ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Some Great Books Like Divergent

Updated on June 12, 2013

The Books Like Divergent

Source
Source
Source

Dystopia, Dystopia, Dystopia...

Did you love Divergent by Veronica Roth? But now you are finished with the trilogy and you cannot wait to read something else? Are you seeking another dystopian society which you can sink your teeth into? It isn't easy to find new books or find books that give you the same feeling as the last book you read, but you don't want the same feeling as you had before. You want a similar feeling. You want to grow from the books you read and experience new things. I hope this list makes that happen for you.

Dystopian society is a huge genre right now; a lot has been written in the last ten years or so with these sorts of plots. Book lovers will definitely find something else to their liking in the list of books like Divergent below.

Dream Caster by Najeev Raj Nadarajah

This is a fantasy set in post apocalyptic world. Dream Caster is full of new concepts and is very unique in many ways. The story is entertaining and interesting. It begins with the main character, Weaver in his first day preparing as night guard, a position he has worked very hard to attain. On the very same day he finds a survivor. But weaver's dream is cut short as his settlement is attacked and he flees with the partner he found the previous day. The two find a new home and along the way Weaver develop unique powers. He meets new enemies and friends in his new home .When the new home is attacked Weaver uses his powers and sharp wit to save it. In the book Weaver is very smart and relies more on his wits than his super powers and this is what makes him very interesting.

Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld

This is also one of the books like Divergent. Tally the protagonist lives in a world where your 16th birthday brings aesthetic perfection: a procedure which erases all the flaws and transforms you from an 'Ugly' into a 'Pretty'. Tally is on the eve of this significant event, and can't wait for her life to change. As well as offering great looks, life as a Pretty revolves around having a great time. But then Tally meets Shay, who is also 15, but with a very different point of view on life. Shay is not sure if she wants to be Pretty and plans an escape to a community living in the forest; the Rusty Ruins where the Uglies normally go to escape the 'turning'. Tally is not convinced to join her, as this would involve sacrificing everything which she has ever sought after for a lot of uncertainty. However, when Tally is taken in for questioning on her birthday, she gets sent to the Ruins anyway which is against her will. The authorities offer her the worst choice she could ever imagine: to find Shay and turn her in, or will never turn Pretty at all. Tally discovers in the Ruins that there is nothing 'pretty' about those transformations and the choice she makes changes her world forever.

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

Another book like Divergent is Ashes. A 17 year old Alex is in the wilderness when it happens: an earth-shaking electro-magnetic pulse destroys nearly everything. Those who survive are divided between those who have acquired a taste for human flesh and those who have developed a superhuman sense. The flesh-hunters stalk the land: ruthless, hungry and increasingly clever. Alex meets a young army veteran named Tom, and a lost girl named Ellie, and they will fight together before being torn apart. Alex has to face the most challenging question of all: in such greatly changed world, who can you trust?

So are you looking for books like Divergent? There are so many great books and so little time. Three books were given to you and you may or may not like them. Despite this, I am sure that you will keep looking for new books. If you find some more books like Divergent, I'd love to see them in the comments as I am an avid reader as well.

Check on these books and you will always enjoy the dystopian genre. If you want even more check out books like Divergent.

The Unfair Quiz

view quiz statistics

The Quiz

The quiz is a little biased towards the book that I feel is the best between them. Hope you have fun and please post your angry comments below.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)