ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Reviewing the Book "Twenty Essential Supplements for Super Health"

Updated on January 24, 2015

Which supplements can make a real difference?

Source

Prevent disease and improve health....

This 222 page book, the size of your monthly copy of Reader's Digest, is jam packed with the 20 supplements the editors of Woodland Pulbishing believe can "prevent disease and better [our] overall health."

For just over ten dollars, about the cost of one small bottle of vitamins, this guide to the 20 supplements it discusses is a real buy.

Beginning with such interesting questions as what sugars can stimulate your immune system, fight cancer, and reduce heart disease, the editors go on to write about omega-3 fats that "can protect [our] heart, fight arthritis, and improve [our] brain function."

The rest of the featured 20 supplements include insights on the value of vitamins, minerals, herbs, probiotics, fiber, green tea, Coenzyme Q10, soy, garlic, olive leaf, saw palmetto, grape seed extract, and other essential supplements, some familiar and some not so well known.

The editors section on Vitamin D emphasizes its values related to osteoporosis, colorectal cancer and breast cancer, while more recent studies of this vitamin have shown its importance to many more health and cognitive concerns, as well as information that shows the body's levels of Vitamin D are widely shown to be too low in too many Americans, both men and women.

Knowing what levels of these featured supplements are recommended and why they are important is education well worth the cost of picking up your family's copy of this edited work. Not only will this book add value to your library, but it is ideal for taking along as a valuable time filler for those inevitable times we get stuck waiting for something to happen before we can move on to living the healthy lives we all intend to have....aided by some good knowledge to help it happen.

Can "one size fits all" apply to supplements?

Source

____________

© 2015 Demas W. Jasper All rights reserved.

NOTE:

Check your local health store for a copy of this book. As this Hub was published, the book was not available on ebay or Amazon.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 2 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      aviannovice - Nobody said that Capitalism is without its faults, and lord knows it has many, some of the worst of which we are living through while trying to hang onto what democracy we have in this Republic of ours. In many respects moneyed people have seldom shouted more softly than the rest of the American people.

      With the elimination of Civics as a standard class in school, the general public's awareness of what the Constitution should be empowering them to do is missing its vigor in the public discourse.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Our bodies really don't get what they need, especially when the government is now allowing big business the chance to hide GMOs. Our FDA has really gone down the hooper over the years with growth hormones, and other additives that are questionable.

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 2 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      MsDora - Woodland Publishing regularly publishes health literature, and their editors are the folks who compiled the book that was first published in 2003. It appears the book may be out of print. I have four copies in our store and I will check with them on Monday to see whether or not it has been updated and its availability.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Isaac Weithers 2 years ago from The Caribbean

      With this information changing so often, I am interested in the publication date of the book, and the qualifications of the author. Otherwise, a good review. Thank you.

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 2 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      Deficiency in any vitamin, and vitamins are defined as substances essential to your health, is cause for concern. This book's editors, as stated, present materials they say can ""prevent disease and better [our] overall health." I believe that is an accurate statement. Amother supplement can help you sleep more restfully , Melatonin, which was not included in the book, and which some people cannot produce naturally. Enzymes can help to break down foods for better assimilation and are essential to over 40 processes in the body, etc.

      Supplements have a role to play in good health when the diet is lacking, or the body has special needs.

    • peachpurple profile image

      peachy 2 years ago from Home Sweet Home

      do you think that supplement pills could prevent diseases

    • Perspycacious profile image
      Author

      Demas W Jasper 2 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      vocalcoach - How did you happen to live in Idylwild? I know you are not idle, and can only presume you are not wild!

      That recent research of Vitamin D, in particular D3, is going on as we write, and it is turning up more and more about the body's needs for this particular vitamin. I'm glad it is helping you and others.

      It's winter in most of America now, and we are getting outdoors less often, covered up, and our aging population has deceasing ability to synthesize the limited sunshine exposure to make our own Vitamin D. While it is added to some basic products, what a normal person gets from those is just enough to prevent Rickets, and not enough to do all the things Vitamin D is now known to be needed for.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 2 years ago from Nashville Tn.

      Thank you for this excellent book review. I'm a believer in supplements. I take them regularly and have seen an improvement in my energy. It's not always possible to supply the body with everything it needs to function at its best. I suffered the effects of low vitamin D for a long time before I was put on supplements.

      Voted up and will share.