ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle

Updated on May 12, 2017
PegCole17 profile image

Peg Cole earned a BA in Government and Politics at UT Dallas. She's a former project manager turned freelance writer.

Autographed Copy, Sixth Printing, 1991
Autographed Copy, Sixth Printing, 1991

Jim Rohn is one of those people that would be called a hard worker. As a young man, he held a job at Sears, showed up for work every day, and wondered how he would ever get ahead. With two children and a young wife, he was living paycheck to paycheck. Then one day he met a man who turned his life around. He went from the edge of poverty to become a millionaire by the age of twenty-five.

Mr. Rohn believed that success leaves clues and that if we want to become successful we must study those who've achieved some measure of success.

Mr. Jim Rohn

A man of common sense, humility and wisdom
A man of common sense, humility and wisdom | Source

He grew up on a farm in Idaho, the only son of two caring, hard-working parents. He believed that hard work and dedication was what it took to get ahead. But that formula didn't seem to be working for him.

Then he met his mentor, Earl Shoaf, and learned a few concepts and easy changes that made all the difference in his life. He shares those insights and more in his book, The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle.

He's widely regarded as one of the most influential thinkers of our time. His book is a guide which can open the doors of opportunity. He shares the secrets of how to achieve greater results than we have achieved in the past.

Mr. Jim Rohn was the inspiration for many of the popular speakers today like Mark Victor Hansen, the Co-author of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series. Hansen says Mr. Rohn has "style, substance, charisma, relevance, charm, and what he says makes a difference." His words had a lifelong impact on Tony Robbins who believes Mr. Rohn's philosophy can "enhance the quality of life for anyone who exposes themselves to it."

Most houses valued over $250,000 have a library. That should tell us something."

— Jim Rohn

There are no new fundamentals. The fundamentals of life which have proven successful are documented in the pages of history. He says to find unique human beings we can admire and respect "whose achievements fascinate and inspire us." He advises to selectively choose our role models rather than "have them thrust upon us by the influences of the media."

Each time we listen to the urgings of the voice of success, and are persuaded to turn off the television and pick up a book, to open our journals and record our thoughts, or to spend a quiet moment pondering where our current actions may be leading us, the voice of success responds..."

— Jim Rohn

At his live seminar in 1995, he began with the statement, "You can always get more money, but you can never get more time."

He reminds us that "sincerity is not a test of truth" since it is possible to be "sincerely wrong." He tells us to listen carefully to the facts and draw our own conclusions. He cautions us to be a student, not a follower - only be a disciple of the Lord's.

He shared a story from ancient history about when the first Christian Church was formed. A presentation was given to a multitude that day. Three thousand of those who attended believed the message. But some were perplexed and stood around in disbelief.

Mr. Rohn explained that Jesus didn't try to "unperplex the perplexed." There will always be some who are confused and some who don't believe. He says not to get involved in "shoulds and shouldn'ts."

If people wish to be ignorant, let them be. You can't change people. Only they can change.

by Mr. Jim Rohn

Have you ever heard of Mr. Jim Rohn?

See results

The way we choose to think influences our habits and behavior. "As adults, we examine new information through the filter of our personal philosophy." From this, we either choose to strengthen or reject those ideas, based on what we think is valuable. To succeed, he advises that we control the process of our thinking and cautions that our erroneous conclusions may block the achievement of our goals.

Our personal beliefs lead us to do with our day whatever we think is valuable. He suggests that the time of day at which we begin our day has a direct influence on our personal outcome. He teaches that everything affects everything else, even in the small activities we perform on a daily basis.

Don't send your ducks to eagle school.

— Jim Rohn

Seeds and Soil

The law of sowing and reaping is inherent in his teachings. He reminds us that "ten years from now we will all be somewhere, the question is where?" His seeds of wisdom need "the soil of your own imagination and creativity, the water of your faith, and the intensity of your activity if they are to bear fruit."

Jim Rohn talks about motivation. He tells his audiences, "If you have an idiot and you motivate him, then, you've got a motivated idiot." Mr. Rohn tells the reader that it's about education, activity, and making measurable progress in reasonable time.

"The name of the game is results. ..The final result of your life will be determined by whether you made too many errors in judgment, repeated every day or whether you dedicated your life to a few simple disciplines, practiced every day." He explains this in everyday words that are easy to understand shares the undeniable principle that "if we fail to plant in the spring, we cannot complain about the harvest in the fall."

The Right Voices

Mr. Rohn cautions the reader to filter the many voices that compete for our attention. He says to study those with something valuable to say and hopes that we'll find a voice of reason. When we "succumb to the voice of the dark side of life" our negativity becomes stronger.

He asks the difficult questions and says to do the "essential things that success and happiness demands."

He urges us to turn off the television and pick up a book in order to take a step in the right direction. He cautions that "we must not allow ourselves to believe that we can have all that we want to have and become all that we wish to be without making any changes..." He tells us that "everything is within our reach if we will read the books"...and "practice the disciplines" to wage a "vigorous battle against neglect".

