ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of The Dwarf

Updated on February 12, 2019
satomko profile image

Seth Tomko is a writer, college-level educator, and adventurer.

Par Lagerqvist
Par Lagerqvist

Set in an unnamed Italian principality during the Renaissance, Par Lagerkvist examines the evil crouched in everyone through a narrative related by a dwarf who attends to an unscrupulous prince.

“In What way is He Misshapen, I Wonder?”

The dwarf explains the dark and unseemly personal and political dealings of the court, giving his impression of all that surrounds him. When the opportunity presents itself, the dwarf escapes his tedious life by accompanying the Prince into war against his neighbors. Conflict and battle thrill him, and he sees it as the natural state of humankind. Understandably, he is upset when the war cannot continue, and the Prince proposes a peace-summit. The prospect of the boredom of peace drives the dwarf to despair, but he is rescued when the Prince confides in him a terrible plan.

The feast at the peace-summit is a grand occasion full of formal decrees, displays of brotherhood, and even a play endorsing universal peace. Following the Prince’s instructions, the dwarf proceeds to poison the wine all of the Prince’s enemies, which leads to mass confusion, terror, and carnage. Some of the betrayed guests escape, however, and war is brought to the Prince. The city falls under siege; famine and plague begin to ravage the court. The dwarf delights in the increasing chaos until the Prince turns him into a scapegoat for all the tragedy that has befallen them. In the final scenes the dwarf narrates from his dungeon cell, explaining how he knows that one day his viciousness and misanthropy will be needed again, and he will be unchained.

“I Delight in Nothing”

The dwarf does not think of himself as human and has trouble connecting to them and their concerns, which he sees as tawdry and petty. Only the Prince interests the dwarf because he too seems above the mundane concerns of humans. Everywhere the dwarf looks he sees corruption, but what bothers him is the lies and half-truths people uses to cover up what he sees as their true nature. The dwarf says, “Human beings like to see themselves reflected in clouded mirrors” (225). Ideas of love and peace seem foreign and offensive to him because they repress the violence and unwholesomeness that is the true root of human behavior.

A prominent extended metaphor is the dwarf’s deformed physical appearance. On an obvious level it is a reflection of his malicious personality. Unlike the other characters who hide their twisted designs behind facades of nobility, valor, philosophy, or artistry, the dwarf cannot hide and sees no reason why anyone else should either.

On a deeper level, the dwarf represents the essential human capacity for and delight in turbulence and destruction (an interesting development since the dwarf doesn’t see himself as human). Wherever he is active the dwarf brings chaos and mutilation for its own sake. For instance he convinces the Princess that her lust is wicked beyond redemption and drives her into self-induced privation and seclusion since she fears God will not forgive her. That he is imprisoned is also telling. He explains that he is as essential to the city as the Prince when he writes, “I still belong to the castle just as much as before! To prove it they have even welded me to it! We are forged together” (217). The dwarf will forever be a part of the life of the castle and the city in the same way that he sees the vileness that is always present in human life even if people try to bury it in their dungeons of their psyche. The first person point of view reinforces this theme since it makes the reader complicit in the dwarf’s crimes.

“Only I Despise This Pretending”

The Dwarf is an excellent novel in a dark, existentialist manner. In tone and its terse style the book can favorably be linked with work works by Albert Camus, especially the last third which has a lot in common with The Plague but is even more grim. It is works like The Dwarf which earned Lagerkvist his Nobel Prize in Literature in 1951, and this novel endures if for no other reason than it examines the idea of human evil.

Source

Lagerkvist, Par. The Dwarf. Trans. Dick, Alexandra. New York: Noonday Press, 1988.

© 2010 Seth Tomko

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      9 years ago from Macon, GA

      No problem, Kaie. The book isn't especially long, and if you have a good translation it goes much faster than you would expect. Let me know if you get around to reading it.

    • Kaie Arwen profile image

      Kaie Arwen 

      9 years ago

      I may have to look this one up! Thanks ~ Kaie

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      9 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thank you both Dixon Steele and Jane Bovary. I appreciate that you enjoyed my hub, and I encourage you to continue reading and doing your own excellent work, too.

    • Jane Bovary profile image

      Jane Bovary 

      9 years ago from The Fatal Shore

      Hello,

      I agree...it does sound fascinating, not least because your review was so well written satomko.

    • Dixon Steele profile image

      Dixon Steele 

      9 years ago

      I'd actually not been unaware of this novel. Sounds pretty fascinating. Cheers.

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      9 years ago from Macon, GA

      Thanks TINA V. It is a fairly quick read, too, so I recommend it for anyone who is thinking about reading the work of a Nobel Prize winning author.

    • TINA V profile image

      TINA V 

      9 years ago

      This is quite an interesting novel. Great review!

    • satomko profile imageAUTHOR

      Seth Tomko 

      9 years ago from Macon, GA

      Gunnar Gallmo, you are completely correct, and I hope I didn't upset anyone. For some reason my computer won't correctly reproduce that character when moving the text from my word processor to a hubpages posting. Thank you for bringing up this detail.

    • profile image

      Gunnar Gällmo 

      9 years ago

      Just one diakritic detail: "Par" should be "Pär". (One of my favorite Swedish writers, so I can't help noticing; besides, I have the same bloody letter in my own family name.)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)