ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Nora Ephron's I Remember Nothing -- A Book Review

Updated on February 1, 2011
Mighty Mom profile image

Mighty Mom is a keen observer of life. She shares her personal experiences and opinions in helpful and often amusing ways.

Nora Ephron is an author of books, essays and screenplays.She is also a spokesperson for "women of a certain age." Those of us who have lived through college, workplace sexism, first jobs, twelfh jobs, thirteenth, fourteenth and tweny-sixth jobs, marriage, divorce, children and menopause can relate to Ephron's humor.
I'm not saying you have to be a 50+ woman to appreciate her essays (which she calls "reflections"), but it helps.

The "women of a certain age" line I came up with on my own. However, in looking for information on the book, I found the exact same phrase used. This latest book was published in November 2010. I received it from a girlfriend (aka womanfriend) for Christmas. When I opened it I was reminded that a few years back I had purchased Ephron's book I Feel Bad About My Neck. I had intended to give it to another girlfriend/womanfriend for her 50th birthday. But I feared she might take offense. So I guess it's still around here -- someplace!

I looked up that book just now and realize it was published in 2006 -- five whole years ago! My, time flies when you reach that age when you start forgetting things!

A Quick, Easy, Breezy Read

I Remember Nothing is a collections of essays. It's only 132 pages long and the type is big (a thoughtful gesture for the readers set). Some of the essays are only 2 pages long. None more than 20 pages. It's the literary opposite of "dense."  You could pick it up and read all 23 essays in one sitting. But I recommend spreading the experience out over several reading sessions. 

Suggested places to read I Remember Nothing

In the bathtub

On the beach

In a hammock

In bed

On a picnic

On an airplane (but it would have to be a short, domestic flight)

While commuting (if you drive to work, be sure to get the audiobook version)

In the bathroom

Anywhere you feel comfortable with the possibility you may burst out loud laughing! 

Looking very "authorly" and quite young for 70!
Looking very "authorly" and quite young for 70!

Essay Topics Tell It All

The TOC gives you the perfect flavor of this book. There are some truly random topics. Some of the titles lead you to expect one thing but deliver something else (not a bad thing, mind you). There is quite a bit of juicy gossip about people in Hollywood and the New York publishing biz. Actually, Ms. Ephron says some things about some people that I would consider libel. Luckily, most of these people are dead, or she could get herself sued!

Table of Contents

  1. I Remember Nothing
  2. Who Are You?
  3. Journalism: A Love Story
  4. The Legend
  5. My Aruba
  6. My Life as an Heiress
  7. Going to the Movies
  8. Twenty-FiveThings People Have a Shocking Capacity to Be Surprised by Over and Over Again
  9. I Just Want to Say: The Egg-White Omelette
  10. I Just Want to Say: Teflon
  11. I Just Want to Say: No, I Do Not Want Another Bottle of Pellegrino
  12. I Just Want to Say: The World Is Not Flat
  13. I Just Want to Say: Chicken Soup
  14. Pentimento
  15. My Life as a Meat Loaf
  16. Addicted to L-U-V
  17. The Six Stages of E-Mail
  18. Flops
  19. Christmas DInner
  20. The D Word
  21. The O Word
  22. What I Won't Miss
  23. What I Will Miss

Also by Nora Ephron

Even if you don't know you know Nora Ephron, I bet you know her work. In fact, I've seen Ms. Ephron referred to as "the reigning queen of the Chick Flick."

Movies

Julie & Julia = screenplay and directed by NE

When Harry Met Sally = original screenplay

Silkwood = screenplay

Sleepless In Seattle = screenplay

You've Got Mail = directed by Nora, with screenplay by daughter Delia Ephron

Books

I Feel Back About My Neck

Heartburn (also made into a movie)

Crazy Salad

Wallflower at the Orgy

Scribble Scribble

Imaginary Friends

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • JamaGenee profile image

      Joanna McKenna 

      7 years ago from Central Oklahoma

      Have to find this book! I've always loved NE's take on life. btw, the phrase "women of a certain age" has been around "forever", and according to our own Robie2 was originated by the French. ;D

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      No kidding, friend!

      I had the exact same thing happen to me TODAY. I was doing my usual brow tweezing in the car and happened to see the sad state of my complexion and crepey neck. *sigh* aging's a bitch.... but I'm having so much fun and know you are 2!!! MM

    • K9keystrokes profile image

      India Arnold 

      7 years ago from Northern, California

      Being a "woman of a certain age" I found a super deep interest in reading Nora's 'I Remember Nothing.' Then After looking in the mirror this morning, I realized just how much I need to read her other book, 'I Feel Bad About My Neck'...*he-he*

      So glad you reminded me about this awesome author. Nice review MM!

