ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of 'Salem's Lot

Updated on February 10, 2018
satomko profile image

Seth Tomko is a writer, college-level educator, and adventurer.

First Edition Hardcover

Uploaded by Jmj713
Uploaded by Jmj713

Vampire Invasion of Small Town America

Stephen King’s second novel is an exploration of the secrets and decline of the traditional American town as well as a vampire hunting adventure in the tradition of Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

The book presents and sustains two kinds of tension. First there is the story of Ben Mears struggling as a writer and a recent widower, so he returns to his childhood hometown: Jerusalem’s Lot. Secondly the novel works as a traditional horror story as dark forces seep into and destroy the town by exploiting the desires and weaknesses of it citizens.

Evil Moves to Maine

At first Ben comes to ‘Salem’s Lot to recover from the recent death of his wife and work on a novel about the Marsten House—a local manor with a violent past and a place that emotional damaged Ben as a child. He acclimates to the picturesque town by forming relationships with a local girl named Susan and the high-school English teacher, Matt. Life appears to be approaching normal again except two other men—Barlow and Straker—recently arrived in town, established and antique business, and moved into the ominous Marsten House.

After some children go missing, people begin to get ill and die at an alarming rate. After several near-death encounters, Ben and Matt are forced to conclude that vampires have come to ‘Salem’s Lot and are feeding on the populace, turning them into subservient vampires. They mount a clandestine defense but find themselves in over their heads. It is only through luck and determination that several characters manage to survive the vampire invasion, and they return to ‘Salem’s Lot with no choice but to purify it by fire.

I Forgot You Could Tempt Me With Things I Want

Barlow and his ilk are vampires of the traditional horror standard. They have more in common with the bloodthirsty revenants of Easter European folklore than they do with stylish Hollywood vampires seen in countless Dracula movies or the moody, glittering vampires in many contemporary novels. The vampires in ‘Salem’s Lot are nearly feral beasts compelled to feed by insatiable hunger and the willful commands of the ancient vampire, Kurt Barlow.

King also maintains a lot of the lore concerning the undead such as their need to be invited into buildings, their fear of sacred objects, and their powers of suggestion. It is this latter ability that works wonders in the novel as it allows the vampires to play upon the cravings and wants of the town’s inhabitants to make them offer themselves up as food or willing minions. The misshapen Dud, for instance, joins with Barlow when promised the local beauty queen, and Corey Bryant is seduced in vampirism to get revenge. The vampires come across as entirely predatory first by singling out and feeding on the weakest members of the town, and then by using the fears and desires of other theoretically stronger people to manipulate or coerce them into service.

Rural Maine Life

What has allowed the novel to age so well is King’s use of the horror story as an overlay of criticism about towns like ‘Salem’s Lot. That the town is literally bled dry is clearly a metaphor of what really happened to many factory and agriculture-based small towns as those occupations were out-sourced over the decades. Richard Russo and other authors write about this same idea minus the vampires. That ‘Salem’s Lot so quickly and quietly dies out and becomes a haven for the undead, however, is an indictment against the sentimentality that often surrounds the picture perfect idea of small-town America as though nothing scary or evil could take place there.

Though the novel starts slow and lacks the polish of some of King’s later novels, ‘Salem’s Lot makes for a terrifying read whose deeper meanings remain viable concerns and criticisms. While some historical anachronisms like a party line for a telephone service will date the story, the terror and concerns about the frailty of life in small town America remain as strong as ever.

Source

King, Stephen. ‘Salem’s Lot. New York: Pocket Books, 1975.

© 2010 Seth Tomko

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      5 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thanks again, John Sarkis. The various TV and film adaptations haven't been too bad, though I won't say the same for the sequels they spawned. If you enjoyed the 'Salem's Lot movie or miniseries, then I'd certainly recommend giving the book a read.

    • John Sarkis profile image

      John Sarkis 

      5 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      Hi satomko, another well written hub!

      I really enjoyed the movie as well. It was one of the better "made for TV" movies in my personal opinion. ...scary when the vampire (master) crawls up from underneath the kitchen floor...

      Voted up

      John

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      7 years ago from Macon, GA

      That doesn't sound like a bad cross-over at all, ruffridyer. I'm certainly no expert on King's novels, but so far I have enjoyed 'Salem's Lot the most.

    • profile image

      ruffridyer 

      7 years ago from Dayton, ohio

      I liked salems lot more than most of his books. In fact the last King book I read was Misery. I gave up on his books then because they usally disappointed me.

      I think a good sequel would have the boy from salem's lot meet the girl from firestarter. They could team up and go back to the lot to destroy the vampires still hunting there with her fire skills. The men following her could get involved and when one is killed his partner could bury the body near the pet semetary!

      I don't know where I come up with this stuff.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Great minds think alike, AJHargrove. Thank you for stopping by.

    • AJHargrove profile image

      AJHargrove 

      8 years ago from USA

      I have to say I agree with the above comments. Dracula is still my favorite vampire novel out there, but Stephen King does an excellent job. (But I will admit this book took me some time to get through.)

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thanks E. Nicholson. I, too, feel let down by a lot of vampire stories.

    • E. Nicolson profile image

      E. Nicolson 

      8 years ago

      Good review. Has been years since I first read it, and is the only vampire story, other than Stoker's original, that I'll read.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thank you SmieyC and wrypatch. I'm glad I did the novel justice.

    • wrypatch profile image

      wrypatch 

      8 years ago from Virginia

      Nice review. I also liked the off-shoot short stories he wrote taking place in 'Salem's Lot, such as "One for the Road," which was especially chilling (no pun intended, since it took place in a snowstorm).

    • SimeyC profile image

      Simon Cook 

      8 years ago from NJ, USA

      Very good review on an interesting book - it's interesting to see a good old classic rather than some of this 'trash' teenage vampire crap that is hitting our shelves now. I agree that King does stick to the old folk-lore very well in this book - King has a great way of telling a story and making you believe it!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)