ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

The Giver: My Book Review

Updated on March 15, 2013
Source

Title: The Giver

Author: Lois Lowry

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012

Publication Date: 1994

Edition: reissue, reprint

Pages: 240

Price: $6.58 (Amazon)

ISBN: 0547995660, 9780547995663

In the beginning of the book, you meet an eleven year old boy by the name of Jonas who lives in a controlled society in the future. In this futuristic society, there is no such thing as pain, hunger, war, color, sex, anger, music, or love. Everyone's life is controlled by a group of people called the "Elders" even down to who you marry, what your job is, and what child you will receive. In this society, you don't have your own individual identity and everyone is the same. In order to leave society, you must be released by either being sick and old, or breaking the rules. In order to break the rules, you would have to gain your own individual identity by practicing outside of the normal days activities by touching, feeling, and even seeing color.

Likewise, since Jonas is reaching the age of twelve; he is at the age of being assigned a job. There is a huge ceremony when any of the children reach the age of twelve, in order for them to receive their new job. These titles inlude Caretaker, Director, and even MidWife. While participating in this ceremony, Jonas realizes that he doesn't receive a job. At the conclusion of the ceremony, Jonas realizes that he was chosen as the Receiver of Memory and that he must learn from current receiver, who is an old man with light eyes such as he. In the meantime, Jonas's family has taken in a sick baby by the name of Gabriel, who will be released soon, if he doesn't get better.


In the passage above, it just a short summary of the story and what you are going to be reading. You will read about the main characters by the name of Gabriel, Jonas, and the Giver. The main characters were credible due to the detail in the book, the message of the story, and the environment that the characters were in. The main characters talked a great deal; speaking of feelings, weather, and the similarities among society. The main characters ran into problems onto what to do next and how to solve the problems of living in such a society. Overall, in the book, my favorite characters were the Giver and Jonas. I chose the both of them as my favorite characters because the Giver reminds me of an old person, who is very knowledgeable due to experiencing alot. I chose Jonas as another favorite character of mine because of his youth and his ability to learn slowly understanding why the society is the way that it is.

In this story, I would greatly relate myself to Jonas because I see myself as someone, who is still trying to find a purpose in this world. Im searching for a journey that would lead to understanding and mostly finding out the correct path to take in life. In this story, I felt a lot of how Jonas felt. He felt confused at times of not being able to understand, he felt the urge to tell others the secret even though he couldnt, and felt the urge to explore even though every one else didn't. I've felt all of these emotions because of different situations that have occured in my life.

This book helps to take you on a journey that you have never been on before. The choice of words that Lois uses throughout the book really helps the reader to visualize this futuristic society and its inhabitants. This story reels you in and doesn't let you go until the very end. Your curiousity on what is to happen next will keep you wanting and reading more.

My recommendation for this book is that it is great and that anyone should read it. I feel that some people may not understand the book though due to its small sense of dullness in the beginning and the direction that the story takes. I feel that the person that should read this book is someone that is open minded, searching for a great story to read, and someone that maintains perserverance in wanting to read a book in its entirety.


Have you read books by Lois Lowry ?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 4 years ago

      @tamarawilhite yeah i agree with you as well , thanks for your comment it is much appreciated.

    • tamarawilhite profile image

      Tamara Wilhite 4 years ago from Fort Worth, Texas

      This book is probably the best in the series. The later books just fall apart, trying to turn a dystopia into a good vs. evil plot with flat characters.

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @summerberrie Im glad that you liked my review and thanks for voting up

    • profile image

      summerberrie 5 years ago

      A great and detailed review. Well done. Voted up and useful.

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @tammy I completely agree with you its so intriguing and the ending leaves you wanting more

    • tammyswallow profile image

      Tammy 5 years ago from North Carolina

      It has been many years since I have read this book. It needs to be in the cannon of literary classics. Great introduction to a classic!

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @Eiddwen thanks for commenting and giving me feedback on my review

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 5 years ago from Wales

      A great review and thanks for sharing.

      Eddy.

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @rose Im happy that you are passing this on I appreciate that

    • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

      Gypsy Rose Lee 5 years ago from Riga, Latvia

      Great review. I'm not really into this kind of reading but it still sounds interesting for those who prefer to read about the future. Passing this on.

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @CarlySullens thanks for reading my review and Im glad you liked it; hopefully you do read the book.

    • CarlySullens profile image

      CarlySullens 5 years ago from St. Louis, Missouri

      This book looks good. I always see it on the bookshelf for my sons reading age, 10. I never bought it, but after reading this I think I will. I think it would be one of those books we could read together, my son and me.

    • Nights Dream profile image

      Michael Phoenix 5 years ago from Allentown, pa

      You are very welcome!

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @NightsDreams thanks for the positive feedback it is well appreciated and thanks for the compliment

    • Nights Dream profile image

      Michael Phoenix 5 years ago from Allentown, pa

      I like your format and layout for the book review. Fairly short but well organized. Your style of writing is easy to understand.

    • Nights Dream profile image

      Michael Phoenix 5 years ago from Allentown, pa

      I like your format and layout for the book review. Fairly short but well organized. Your style of writing is easy to understand.

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @unknown spy you are more than welcome and it is a really good read

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Hmmm..looks very interesting to read. Thanks for the review torri.

    • torrilynn profile image
      Author

      torrilynn 5 years ago

      @carozy thanks for the positive feedback and Im glad that you feel the same as I do

    • carozy profile image

      carozy 5 years ago from San Francisco

      I just read this book recently and I have to recommend it also. It's an incredibly absorbing read -- I read it in one night and couldn't put it down. Thanks for sharing your opinion.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)