      Bidding you peace.

      K9

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      I hope you enjoy it! Let me know your thoughts when you do! Thanks for stopping by KKG!

      And Peter -- sorry I missed your visit. I highly recommend her to both men and women!

    • KoffeeKlatch Gals profile image

      Susan Hazelton 

      7 years ago from Sunny Florida

      I'm going to have to read this book, it sounds like it's right up my alley.

    • Peter Owen profile image

      Peter Owen 

      7 years ago from West Hempstead, NY

      I wasn't familiar wtih Nora. I'll make a point to read some.

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      Thank you, swb78. Glad you enjoyed it. Cheers!

    • swb78 profile image

      Scott Biddulph 

      7 years ago from Gainesville Georgia

      Very useful Hub!

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      Perhaps you can give the book to your more "mature" (lol) women friends -- they will definitely appreciate it! There are still plenty of life observations accessible to anyone, tho. So I hope you will enjoy. Or, start out with an earlier Nora Ephron book like Heartburn and work your way toward 50, 60,70 as you go!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. MM

    • Dusty Snoke profile image

      Dusty Snoke 

      7 years ago from Chattanooga, TN

      It is still 10 years before I am "a women of a certain age" but I may check it out...so I can be prepared when I hit that age. I have many friends who are of that certain age, maybe they can explain to me the things I will not get being so young and all lol.

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      Hello 50 Caliber! Great to see you! Where you been hiding out? I would definitely recommend this book to you. The key is being in the correct age bracket. Some of her references are to people and events that you really have to be 50+ to remember (or not be able to remember, as the case may be).

      Some of the essays are woman-issues-specific. But many are just her observations on the absurdities of life. "My Aruba" for example, is not an ode to a Caribbean Island. It is about a piece of her hair that sticks out in back like those trees they have in Aruba.

      So yeah, I think you could get a few yucks!

      I suggest you maybe buy it for a female friend or Mrs. Caliber (or both:-)) and then ask to borrow it...

    • 50 Caliber profile image

      50 Caliber 

      7 years ago from Arizona

      Well I read this, even though I had to check to be sure if I was a "chick" but nope I'm not, I liked the review and your writing style it did the author well. Would you expect a guy well over your age limit to process it well? peace 50

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      Pamela and Susie Duzy -- I just love sharing "my" finds (LOL) with others. I feel like we have a little insiders' club going with our fearless leader, Nora Ephron!Thanks for reading and commenting. MM

    • SUSIE DUZY profile image

      SUSIE DUZY 

      7 years ago from Delray Beach, Florida

      Love Nora's book, they hit hope for those of a certain age.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      7 years ago from Sunny Florida

      I saw Nora Ephron on TV and she seemed like such a lively character that she liked her instantly. I appreciate the review for this new book guess I haven't read it. Thanks.

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      The neck thing really is true, tho. Mine has gotten all crepe-y. Plus the double chin. It's just lovely! It's a good thing we have such brains, charm and class to make up for it, eh?

      Thanks for commenting. Somehow, I knew you were one of "us" too! LOL.

    • Jillian Barclay profile image

      Jillian Barclay 

      7 years ago from California, USA

      Neck? What Neck? My falling double chin covers it quite well! Nora's latest book is wonderful! She says what we all think, but could never possibly articulate in such a funny, funny way! Thank you for a great review!

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      Actually, there are some facts (I assume they are facts and she is not making them up) that I learned from this book, along with some other cool stuff like gossip and her wacky observations. So yeah. Check it out! You can learn something and have fun doing so! Cheers, MM

    • Ashantina profile image

      Ashantina 

      7 years ago

      Sounds interesting.. I could always learn something from 'women of a certain age'!!

    • Mighty Mom profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Reid 

      7 years ago from Where Left is Right, CA

      Knowing what I know about you, I would tend to agree. Now I want to go and find the "Neck" book as it got rave reviews. But I have been trying to maintain denial about my own neck:-).

      Hope you enjoy it. Come back and let me know how you liked it, k? MM

    • lmmartin profile image

      lmmartin 

      7 years ago from Alberta and Florida

      Being of a certain age, this is a must read for me. Thanks. Lynda

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)