ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Poetry Review of 'Tales My Father Told' by C.elizabeth Elias, Aka Dzymslizzy: A Compilation Based on True Stories

Updated on June 17, 2018
annart profile image

I love to read & am enthusiastic about recommending any book I consider a great read. Fiction or non-fiction, it must be well written.

Source

The Author

Liz Elias or DzyMsLizzy at http:/DzyMsLizzy.hubpages.com, is an accomplished writer of fiction, both prose and poetry, as well as many articles on HubPages and beyond.

Liz set her fellow hubbers a writing challenge, part of the prize for the winner being a copy of this poetry compilation. As this was originally her own desk-top publication for distribution to family and friends, who of course would have known her father, I feel honoured to own a copy and thus to have been allowed a peek into that wonderful family.

It may be that an e-book will be in the offing but at the moment this gem remains Liz’s personal project. I would like to give a flavour of her poetry and champion what is to me the important message that lies within.

The Title

Before I started reading, the title alone conjured up a scene of cosiness, a child on father’s knee or the family gathered around the fire of an evening. It portrays a father who loved his family, loved passing on true stories of his own childhood and young adulthood.

It also hints at a history handed down and in the making.

The book is in fact a tribute to a much-loved father and his real-life stories, narrated here through a daughter’s poetry. It is also a wonderful heritage and a gem to share.


Background

The poems are prefaced by the author explaining why her father’s tales are recorded as poetry. A creative writing class prompted one story she recalled to transfer itself to the page as a poem and then ‘The Dam was broken; the nickel had dropped!’ The result was this compilation, amongst others.


Tribute to a Father's Storytelling

Source

The Compilation

The family’s movement from New Hampshire to California is traced, in four sections, through the eyes of Dolard George Plamondon (an intriguing name in itself) who was the son of a carpenter and himself a machinist, as well as, it seems, a master teller of tales.

Liz Elias evokes a gentle humour, a keen observation of life and a fondness for people and animals.


A Tapestry of Tales

The tales zig-zag from a sister who “never liked to wear shoes; took them off at every chance” and found her own solution in ‘One Fine Day’, to ‘Learning to Ride a Bike’, “‘Riding’ my dad’s bicycle with legs too short”, using oodles of innovative phraseology to make us grin or gasp.

From ‘Upper Berth’ (On the Train) comes the situation of “Little brother... doesn’t know the porter has a ladder” and had difficulty climbing down when nature called, without disturbing the occupant of the lower bunk.

Then to animals, ‘Man’s Best Friend’ and ‘13-Dog Squabble’ present a vivid portrayal of that animal’s idiosyncrasies.

Bonnie Boo Fst Red Leather Girls' Shoes - I kept mine by my bed for a week!
Bonnie Boo Fst Red Leather Girls' Shoes - I kept mine by my bed for a week!
Only 9 lives?!
Only 9 lives?! | Source
Another very fine dog
Another very fine dog | Source

More Examples

There is a cat who stalks his prey and gets a surprise; we hope, though we know not, that a few of his nine lives still stand. Another favourite of mine involves a stolen snowball and there is a cautionary tale about bees. The collection ends with two very fine poems about ‘A Very Fine Dog’.

We come across family members playing out mischievous yet mostly innocent lives. The tales have a charm that makes you smile and leaves you with a warm glow as you absorb this picture of a loving family through the eyes of an intelligent man.


Style & Voice

These poems are written in a style eminently suited to the subject. The words trip off the tongue as a well-told tale should. It has a jaunty air, a gentle tone and a humorous lilt. There’s only one way to find out if you agree; read it for yourselves! You’ll be glad you did. Even if you have to wait awhile for the e-book, the suspense will add to your appreciation.

In the meantime, why not visit Liz’s page at http:/DzyMsLizzy.hubpages.com and read some of her work. Apart from more wonderful poetry, she writes about family (including pets), humour, travel and topical issues. If you want to know more about the author herself, read http://dzymslizzy.hubpages.com/hub/Meet-DzyMsLizzy-A-Self-Interview


Our Own Family Heritage

Children ask questions; these are the answers to "What happened when you were young Daddy?" "Who is in this picture?" "Where did you get this?"

Try to find your own answers. Encourage the children in your family to ask the questions with you or, of course, to ask you about your own childhood and life up to the present.

We should all ask questions, remember stories, hand them down for others’ information and delight. Answers such as these are there for the taking in every family around the world. Make your list of questions and off you go!


Where? Who? What? Why? How? When?

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Why is Great-Grandma wearing a uniform?Where is this and who are they?Is that you, Grandma?  So who's the baby?
Why is Great-Grandma wearing a uniform?
Why is Great-Grandma wearing a uniform? | Source
Where is this and who are they?
Where is this and who are they? | Source
Is that you, Grandma?  So who's the baby?
Is that you, Grandma? So who's the baby? | Source

Do you know about your family's history?

What do you know?

See results

© 2015 Ann Carr

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, Flourish. It's good to have things in common. I love her writing and as she was kind enough to send me the compilation, it was the least I could do. Good to see you.

