ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Stephen King - On Writing and Other Favorites - Review

Updated on June 6, 2018
PegCole17 profile image

Peg Cole is a self-published author who writes true and fiction stories, book reviews and how-to articles.

Bangor, Maine

A view of Bangor, Maine from the Indian Trail Park in Brewer, Maine by Denis Santerre.
A view of Bangor, Maine from the Indian Trail Park in Brewer, Maine by Denis Santerre. | Source

Success didn't come overnight for the master of macabre, spinner of Science Fiction tales, of high school romance gone bad, of cars that live and breathe, or of dogs and cats who defy their masters. This book, like his tales, runs the distance between an autobiography and a "How-to" manual for writers. Within this manual for writers he shares memories of his own struggle to become a published writer and the rejections he faced along the way.

Not at all tedious like a textbook, On Writing reveals a web of intrigue and mystery combining the elements of style into a running dialog of Stephen King's earliest childhood memories.

On Writing, A Memoir of the Craft

Pictured here in his home office with his dog he calls Molly, the Thing of Evil.
Pictured here in his home office with his dog he calls Molly, the Thing of Evil.

Writing over fifty books is a major accomplishment. To write that many bestsellers defies the odds. Further feats include finishing this book after suffering a near death accident when he was walking along a highway and was struck by a van.

Aspiring writers, who hope to release a literary masterpiece, can learn much from the author whose engaging books captivated millions of readers. His success lends hope that ordinary people can succeed in publishing a best selling novel.

Creepy or Charming?

Stephen King's house in Bangor, Maine is listed in the National Register of Historic Places in the United States.
Stephen King's house in Bangor, Maine is listed in the National Register of Historic Places in the United States.

King's story also provides hope that, despite rejection, if we persist, improve our results and properly tweak our words, we will accomplish that which we seek. The book answers many questions like: How did Stephen King start out? What inspired him to write his tales? How did he survive the horrific and disabling injuries he sustained when he was broadsided by a van?

His resilience and determination is inspiring.

"When you write a story, you're telling yourself the story. When you rewrite, your main job is taking out all the things that are not the story."

— John Gould

The manual answers those questions and shares more that can be helpful in writing our own novel. He gives clues about composing, practicing the art, using our worldly experiences in creating fiction, capturing the moment, creating characters, editing our work without remorse and much more in these 291 pages jam packed with good advice, humor and even some cringe-worthy stories.

In his usual style, employing descriptive prose, he shares the struggles of growing up poor, of working in dead-end factory type jobs, of sibling rivalry and competition, of mistreatment from caregivers, family members and peers. He describes how he learned the perils of plagiarism, of creative buffoonery gone sour, of teacher retaliation, and of being the outcast. He shares common experiences and those beyond the everyday variety: recuperation from devastating, bone crushing injury, during which he maintained the work ethic that forged his ultimate success.

Christine - Bad to the Bone

He states that “Good writing is often about letting go of fear and affectation,” of “writing to the best of our abilities” and choosing the right tools for the job. He challenges the writer to create a toolbox of talent from which we can draw when needed; when our task becomes difficult, our road veers into wilderness and fog impairs our vision. He suggests that if we wish to become a great writer that we must do two things: read a lot and write a lot. He says, “Every book you pick up has its own lesson or lessons, and quite often the bad books have more to teach than the good ones.”

Fiction is the truth inside the lie. . ."

— Stephen King

Stephen King has been writing stories since he was seven years old. His mother read his first original story, after he gave up copying stories out of the comic books. She provided the feedback that would catapult him into his destined career when she asked, "You didn't copy this one?" He said, no, he hadn't. "She said it was good enough to be in a book." King writes, "Nothing anyone has said to me since has made me feel any happier."

He says, "There is no Idea Dump, no Story Central, no Island of the Buried Bestsellers; good story ideas seem to come quite literally from nowhere, sailing at you right out of the empty sky. . .Your job (as a writer) is to recognize them when they show up."

He believes that an author must continually write to perfect their craft and that it's important to have a set routine and a designated place in which to write.

Blue Jean Music

The Stand and other Favorite King Stories

One of my favorites of his stories made into a television series was "The Stand," a dystopian tale of a man-made virus that nearly ends the world. Those resistant to the germs gather together under the discipleship of "Mother Abagail" in Boulder, Colorado, while the other faction, the no-good doers gather in Las Vegas. A tale of survival, hope, love, strength and betrayal, the inevitable showdown between good and evil leads to the destruction of one side.

Filled with unforgettable characters like Stu Redman (East Texas), played by Gary Sinise, Molly Ringwald, Jamie Sheriden (The Walking Dude, The Dark Man), Ruby Dee, Adam Storke, Ed Harris, Kareem Abdul-Jabar, Ossie Davis, Bill Fagerbakke as Tom Cullin (M-O-O-N, that spells Tom), Ray Walston, Kathy Bates and many others. The movie soundtrack will have you singing, "Baby Can You Dig Your Man" from the first time you hear it. It's a favorite of the devil himself.

