ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of The Big Sleep

Updated on March 24, 2018
satomko profile image

Seth Tomko is a writer, college-level educator, and adventurer.

First edition cover
First edition cover

Raymond Chandler Introduces Philip Marlowe

Hired to end a blackmailing scheme, Marlowe is drawn into a world of pornographers, gamblers, and killers-for-hire in Depression Era Los Angeles.

General Sternwood’s problems revolve around his two young, wild daughters. Vivian’s ex-bootlegger husband has disappeared—presumably with another man’s wife—and Carmen’s thrill-seeking has gotten her tangled up with pornographers and blackmailers. Marlowe takes the case to help out the old general, but finds himself in over his head as bodies start piling up and the general’s daughters cause more trouble than he can deal with at any one time.

Literary Detective

One of the most interesting aspects of the novel is the multiple mysteries. There is the surface scenario of Marlowe trying to put an end to Carmen being blackmailed. While this would be enough for any good detective yarn, there is also the unsolved case of Vivian’s missing husband. Though he is never asked to look into it, most people assume this is the real case Marlowe is investigating and treat him differently because of it, including other criminals and the police. In time Marlowe gets caught up in this case too, though it appears to be barely related to the original case involving the blackmailer.

Beyond the plot mysteries is the mystery of Marlowe. Though he is the protagonist and the narrator, his motives and personality remain obscure to the reader and only become clearer over time and often in subtle ways. For instance, when examining a chess puzzle he takes back a move from a knight and thinks “Knights had no meaning in this game” (156). The comment carries through the whole novel as Marlowe acts with surprising decency and tact when the world around him is full of gangsters, ingrates, and conscienceless killers. Marlowe and a few other characters are trying to have dignity in a world that often appears amoral if not one that rewards wickedness.

Los Angeles City Hall,1931
Los Angeles City Hall,1931

Chandler’s Legacy

On the weak side, the text has several instances of stumbling prose or repetitions of words close together that cannot be dismissed as the narrative voice or as a part of the author’s style. Likewise, since Marlowe and his thoughts are closely guarded even from the reader the text is occasionally required to explain certain events in long expositional dialogues.

Despite these few minor faults Chandler creates an evocative setting of Los Angeles in the early Twentieth Century and its unseemly world of fast money, an obsession with controlling publicity, disillusion and nihilistic youths, and other dark aspects of the American Dream. Marlowe becomes such an interesting character this setting because of his incongruity with it.

Chandler’s iconic characters, his style—terse yet rich in metaphors—and his ear for plausible jargon that fleshes out the characters and their setting have attracted enough admirers to make him a touchstone for other authors writing literary stories involving detectives. Elements Chandler pioneered can be seen in James Crumley’s fiction like The Wrong Case, Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policeman’s Union, and even in The Big Lebowski by Joel and Ethan Cohen.

Marlowe is on the Case

The Big Sleep is an excellent read for both fans of detective stories, newcomers to the genre, or anyone curious about the origins of contemporary mystery novels. Chandler keeps everything fresh and on the move with generally good pacing. This novel marks an excellent start for the careers of Raymond Chandler and Philip Marlowe.

Source

Chandler, Raymond. The Big Sleep. New York: Vintage Crime / Black Lizard, 1992.

© 2010 Seth Tomko

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      7 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thanks for reading, huntgoddess. Chandler had a rocky relationship with movie adaptations of his books, but I tend to agree with you. Let me know when you get around to reading the novels.

    • Huntgoddess profile image

      Huntgoddess 

      7 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      Hey, very nice review. Thanks.

      I never understood the movie, but who doesn't love Bogey anyway?

      This is very nice, and it's making me realize I need to get cracking on these books. Thanks for the great info.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      James, your comments are always appreciated. Thank you for reading my hubs, and I hope you continue with your own excellent work.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thank you, billyaustindillon. This was the first of Chandler's novels that I read, and it got me hooked.

    • James A Watkins profile image

      James A Watkins 

      8 years ago from Chicago

      I have not read this book, though I did see the film. I enjoyed your cogent, concise review. Thank you for this pleasure.

    • billyaustindillon profile image

      billyaustindillon 

      8 years ago

      I have read a few of Chandlers books - brilliant mysteries. Great review here I will seek this one out.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      I completely agree, valbond. Thanks for stopping by and adding your insights.

    • valbond profile image

      valbond 

      8 years ago from UK

      Good review. I like the Marlowe black and white films, and you have to thank Chandler for the original books and in effect contributing to the film noir movement.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thanks for stopping by, Shinkicker.

    • Shinkicker profile image

      Shinkicker 

      8 years ago from Scotland

      Nice Hub satomko

      I loved the old movie but I guess you can't beat a read of the book.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thanks, tracykarl99. I don't know how the movie compares to the book, but Chandler's novel is a good read.

    • tracykarl99 profile image

      Tracy 

      8 years ago from San Francisco

      Thanks for this astute review. Was never completely sure of what was really going on in the movie. Have never read the book ~ now I think I will.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      You're right on the money, valeriebelew. I highly recommend this novel, especially to anyone interested hard-boiled detective fiction.

    • valeriebelew profile image

      valeriebelew 

      8 years ago from Metro Atlanta, GA, USA

      Sounds like an interesting book. Working these daughter's behaviors into the plot would be interesting. Sounds like a book that would hold your interest. (: v

    • dahoglund profile image

      Don A. Hoglund 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      I appreciate that.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thanks dahoglund. I puts some links up to some of your related hubs, too.

    • dahoglund profile image

      Don A. Hoglund 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      It's been awhile since I read this particular novel. It's a good refresher for me. Good analysis.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)