ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Road Virus Heads North: A Good Quick Read, If You Like Horror

Updated on February 21, 2016

Review of The Road Virus Heads North By Stephen King


Stephen King’s The Road Virus Heads North

Overall Rating: A Good Short Scary Read

Okay. If you been reading my blogs, then you may have noticed I'm not a big horror fan. They just don't scare me. The books try to be suspenseful and I get bored, or they try to be spooky and its just cheesy. And sometimes, the big bad monster will pop up and the whole story will just get silly. So I'm clearly not demographic for horror novels, which is so odd because I love scary movies so much. Because of this, I will always give horror books (or in this case a short story) a shot. So for this review, its the short story The Road Virus Heads North by Stephen King.


The Road Virus Heads North is not truly a novel and is only a short story about fifteen pages long. It can be found online and is in his short story collections. I found it in Everything’s Eventual. But what is it about? The story follows a horror author Robert Kinnell. While driving home one day, he stops at a yard sale. There he buys a gruesome painting that he is attracted by some unknown force. At the yard sale woman there tells him about the fate of the painter and how he went insane and destroyed nearly all of his paintings before he died. So following the traditional Horror 101 cliche, Robert is stupid and buys it anyway.The story chronicles his trip home. Along the way, he becomes filled with dread and encounters some unsettling things. He soon begins to believe that the painting is cursed.

So let's get going for the good and bad? Let's start with the bad. This story is not scary. It tries to be a thriller, but fails miserably. The story goes solely for suspense and focuses on Robert questioning himself a lot. The story drags in the middle a lot. It is trying its hardest to build up suspense, but ultimately end up boring the reader. Also there were a couple scenes that were unrealistic. I mean it was so unrealistic that it bugged me. I know many people may love Stephen King and defend him a lot, but, he strays from reality a lot. It is one of my pet peeves about Stephen King, so I won't ramble on about that.

The good? The end is great. The ending is creepy and I loved it. It leaves the reader on a cliffhanger, letting the reader imagine do the rest. It does it in a smart way leaving this sense of unknown and dread. It was a great move and it was done so well. I have seen other authors try the same thing, and end up with poor results. But this was done right. It forces the reader to use their imagination to figure things out. Also there were a couple bits that seemed so unrealistic that I was like, oh come on!

So overall it’s good quick read. Its not the greatest read, but for any reader this is the sort of read that anyone can appreciate. The story is a good read for anyone who likes horror. It is also a wonderful read if you are a Stephen King fan.

Rating: 2 ½ Smoothies out of four.

Have you read this story?

Share your opinion. What did you think?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)