ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Fiction»
  • Science Fiction & Fantasy Books»
  • Fantasy

The Seven Kingdoms of Westeros

Updated on December 29, 2016

A Song of Ice and Fire novels are gaining more fans by the day thanks to the Game of Thrones series. However, many are still confused, which are the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros? Before the Conquest of Aegon I, there are seven independent kingdoms in the continent, ruled by their own kings.

War of Conquest (Conquest of Aegon I)

Aegon I Targaryen, also known as Aegon the Conqueror or Aegon the Dragon, set out from Dragonstone to take over Westeros with the help of his sister-wives, Visenya and Rhaenys. During battles, they rode on his dragons (Vhagar, Meraxes, and Balerion the Black Dread) and lead an army of less than 3,000 troops.

The War that will eventually unified Westeros under House Targaryen took place around 300 years before the start of A Song of Ice and Fire series. Aegon I was 27 years old.

1. Kingdom of the North

Wardens of the North.

Current and previous ruler: The Starks.
Seat: Winterfell.

King who surrenderred to Aegon I: King Torrehn Stark.

Other notable houses of the region include Bolton, Umber, Karstark, and Manderly. Bastards born in the North are given the surname Snow.

2. Kingdom of Mountain and Vale

Wardens of the East.

Also known as Kingdom of Vale and Sky.

Current and previous ruler: The Arryns.
Seat: The Eyrie.

Ronnel Arryn who was just a young boy at the time bent the knee to Aegon I when he was impressed by their dragons and decided he wanted to ride one.

Notable houses of this region include Hunter, Corbray, Redfort, and Royce. Bastards born in the Vale are given the surname Stone.

3. Kingdom of the Isles and Rivers

Current rulers: The Greyjoys and the Tullys.
Current seats: Pyke and Riverrun.

Previous ruler: House Hoare.
Previous seat: Harrenhal.

The dragons of Aegon I burned the last of the High Kings of the Iron Isles at Harrenhal. The kingdom was then split into two: The Iron Islands and the Riverlands.

4. Kingdom of Stormlands

Current ruler: The Baratheons.
Seat: Storm's End.

Previous ruler: House Durrendon.

The last of the Storm Kings, Argilac the Arrogant, was killed by the Baratheons on the behest of Aegon I.

Bastards born in the Stormlands are given the surname Storm.

5. Kingdom of the Rock

Wardens of the West

Current and previous ruler: The Lannisters.

Seat: Casterly Rock.

King who surrendered to Aegon I: King Loren Lannister

The first Kings of the Rock are direct descendants from the Andals, who came to Westeros some 6000 years before the story of A Song of Ice and Fire began.

6. Kingdom of the Reach

Wardens of the South.

Current ruler: The Tyrells.
Seat: Highgarden.

Previous ruler: House Gardener.

Originally ruled by House Gardener, the family was exterminated by Aegon I when he defeated King Mern IX at the Field of Fire. The Tyrells were the stewards of the Gardeners, and surrendered Highgarden to Aegon.

Bastards born in the Reach are given the surname Flowers.

7. Kingdom of Dorne

Current and previous ruler: The Martells.

Seat: Sunspear.

The Dornish resisted the Targaryen conquest for 200 years, and were later peacefully joined into the kingdom of Westeros when King Daeron II Targaryen married Princess Myriah Martell.

The nine major Houses are Stark, Arryn, Targaryen, Baratheon, Martell, Tyrell, Lannister, Greyjoy, and Tully.
The nine major Houses are Stark, Arryn, Targaryen, Baratheon, Martell, Tyrell, Lannister, Greyjoy, and Tully.

After the War of Conquest, however, Westeros is actually divided into 9 divisions with 9 major Houses ruling them:

  1. The North (including The Wall and Beyond the Wall).
  2. The Iron Islands.
  3. The Riverlands (including Harrenhal and The Twins).
  4. The Vale of Arryn.
  5. The Westerlands.
  6. The Reach (including Oldtown).
  7. The Stormlands.
  8. The Crownlands (including Dragonstone and King's Landing).
  9. Dorne.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.