ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

The Help- A Review

Updated on July 12, 2011

Not Your Everyday Southern Novel

A Reader's Novel

If you’re an avid reader, I know you’ve experienced at least one book that stayed with you even as you slept—a book that the closer you got to the conclusion, the more you resisted finishing because you didn’t really want the story to end. I’ve experienced a story like that more than once-- the most recent one being The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Set in Mississippi during the cultural transitioning of the 1960’s, The Help is a story of the triumph of the human spirit.

The Story's Affect

To be honest, this review is coming after I read The Help for the second time. Upon the first reading last spring, I was too full to review it. What filled me was the simplicity of the storytelling juxtaposed against the bitter-sweet ending. Some of the book made me sad; a few instances made me angry. Not 1960’s angry, just human being angry. And I didn’t think I could do the book justice. I’m still not sure.

Characterization

The strength of the novel hinges on its characterization. Ms. Stockett gives readers major insights into the personalities and motivation of the three protagonists: Aibileen is grounded in her relationship to God, not at all the Mammy she could have turned into. Minny is strong and angry, yet lovingly sacrificial, not the loud scary stereotype a less objective writer would have created. Skeeter is sympathetically torn between the culture which she has heretofore accepted and a life so foreign, she can’t even envision it. The major antagonist, Hilly is so entrenched in the culture the time that her racist rants don’t really offend. Readers see beyond her words and behavior and just shake our heads. We expected her. Ms. Stockett’s characters balance the story: not all the Black characters are innocent; not all the White characters are guilty.


The Plot

The plot is simple. Skeeter, the one White protagonist, wants to be a writer. She gets the idea from her friend’s maid to write about the love/hate relationships between whites and their help, the maids. Constantine, her family’s former maid had given Skeeter just enough personal substance to make her question the South’s “Jim Crow” system but not enough to evaluate it objectively as wrong. The more she gets to know her co-conspirators and the more stories she records, the more her values solidify. Stockett piques readers’ interest early with the question of where Constantine is and why she quit her job. Each time Skeeter asks that question readers need the answer. When Skeeter finally learns what happened, she knows the maids’ stories must be told. Because the maids know the danger they will be in if the story is published, no one initially agrees to talk to Skeeter, but a personal indignity against first Aibileen then Minny wins those two over. And a full fledged crisis of consciousness eventually wins over the rest. Some of the stories are loving; some are not, but once the book is published, the issue becomes that the maids talked about their employers at all. There are definite repercussions.


Recommendation

Ms. Stockett’s goal is to show the artificiality of the lines that separate race and class. I believe she did that, though the message is so subtle it can easily be overlooked. Stockett pecks away at the lines in the telling of the sub stories and the sacrifices characters from both races make for their counterparts. Because the three main characters’ lives change drastically by the end of the novel, readers leave the story hopeful that the ladies' shared sacrifice was worthwhile to each individually. I highly recommend The Help; its 444 pages use simple vocabulary, making it a relatively quick read, and there is enough intrigue to hook you immediately . Since it will definitely leave you wanting more, you should check your local movie listings to see when it's coming to a theater near you. I can hardly wait!


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 6 years ago from Wales

      A great review and I will have to keep a lookout for this one. thank you for sharing and here's to many more hubs to share.

      Take care

      Eiddwen.

    • profile image

      mebsmith 6 years ago

      Not a fan of servant stories, but will see the movie based on your review.

    • Lady_E profile image

      Elena 6 years ago from London, UK

      Thanks for the lovely review. I look forward to either reading it or seeing the movie.

      Best Wishes.

    • susannah42 profile image

      susannah42 6 years ago from Florida

      It is by far the best book I have ever read. Hope the move measures up.

    • profile image

      jdove-miller 6 years ago

      I hope you guys WILL read it. Donna, You may borrow my copy.

    • susanlang profile image

      susanlang 6 years ago

      Now you have my interest and I'd like to read this one.

    • jponiato profile image

      jponiato 6 years ago from Mid-Michigan

      Very insightful review. It has piqued my interest.

    • DonnaCSmith profile image

      Donna Campbell Smith 6 years ago from Central North Carolina

      I want to read this book! Dineane has read it and I may have to drive down and borrow her copy:o) Excellent review, as always.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)