftermath that I am following with such interest.

      It is always a pleasure to review your work. Your work makes it easy to give a positive review.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 

      8 months ago from Northeast of Dallas, Texas

      Hello Mike, I saw yesterday that a description should contain a two sentence punchline that summarizes the book. I think you captured a fitting one liner with, "Looking For Home, is not a mystery, yet, there is a mystery intertwined in the story." The second part of the punch could be, "Here you will encounter grifters and drifters, lovers and haters, those that are enterprising and those that are schemers." Of course, there are so many other phrases that fit the bill. You are so good at writing book blurbs and book reviews. Thanks again. It always lifts me up to read this one.:)

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 

      15 months ago from Northeast of Dallas, Texas

      Thanks so much, Pamela. I truly hope you will enjoy the book.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Thank you Pamela.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      16 months ago from Sunny Florida

      I thought this was her first book from something I read on Facebook. Regardless, I purchased this book today. As soon as I am through with my current book, I will read Peg's new one. I thought your review was excellent.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Pamela - Thank you for stopping by to read my review of Peg's book. She did a wonderful job on this her second novel. The first is a mystery novel entitled The Pub. I am sure you will enjoy either or both.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      16 months ago from Sunny Florida

      This book sounds so inspired and unique. I would love to read. Congrats on publishing you first book!

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Randi - Our friend Peg did a wonderful job on this piece of writing. I am confident that you will enjoy it.

    • btrbell profile image

      Randi Benlulu 

      16 months ago from Mesa, AZ

      Thank you! Looking forward to reading it!

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Shauna - Thank you. Peg does great work. She puts so much into her writing. She is also very thorough in her efforts at editing and formatting. Thanks for your kind comment. I have the most fun creating book covers for several HP authors.

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 

      16 months ago from Central Florida

      Excellent review, Mike. I look forward to purchasing my copy of Looking for Home. I thoroughly enjoyed Peg's first novel, The Pub.

      I, too, love the cover. You have a talent for designing covers that compel readers to pick up those books and read!

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Genna - Thank you. Peg works so hard on her stories. It is nice when one of us in this neighborhood reaches their goal of publishing. The cover went through some changes, but Peg is happy with the finished product. That is always a plus.

    • Genna East profile image

      Genna East 

      16 months ago from Massachusetts, USA

      What an interesting review, Mike. And congratulations to Peg on her new book! :-) If the cover is any indication, this book is a real charmer with depth and humor. I look forward to reading this.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hi Peg - I went on a hunt for the song selection. I think what I found fits well.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 

      16 months ago from Northeast of Dallas, Texas

      Hello again,

      Audrey, I appreciate your kind words and I love the cover, too!

      Mar, Your copy is on the way and another will get shipped as soon as my supply arrives and I can sign it and get it mailed off. I thank you for the time and effort you put into writing the Foreword. What a great slice of information about homeless dogs and their plight. Thank you!

      Shyron, I'm grateful to you for your encouragement during the Beta chapters and for allowing me to use your quote from the comments. Thank you.

      Thanks again, Mike, for drawing attention to this book. Forgot to mention that I love your song selection, too.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Shy - Peg is a talented storyteller. We are all lucky to have her. The cover went through many changes. For awhile, I thought a big blue moon was the way to go. Then midway we had a title change, so I got to practice my graphic art skills, and learned my organizing skills needed work - as I forgot which font I selected. So, off I went searching through the font files trying to find a match.

      Thanks for the blessings.

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 

      16 months ago from Texas

      Mike, if I were not already sold on this wonderful novel, I would be after reading your wonderful review of Peg's wonderful work of art.

      I also love the dog sitting on the railroad tracks.

      Blessings always

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello mar - Thank you. Peg's story is filled with the twist and turns her characters follow in the journeys. With each episode the reader wants to know more about them. Both man, woman and beast are left out in the cold and the storm is brewing. We are fortunate to have followed along here at HP. Now, hoping others find their way.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Audrey - Thank you. Those that followed along as Peg shared her creative talents with us all spoke highly of the story as it progressed. Anyone that begins this journey will surely continue to the very last page.

    • marcoujor profile image

      Maria Jordan 

      16 months ago from Jeffersonville PA

      Dear Mike,

      If I didn't already love Peg's story, your review would lead me directly to Amazon to purchase this book. I agree that this story belongs on the Hallmark channel.

      I do believe that you are the 'King of Book Covers' - this is the perfect cover, as are the many covers you've designed for me over the years.

      I am looking forward to my autographed copy - as well as purchasing some copies for my animal loving friends.

      Congratulations to you, Peg! Stellar review ... A+++ Hugs, mar

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 

      16 months ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      A marvelous review of Peg Cole's books! I am eager to dig into these treasures. I love the cover for "Looking for Home". Thanks, Mike.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Peg - You are welcome. This book review was written weeks

      ago. Those unexpected delays on my part came as a surprise. Now, all is well and charities that cater to strays will benefit from the sales. I could see the whole thing playing out in my mind. This is going to make a good Hallmark movie.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Bill - As you know it is such a relief when a project is finished. Peg puts hours and hours into the writing, editing and layout. I bet she is ready for a vacation.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Ann - Peg does a wonderful job with her stories. Here she was put together a story that incorporates her love of dogs, with her country roots and added fully developed characters.

      As for the cover, I am the best kept secret in cover graphics. I have done some for Bill as well. Of course, The Carriage Driver covers are my graphics as well.

    • mckbirdbks profile imageAUTHOR

      mckbirdbks 

      16 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Verlie - Thanks for the visit. Peg puts so much effort into her creations. She is such a professional. I hope you enjoy the finished product.

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      16 months ago from SW England

      I didn't realise you'd designed the cover, Mike, though I should've realised, given your past work with Peg. Well done; what a team you make!

      Ann

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 

      16 months ago from Northeast of Dallas, Texas

      Mike, I can't thank you enough for all you did (and do) to help me get through the editing and then the publishing process for this book. Your cover design still amazes me along with this wonderful review of the book. Thank you! Thank you! I'm honored by your words.

      Thanks also to Verlie (who wrote a blurb for the back cover) and to Bill who allowed me to quote one of his comments during the Beta reading phase here on HubPages.

      Ann, I'm so appreciative of your interest for this book. Thank you!

      A portion of the proceeds of sales will go to help animals in need.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      16 months ago from Olympia, WA

      I had the pleasure to read much of this while Peg worked on the chapters, and I can say, without a doubt, that it is a very enjoyable read, one which will keep readers entertained throughout. Nice review, great book!

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      16 months ago from SW England

      Your review is a story in itself, Mike! If you like this book then I'm sure I will too.

      You give insight into the author's character as well as those in the story. As you say, a relevant background gives authenticity to any story.

      Great review, making us want to read it immediately.

      Congratulations to Peg too, for getting to publication.

      Ann

    • snakeslane profile image

      Verlie Burroughs 

      16 months ago from Canada

      Here it is! At last! Wonderful review Mike. Inspiring! Can't wait to get my hands on this book. Congratulations to our own Peg Cole.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)