In business companies turn to outside sources, consultants, hired to help executives determine if the company is on track. We are wise to take counsel from "someone who cares", to bring us a fresh perspective.

Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment.
Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment. | Source

The Five Major Pieces to the Life Puzzle says that if we seek a better life we must become better persons and monitor what we feed our mind. It's not only about education but a call to take action to reap a harvest worthy of the effort. Each story in this book tells something of value. It is easy to read but as the author points out, what's easy to read is also easy not to read.

At his memorial someone said, "When you are born you enter the world crying while everyone else is rejoicing and when you die, hopefully, you've lived such a life that everyone will be crying while you are rejoicing. Jim Rohn lived such a life."

© 2014 Peg Cole

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 2 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks for the review, Peg. I'm always looking for a good book to read.

    • heidithorne profile image

      Heidi Thorne 2 years ago from Chicago Area

      One of my fave Jim Rohn quotes is "Don't send your ducks to eagle school." Such a powerful philosophy for effective management.

      Thanks for sharing the review on Rohn's amazing work!

    • mckbirdbks profile image

      mckbirdbks 2 years ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      Hello Peg. What a nice review you have produced here. Hopefully many young readers will stop by and learn the path that you have marked for them to this source of knowledge. I think I will pick up a copy for my youngest. She has time.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 2 years ago from Shelton

      the review is thorough, and concise.. this book seems useful too many of the younger generations or even the older folks who are restarting life.. a very good job you have here and the review did hit its mark head on :) Frank

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Isaac Weithers 2 years ago from The Caribbean

      Thank you for sharing these motivational insights from Jim Rohn and his book. Practical and wise. A very good book review.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Billybuc. Thanks so much for the visit and for reading this review of Mr. Rohn's book.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Heidithorne, I'm so glad you know of Mr. Rohn and his valuable teachings. He had a world of knowledge at his fingertips, gathered over a lifetime of serious study. It would be so interesting to take a peek into his journals. Thanks for the amazing comment.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Mckbirdbks. Mike, I'm hopeful that young readers and mature readers alike will discover the helpful advice that Mr. Rohn so willingly shared for over forty years. Once I met him and heard him speak, I was never the same. It turned my life around. I hope your daughter will find some benefit in his words. Some do and some don't.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Frank, That's really a great comment. Thank you. I certainly appreciate your visit and your remarks about the review and hope that this will inspire others to pick up and read the book. I feel certain it's available in the library for those who can't purchase it.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 2 years ago from USA

      The advice he gives registers on so many levels. You have done a marvelous job at conveying his message and encouraging others to read. I'd like to pick up his book.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Ms. Dora. It's nice of you to take the time to drop by and read this book review. Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate you.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Flourish, Thank you for the marvelous comment. I hope you find the book interesting and valuable. He speaks about things in a way that is interesting, understandable and relevant. Thanks for coming by.

    • SubRon7 profile image

      James W. Nelson 2 years ago from eastern North Dakota

      Very interesting review, Peg, thank you!

    • Faith Reaper profile image

      Faith Reaper 2 years ago from southern USA

      Excellent review, Peg. I love that he said to turn off the television and actually read a book! It is so important that we all make changes in our lives if we are unhappy about any aspect of our lives, then the only answer is to change. You have provided wonderful insights here on Mr. Rohn and his book.

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 2 years ago from North Texas

      Sounds like a very interesting and inspirational book. I don't have a TV and I don't miss it. No time to watch it anyway. I always have plenty of things to choose from that need doing and can't remember the last time I was bored. I love to learn new things and to see what I can create myself that is new. Mr. Rohn seems to have been a man who knew how to make things work. Excellent review!

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi SubRon7. Thank you for the visit and interesting comment. Nice to see you today.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello, Faith. What you've said is so true. We can't expect things to change around us. It's up to us to change. I'm glad you liked the insights of Mr. Rohn's book. And thank you so much for the excellent comment.

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Fuller 2 years ago from Southern Illinois

      Your last paragraph touched me deeply! I strive to live that way, yet at times it's difficult. What struck me as the most profound truth, " One can be sincerely wrong. " This was a great review of a man i never heard of, but i want to read his book. I am listening to Elton as i type, he is another favorite. Thank you for a most rewarding read....

    • moneymindit profile image

      Money Man 2 years ago from California

      Great hub! I have been a fan of Jim Rohn for a very long time. I have learned a lot of great lessons from this man. In fact, he was the mentor and coach of another favorite coach of mine, Anthony Robbins.

      Thanks for posting!

      MM

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Au fait, I sometimes wish we didn't have a TV as it soaks up so many hours that could be used more productively. Yet, as we are home bodies, it is a source of entertainment. There were a few years when I was single that I didn't own a TV and never missed it at all. But that was before the Internet so I didn't have access to much, in the way of news. I had figured you for a productive person who can entertain yourself quite well.