      Ann

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      3 years ago from USA

      What a beautifully done book review. I have followed Liz for several years, as we are both dedicated cat ladies.

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thank you, manatita. Yes, a loving family is everything; the more I know about my ancestors, the more I feel I know about me too!

      Ann

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      3 years ago from london

      Excellent review. Seems a very interesting tale. There really is not much to compare with a loving family. They're God's very own. Much Love this Sunday.

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Gypsy Rose Lee: thanks for reading and for your kind comments.

      Ann

    • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

      Gypsy Rose Lee 

      3 years ago from Riga, Latvia

      Great review and brings interest in reading the book. Family histories can be fascinating.

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, Theresa, and thanks for the share. I'm glad you're going to have a look at Liz's page; she writes such a gamut of hubs and all are entertaining or thought-provoking in one way or another. I like to support the writers here as much as possible.

      Lovely to see you today. I hope your weekend is going well.

      Hugs.

      Ann

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Hi Ruby! Thanks for the comment; glad you like this.

      You might find that you need to pull out the hub to full screen; the share button should then appear on the left below all the other symbols (facebook, twitter etc.)

      Much appreciate you continued support. Hope the weekend's going well.

      Ann

    • Faith Reaper profile image

      Faith Reaper 

      3 years ago from southern USA

      Ann, what a fantastic book review of one of our very own! Family history is so important and such a gift for future generations to have the stories that were told to be passed down. What a legacy and treasure. I have always seen Liz's comments on others' hubs and now I am curious to go to her page.

      Sharing

      Thank you for this fine review.

      Blessings

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      3 years ago from Southern Illinois

      I loved this! Liz is a new friend of mine and I've enjoyed her family stories which were full of fun and practical jokes. I wish I could share this but there's no share button on my new laptop. I wonder why?

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Yes, you're right of course, Liz. We have a mixture of French, Latin, Anglo-Saxon, Gaelic, all rolled into one which makes it fascinating in itself. I love looking at the differences and picking them apart like a puzzle, but then that was my job!

      As those who left these shores for America wanted change, then I don't blame them for changing the language as well! Of course it wasn't as immediate as that but you get my drift!

      Hope you have a great weekend, Liz!

      Ann

    • DzyMsLizzy profile image

      Liz Elias 

      3 years ago from Oakley, CA

      Ah, Ann--

      I was just thinking; if you consider the French pronunciations of the words in your examples, I believe you'll have your answer. English in the UK apparently borrowed (kept) more from the French, and the American English is a step removed. ;-)

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      You're welcome, Liz. Glad it passed muster!

      The spelling is immaterial; in fact, US spelling is much more phonetically sound (if you'll pardon the pun). My dyslexic students often asked why they couldn't 'spell it like it is', though they would've still made mistakes, bless them. Theatre/theater, centre/center....

      Anyway, hope you get some good traffic from this.

      Ann :)

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, John. The compilation is in such a 'gentle' vein and is worthy of comment. I hope she likes it. My aim was to whet people's appetite as well as to send others over to her site.

      Ann

    • DzyMsLizzy profile image

      Liz Elias 

      3 years ago from Oakley, CA

      Thank you so very much, Ann. I am indeed honored. (Or should I have said "honoured?" ;-) )

      Your kind words are much appreciated. An official review; something for my book of "firsts."

      **blushes and bows low.**

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      3 years ago from Queensland Australia

      Ann, well done with this wonderful review of Lizzy's book of poetry. I am sure she will be very happy.

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, Mike. I had to say something about the prize I won as I liked the poems so much. I do like to tempt readers with the as yet unattainable!

      Glad you had an enjoyable read.

      Ann

    • mckbirdbks profile image

      mckbirdbks 

      3 years ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      A pre-publication review - now that is how to build anticipation. I do think more people should record their family histories and if that takes on a poetic form then so-be-it. What a refreshing read this morning.

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, whonu. Glad you found it interesting.

      Ann

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, Glenis. Family history is so fascinating, isn't it? My sister and I (mostly my sister) are working on our paternal grandfather's contribution to WWII, as a Home Guard interrogator. He spoke fluent German and we have something of a mystery on our hands!

      I find that family photos help enormously though I have questions that sadly will never have definite answers.

      Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment.

      Ann

    • whonunuwho profile image

      whonunuwho 

      3 years ago from United States

      Interresting reading my friend and will give it a try. whonu

    • Glenis Rix profile image

      GlenR 

      3 years ago from UK

      I will certainly visit her page, Ann, as I am fascinated by family history and also dabble in poetry. I have traced my family history back to around 1730 with the aid of census records and Ancestry.com. Currently I am occupied tracing my father's movements during WW2.

    • annart profile imageAUTHOR

      Ann Carr 

      3 years ago from SW England

      Thanks, Frank. That's exactly what I wanted so I'm grateful for your feedback. Have a great weekend!

      Ann

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      3 years ago from Shelton

      you most certainly give this book justice annart.. your review captures the credence and makes me now want to visit her page..

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)