Mansfield Ohio Reformatory
Mansfield Ohio Reformatory | Source

The Shawshank Redemption

"Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption" is a novella by Stephen King turned into a full length movie starring Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman. One of the top rented films of 1995, before On-Demand and Netflix, this film captures the hope that those innocently convicted will ultimately gain freedom.

Source

Biography

Stephen Edwin King was born in Portland, Maine in September of 1947. One of two children born to Nellie Ruth Pillsbury King, he was the younger brother in a financially struggling family dynamic. His father, Donald and his mother separated when the boys were toddlers, living in Fort Wayne, Indiana for a while near his father's family before his mother moved them to Durham where she took care of her aging parents.

Some of Stephen King's earliest memories were forged at the farm of his maternal grandparents. He tells the story of his earliest experience with excruciating pain caused when he dropped a cinder block on his foot after being stung by a wasp. He shares nightmarish stories of an abusive babysitter. He recalls events in the woods that left him suffering an unimaginable case of poison ivy. He writes about his trips to the doctor who stuck needles in his ears to relieve inflammation. It's no wonder he never runs out of squeamish material on which to write.

Early in life he developed an empathy for the underdog, the victims of bullies, those with little strength to fight back. His stories reveal the best and worst in mankind starting in 1974, when his manuscript for Carrie catapulted him into a new world where writing would become his main activity.

At the time it was written, he was employed as an English teacher earning sixty-four hundred dollars per year after quitting his job at the laundry. He and his wife lived in a double wide mobile home where she helped support the family with a job at Dunkin' Donuts.They were too poor to afford a telephone. At one point, he was so discouraged by his minimal success at submitting crime stories to the men's magazines, he threw away his work. Tabitha rescued the manuscript from the trash can, read it and provide the encouragement that prompted him to continue writing the rest of the story.

"You've got something here," she said. "I really think you do."

Since those early difficult times, King has penned over fifty-nine fiction novels, ten story collections, five non-fiction books and many other works that have turned into movies and TV series. His many awards include multiple World Fantasy Awards, Locus Awards, and Bram Stoker Awards among many others.

Stephen King’s memoir is memorable, provides useful examples, cautionary admonitions and is pure fun reading. It’s a good story, which he explains is what book buyers are looking to “take with them on the airplane, something that will first fascinate them, then pull them in and keep them turning the pages.” He has successfully used every tool in his toolbox in writing this novel.

© 2018 Peg Cole

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      5 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Audrey, I appreciate you taking the time to come by and leave such a nice comment. Thank you and Happy Fourth of July.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 

      5 months ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      Thanks for this review and information on Stephen King. I appreciate him even more since learning about his difficult life. Well done!

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Yikes, it has been that long for me as well, Maria. Wow, time flies when you're reading. Yes, I think his personal demons have inspired many of his stories. I was reading his bio the other day and learned of his early addition to drugs and his struggle to over come it. We may never know the road others have traveled. Love you. Hugs.

    • marcoujor profile image

      Maria Jordan 

      6 months ago from Jeffersonville PA

      When I think back, I've been reading Stephen King for over 30 years. Despite his personal demons, perhaps because of them, he is one of the best in my opinion.

      Great job on this review - a treasure in my library. Love, Maria

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Shauna, You're right about Stephen King. He can take the ordinary and turn it into an experience to remember. I sure appreciate your kind words and your visit to this review. :)

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello William, Yes, that quote threw me a curve as well. Thanks for stopping in to read this review.

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 

      6 months ago from Central Florida

      Peg, only Stephen King can turn a how-to into something enjoyable to read! You've done a fine job with this review. I'm sure sales are going to jump just from this review alone!

      Love your style, Peg.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Lisa Jane, Sounds like an easy trip from where you live to go exploring Stephen King's neighborhood. Maybe you'll see him outside walking his dog.

      Glad you like this book and the review. Thanks for the visit.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Dora, I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did and do. It gives understandable notes on how to edit and proofread our work which I found helpful. Thanks for coming by.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Peggy Woods, that was a surprise to me as well. I had no idea. Like you, it ranks among my favorite movies. Thanks so much for stopping in to read this review.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Bill, Your work ethic reminds me of Stephen King's. You are a dedicated and practiced writer. Nice to see you here today.

    • lifegate profile image

      William Kovacic 

      6 months ago from Pleasant Gap, PA

      "Fiction is the truth inside the lie . . . " I'm still thinking that one over. Never read the book but I'm thinking maybe I should. Thanks for the information, Peg!

