ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Revolution Will Not Be Microwaved: A Review

Updated on March 13, 2011

The Revolution Will Not Be Microwaved


Inside America’s Underground Food Movements

Sandor Ellix Katz

ISBN: 1-933392-11-8
OLD ISBN: 1-933392-11-8
Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing
Release Date: 2006-10-24


In a previous hub, I made a short reference to this book; however, I feel it is now time to take a closer look.

Everything gardens. Why, because, all living beings must have nourishment. This is a basic need. How we garden varies from species to species but all living beings need to obtain food. This basic need is also our common ground: a place where we can come together and reclaim our communities.


Food production and food distribution, when carried out to meet this basic need, are the common ground upon which we can build sustainable communities. Food production, otherwise known as agriculture and food processing, can create sustainable employment, healthy neighbourhoods and a strong local economy.


How we grow and transport food from the farm to the kitchen defines our society. Fast Food is becoming our most popular food delivery system and it is one of the most environmentally unfriendly.


It is not sustainable to use so much energy to produce the paper, plastic, Styrofoam and cardboard that we all too often find on our highways, sidewalks and city streets. How many miles does that ‘special’ meal travel before you eat it? How many gallons of fossil fuel are used in its production, storage and distribution?


A certified organic label means that no synthetic products have been used in the food production processes, this includes livestock feed. Organic food may still travel hundreds and thousands of miles from where it is produced to where it is consumed.


This transportation requires fossil fuel use just as non-organic food does. The organic labels do not guarantee that there is equity in the work place or that fair labour practices exist.


Food is the foundation and future of any society. For example, if you are interested in your local economy, a focus on food will help you to find the appropriate path.

Where it comes from, how was it grown, who grew it, are all crucial questions?

A basic cultural change, reducing the distance that food travels from where it is grown to here you prepare and eat it, can truly change society. It is time to bring the field closer to the kitchen. There are many pathways that you can travel while changing how you feed yourself and family.

Sandor Ellix Katz’s book, The Revolution Will Not Be Microwaved , introduces us to people who are moving the field closer to the table. The people who we meet in Katz’s book are reclaiming their right to not only eat healthy, wholesome food, but are also, asserting their right to grow and process what they eat for themselves and bring to the marketplace.


If your friends and family refer to you as a “foodie” then when you read Katz’s book you will meet people who are journeying along a similar path.

From road kill gourmets to bread club members, the people you encounter while reading Katz’s book have rejected the mass industrial food complex that dominates North American food choices. Katz introduces us to people who know there are choices and who are willing to act upon that knowledge. Taking charge of your food supply, even in a small way, is a liberating and healthy act.

Katz’s book will assist you to create your own pathway out of the corporate food maze as you read about others who have already done so. Join the revolution today and go dumpster diving with a friend.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Bob Ewing profile imageAUTHOR

    Bob Ewing 

    8 years ago from New Brunswick

    Thanks and thanks for dropping by.

  • Ben Zoltak profile image

    Ben Zoltak 

    8 years ago from Lake Mills, Jefferson County, Wisconsin USA

    Great review Mr. Ewing. Also, nice profile pic, your's is the first hub I've read because I had to see what the bearded fella with the hat and glasses writes about. Your writing is concise and has a good rhythm to it!

  • Bob Ewing profile imageAUTHOR

    Bob Ewing 

    8 years ago from New Brunswick

    The outside aisles are were the real food is. Thanks for dropping by.

  • SoftCornHippo profile image

    SoftCornHippo 

    8 years ago

    Thanks for the reminder about food travelling - as for dumpster diving - it probly helps to have access to a shower or bath afterwards! I read once that just staying on the outside aisles at the supermarket can reduce your calories and make you very much healthier - it works- but so hard to resist those cheetos!!

  • Bob Ewing profile imageAUTHOR

    Bob Ewing 

    8 years ago from New Brunswick

    Thanks for dropping by, real food beats the processed stuff any time.

  • Dolores Monet profile image

    Dolores Monet 

    8 years ago from East Coast, United States

    Interesting hub. It seems like the obesity epidemic is linked to our intake of processed, manufactured foods. Good, old fashioned fresh food is better for you and tastes better too!

  • Bob Ewing profile imageAUTHOR

    Bob Ewing 

    8 years ago from New Brunswick

    Thanks for dropping by.

  • Carmen Borthwick profile image

    Carmen Borthwick 

    8 years ago from Maple Ridge, B.C.

    Another interesting hub, thanks Bob.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)