      Thanks so much for the excellent comment and for taking time to drop in.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Always, Ruby dear, I was also touched by that statement which is on Mr. Rohn's memorial page. When I found out he had passed, I was inexplicably sad. We lost a great man who shared so much with others and who changed so many lives.

      Sincerely wrong - that is something to think about. Thank you so much for the deeply meaningful comment. I went back to hear Elton again.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Moneymindit. The list of those Mr. Rohn influenced is long and impressive. When I read of all those who showed up for his memorial, I was truly astounded. Many of the nationally known speakers were there.

      I, too, enjoy Tony Robbins and attended his seminars when he came to Dallas. He is terrific and so are you for dropping in to comment. Thank you.

    • marcoujor profile image

      Maria Jordan 2 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

      Very well done, Peg. I have long respected and followed the writings of Mr. Rohn.

      I would have loved to have heard him speak. I just listened to the second video (excellent) and will be back to check out the first... what charisma and connection in his presentation.

      Love your notes, especially the way you spelled "grateful"!

      Voted UP & UABI... Well done! Love, Maria

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 2 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I have never heard of Jim Rohn before. It was interesting to learn about some of his ideas. Thanks for the information, Peg. I'm looking forward to reading more about Jim Rohn's thoughts.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 2 years ago

      This looks like a great book to read and to pass on to those needing professional development advice. I do agree that one should choose his or her mentors for the best results.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      My friend, Marcoujor, I had a notion that you were a student of Mr. Rohn from your writings about journals and other important clues. My friend Phyllis and I attended a seminar in Dallas in 1995. He impressed me as not only dynamic and wise, but humble and shy - if you can imagine that. When he signed my book he looked at me and made me feel as if I were the only one there, then wished me all the best.

      Thanks for the excellent comment and for taking time to view the video. It made me go back and watch it again. Loveu, Peg

    • Genna East profile image

      Genna East 2 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Excellent review, Peg. I really enjoyed reading this. Contrary to what others may believe, reviews are not easy to write, but you have presented us with something that is interesting and intriguing. This is one book I look forward to reading.

      “He urges us to turn off the television and pick up a book in order to take a step in the right direction.” Yes! “His seeds of wisdom need "the soil of your own imagination and creativity, the water of your faith, and the intensity of your activity if they are to bear fruit."” Beautiful!

      Well done. :-)

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello AliciaC. Nice of you to drop by. I'm looking forward to reading your latest Hub of the Day. Congrats on writing another winner.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Teaches12345, Glad to see you and thanks for the great comment. Choosing our mentors carefully is truly the key to our outlook on life.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Genna. I hope you're feeling much better. You've been missed.

      Thanks for the excellent comment and for the capture of Mr. Rohn's wise words. He really had a way of saying things that were out of the ordinary. I appreciate you coming out to read this review.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      These are all the basic principles of life. Sadly, life doesn't come with an owner's manual, and many must be shown how to do this. In order to succeed, one must be a leader and not a follower. Nice review, as these principles will help someone succeed in a business, too.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Deb, You're right, life doesn't come with an owner's manual. These basic principles, outlined by Mr. Rohn, are fundamentals that can be useful in our busy lives and our careers. Thanks so much for dropping in and for the great comment.

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 2 years ago from Houston, Texas

      Hi Peg,

      That sounds like an excellent book and good fundamentals to not only learn but apply in our daily lives. Up, useful and interesting votes. Will also share.

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 2 years ago from Texas

      I think I need to get this book to add to my library. This is a well written review that makes a person want to not just read it but to own it.

      Voted up across the board except funny and shared.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Peggy, Nice of you to visit and share. Thank you so much for the excellent comment.

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Shyron, Thank you for the really meaningful comment. I hope you will be able to find a copy of this book for your library. I treasure mine which he signed on the last day of the seminar. How I wish I had taken photos.

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 2 years ago from Seattle, WA

      Sounds like you've outlined the very best of Mr. Rohn's book. Adding it to the reading list. Thanks!

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Thanks for checking out this book review, SheGetsCreative.

    • peachpurple profile image

      peachy 2 years ago from Home Sweet Home

      i have never heard of this book or the author, how long does it take for you to finish it?

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Jim Rohn was a great speaker and a generous man who shared the secrets of success that he learned in life. The book is small and easy to read in one setting if you are inspired.

    • Kristen Howe profile image

      Kristen Howe 2 years ago from Northeast Ohio

      Awesome book review hub Peg. That books sounds like a good read to me on positivity. I might just check it out, when I have some free time. Voted up!

    • PegCole17 profile image
      Author

      Peg Cole 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Kristen, Thank you for reading this review and for the positive, uplifting comment. Mr. Rohn was a great man.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 16 months ago from Ontario, Canada

      This looks like one I'll enjoy. You have introduced this book so well, I am now interested to read it.

    Click to Rate This Article