ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Good Earth Book Review Pearl S. Buck

Updated on March 9, 2012

Have you read any of Pearl S. Buck's work?

See results

The Good Earth book review

Before I go into the review, I want to share my personal story in reading The Good Earth. First I read it and was moved by the plights of the characters, Olan and Wang Lung. I enjoyed the book so much I gave it to my son ( he is 21) to read while he was away from home. Because of happening in the story he was desperate to call me. Olan's character moved him so (she is the mother) he had to speak with me. He couldn't get a hold of me and cut his trip short because he just wanted to see me and tell me he loved me. This is a testament to the powerful writings of Pearl Buck. She was an incredible story teller. I am so glad that I discovered her and have been able to suggest her writings to others.

The Good Earth by Pearl S Buck


The Good Earth" was published in 1931, written by Pearl S. Buck. This story is about a young man who lives on his family farm. He and his father live a meager life. But through hard work and determination Wang Lung, the main character, is able to raise his family up to becoming one of the most prominent families in his community.

Along the way Wang Lung chooses a wife, O-lan who partners with him in hard work as well as personal sacrifice on the journey towards financial success. O-lan is a quiet, strong woman who is for the most part, ill appreciated throughout most of the story. This reflects typical Asian cultural practices of this period. Wang Lung is forced to move his family out of town and away from his farm to find work and food in order to support his family. They travel by train to a nearby big city only to live in a shanty style neighborhood against the wall in the big city. Wang Lung finds work by renting a foot taxi and hauling people through town. His wage after the cost of the rental barely pays for food for his family. As he works, Wang Lung is constantly listening and learning from the habits of the successful in which he served. Meanwhile O-lan and the children spend the days begging for change and bits in order to survive. There is an attack on the city in which they live and Wang Lung suddenly finds himself with the opportunity of a life time! Soon they are able to go back to their farm to live.

As the story has progressed the life of Wang Lung and his family is filled with many trials, famine, homelessness, death of family members(including their children), and then success. As Wang Lung proceeds through his life he works through many struggles, even after his success. It is a story about life, the reader is able to see another person’s experiences from the outside, looking in. If you are looking for excitement and suspense this is not the book for you. It is a slow(not boring)winding read through the lifetime of a struggling family and the lengths they go to in order to survive, and then ultimately achieve success of sorts.

I truly enjoyed this book filled with trials, joy, love, successes and even typical family struggles that we still go through today. Pearl S. Buck, born to missionary parents, had the opportunity to live in China with her parents when most of the world little understood Chinese culture of the day. In her time she effectively opened a window into understanding Chinese culture and their struggles through her writings.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • KimberlyLake profile imageAUTHOR

      Kimberly Lake 

      6 years ago from California

      @praireprincess Thank you for the comment. She is one of my favorite authors, I think her books are an important read. My son, who is 21 loved this book, it moved him to tears when Olan died. Buck was a powerful writer and her books are still a great read.

    • prairieprincess profile image

      Sharilee Swaity 

      6 years ago from Canada

      Kimberly, you have chosen one of my favourite authors to review. The Good Earth is such a simple yet profound read. Great review! Thanks for reminding me of one of my old favourites.

    • KimberlyLake profile imageAUTHOR

      Kimberly Lake 

      6 years ago from California

      She Successfully portrayed life and culture of China in that period. I feel that her works are important tools for learning about that time period. Thanks for your comment.

    • Vinaya Ghimire profile image

      Vinaya Ghimire 

      6 years ago from Nepal

      The story of a Chinese farmer's family has been wonderfully handled in The Good Earth. I read this novel when I was in school, but I still remember the happenings in Wang Lung's family

    • KimberlyLake profile imageAUTHOR

      Kimberly Lake 

      6 years ago from California

      Let me know what you think. Enjoy!

    • tobusiness profile image

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      6 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Hi Kimberly, I am not familiar with this author, but having read your review, I will be looking out for the books.

    • KimberlyLake profile imageAUTHOR

      Kimberly Lake 

      6 years ago from California

      Thanks for the comments let me know what you think of the book

    • healthwriterbob profile image

      healthwriterbob 

      6 years ago from United States

      Hi KimberlyLake,

      Thanks for reviewing this work by Pearl Buck. I may want to read it now that I see that it has lessons for everyone. You are right that Pearl Buck was ahead of her time because back then very few people cared about Chinese culture and traditions. Take care

    • KimberlyLake profile imageAUTHOR

      Kimberly Lake 

      6 years ago from California

      Yes, I love her work! I have read a few of her books and I plan to read them all.

    • Tuesdays child profile image

      Tuesdays child 

      6 years ago from In the garden

      Very nice hub! I agree with you 100% on Pearl S. Buck's work and this story - superb!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)