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Frank, I'll admit that I haven't read many of his newer books. I guess I need to get busy and catch up. There was a time I waited anxiously for each new release. It seems that I concentrate on the favorites, reading them more than once. Time to branch out.

      Thanks for your visit and insightful observation about his newer work.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Linda, Beyond the writing of books and scripts for movies, he's also acted in bit parts in many of them. We were watching "The Stand" the other night and saw him in it.

      Thanks so much for coming by.

    • Cyndi10 profile image

      Cynthia B Turner 

      6 months ago from Georgia

      I read Stephen King's On Writing many years ago and I still return to it often. He is one of the most prolific writers around. He had me hooked at Carrie! Then, when my son was old enough to read them, he became hooked on reading Stephen King. How could we not try to glean at least a little wisdom from what he has to say? Great review.

    • Lisa Jane39 profile image

      Lisa Jane 

      6 months ago from Washington

      I love this review. I grew up reading and watching his movies. I grew up about an hour where he lives.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      6 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for this review. The insight int Stephen King's life and work is fascinating. Based on your article, I would put this book on my to-do list.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Mike, Stephen King seems to be really dedicated to being a writer and has a lot to show for it in the way of success and literary awards. I have to admire his consistency and enthusiasm for the art.

      Thanks so much for the visit and thoughts on the review.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Jackie, I believe that Stephen King is an acquired taste for those with a strong stomach for grizzly details. Somehow, a much younger me found one of his books in my hands and it led to reading many more along the way. It's almost like driving past a wreck on the highway. You tell yourself not to look but it's inevitable that you glance that way.

      I'm impressed that you owned a bookstore. How fascinating that must have been!

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      6 months ago from Houston, Texas

      I did not realize that Stephen King had written the book which inspired the movie called Shawshank Redemption. That was a wonderful movie. Most of his books are scary and not my favorite type of book to read. It was interesting reading about him however from your review of his latest book regarding the art of writing. It sounds like he had a tough life when growing up.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      6 months ago from Olympia, WA

      I really do have to read his book. The man knows writing and that's for sure. Thanks for the reminder, Peg!

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Linda, Yes, isn't it interesting how our perspective changes over the years? When I reread a story that I read years ago, I'm amazed at the differences in characters with whom I can relate now.

      Thanks for sharing that insight and for your visit.

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Mary, Wow, I'd love to see his house in person. From the iron fence with the bats and dragons surrounding it, I would imagine it looks haunted. Perhaps that adds to the inspiration he finds for his writings.

      Thanks so much for coming by.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      6 months ago from Shelton

      what a helpful and detailed review Peg.. Stephen King was one of my faborties.. loved his earlier stuff.. but I feel.. my opinion only, that his newer stuff lacks discipline. ... Nevertheless you crafted his memoir of the craft ..awesomely... as you always do

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      6 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This sounds like a book that I would find interesting. Though I've heard a lot about Stephen King, I haven't read much of his work. Your article has encouraged me to do so.

    • mckbirdbks profile image

      mckbirdbks 

      6 months ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Peg - Nice review. As Stephen King proves, it is the discipline of writing that aids in success. It is hard to believe that the imagination of one person could produce such a volume of work. I guess King is an example to all of us.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      6 months ago from The Beautiful South

      I can't handle books or movies from books of Stephen King but owning a book store I had to read so much and have knowledge of his writings for my customers who most loved him. He made me a pretty penny and as many of those as he made himself, we could none deny his talent.

      Interesting new facts I did not have on him here. I'd say he could have gone either way after those experiences and lucky he chose the path he did!

    • Carb Diva profile image

      Linda Lum 

      6 months ago from Washington State, USA

      I read this book many years ago, back when I was an avid reader. I still read (though not as much) but I have added writing to my list of daily tasks. I need to revisit this book and will see it now from a new perspective. Thanks for reminding me of this book from a true master of the written word.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      6 months ago from Ontario, Canada

      The Shawshank Redemption is the only one I am familiar with of Stephen King's books. I am not really a fan but we were in Bangor once and looked at his house. I think he is a very talented writer and his advise to read a lot and write a lot is indeed wise.

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      6 months ago from SW England

      Ok, Peg, I'll be wary! When it's true I think we have a different perspective, even though it might be just as horrific and therefore probably worse.

      You're welcome.

      Ann

    • PegCole17 profile imageAUTHOR

      Peg Cole 

      6 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Ann, I understand that feeling, for sure. He is the master of description that is so real it is terrifying. Beware, within this manual, he shares some true stories that are equally scary.

      Thanks so much for coming by.

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      6 months ago from SW England

      Great review, Peg, because you've made me want to read the book even though I'm not a fan of Stephen King. That's not because I don't like the stories nor that I don't think he's a brilliant writer - I just don't like being terrified!

      I'll be looking out for this one.

      Ann

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)