ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Secret Life of Bees Book Review

Updated on March 15, 2020
Marie Flint profile image

Marie studied at Michigan State University four years in English (creative writing). She writes content, poetry, and stories.

The social structure of worker, nursing, queen-tending, and house-cleaning bees serves as a metaphor for the protagonist Lily Owen's need to find maternal emotional support in the presence of an abusive, widowed father.

Kidd, Sue Monk; The Secret Life of Bees; Penguin Putnam, Inc., New York; 2002 pp. 302 ISBN 0-14-200174-0

About the Author

Sue Monk Kidd was born in Albany, Georgia, on August 12, 1948, under Leo, the heart sign, to Leah and Ridley Monk. She grew up nearby in Sylvester and achieved a B.S. in Nursing at Texas Christian University in 1970. Upon returning to Georgia, Kidd worked as a nursing instructor at the Medical College of Georgia (later Georgia Health Sciences University), before committing herself to her literary pursuits. She studied creative writing at Emory University and Anderson College (later Anderson University) in Anderson, South Carolina, and published her first book, God's Joyful Surprise, in 1987. The Secret Life of Bees is the author's first novel.

Sue Monk Kidd on Storytelling and Writing

Layout of the Book

The story consists of 14 untitled chapters, each introduced by a fact about bees. Four such facts are as follows:

  1. Honeybees depend not only on physical contact with the colony, but also require its social companionship and support. Isolate a honeybee from her sisters and she will soon die. -- Chapter Eight
  2. A bee's life is but short. During spring and summer--the most strenuous periods of foraging---a worker bee, as a rule, does not live more than four or five weeks....Threatened by all kinds of dangers during their foraging flights, many workers die before they have reached even that age. -- Chapter Ten
  3. It takes honeybee workers ten million foraging trips to gather enough nectar to make one pound of honey. -- Chapter Eleven
  4. A worker [bee] is just over a centimeter long and weighs only about sixty milligrams; nevertheless, she can fly with a load heavier than herself. -- Chapter Thirteen

Each chapter averages about 22 pages in length.

In her Acknowledgments, Ms. Monk credits the Greens at Pot o'Gold Honey Company in South Carolina for teaching her about the beekeeping business.

In the back of the book, the author cites six references that supplemented her learning about the life of bees. These are:

  • Gould, James L. and Carol Grant Gould; The Honey Bee
  • Longgood, William; The Queen Must Die: And Other Affairs of Bees and Men
  • Newman, L. H.; Man and Insects
  • O'Toole, Christopher and Anthony Raw; Bees of the World
  • Simon, Hilda; Exploring the World of Social Insects
  • Von Frisch, Karl; The Dancing Bees

The back of the book also includes the publisher's reading guide to the story in three parts: an introduction, a conversation with the author, and questions for discussion that could be useful to literature teachers or a literary club.

Main Characters of The Secret Life of Bees

While there are 15 or more characters in this novel, the most significant are as follows:

Lily Melissa Owens - 14-year-old female narrator and protagonist

Deborah Fontanel Owens - Lily's deceased mother

T. Ray Owens - Lily's father, a peach farmer

Rosaleen Daise - Lily's nanny who actively defies social biases

August Boatwright - eldest sister of three and owner of the beekeeping business

June Boatwright - second sister who is a musician

May Boatwright - youngest, highly sensitive sister with special needs

Zachary Lincoln Taylor - August's employed hand to help with beekeeping and honey delivery

Rising Action

Lily describes the night of her mother's death on page 7:

I don't remember what they [Lily's parents] said, only the furry of their words, how the air turned raw and full of welts. Later it would remind me of birds trapped inside a closed room, flinging [sic] themselves against the windows and the walls, against each other. I inched backward, deeper into the closet, feeling my fingers in my mouth, the taste of shoes, of feet.

And further down on pages 7-8:

Time folded in on itself then. What is left lies in clear yet disjointed pieces in my head. The gun shining like a toy in her hand, how he snatched it away and waved it around. The gun on the floor. Bending to pick it up. The noise that exploded around us.

This is what I know about myself. She was all I wanted. And I took her away.

Subplots

Apart from Lily's abusive relationship by her father, this is the time in the deep south when the colored people are struggling for their civil rights. President Lyndon Johnson signs the Civil Rights Act into law (July 2, 1964). On page 32, a passage describes Rosaleen's encounter with three white men as she's heading to register to vote. The men taunt the nanny about her color and size. A question with an innuendo of stealing comes from the third man, and Rosaleen obliges his suspicions with a fabricated statement, "Stole it from a church." After that, she spreads her snuff juice from her jug over the men's shoes.

. . . . I watched their faces go from surprise to anger, then outright fury. They lunged at her [Rosaleen], and everything started to spin. There was Rosaleen, grabbed and thrashing side to side, swinging the men like pocketbooks on her arm, and the men yelling for her to apologize and clean their shoes.

A police officer arrests Rosaleen.

On page 154, gossip begins to rise over white movie actor Jack Palance intending to escort a black lady into a local Tiburon theater. Hearing the discussion between August and Zach, Lily narrates:

. . . and it washed over me for the first time in my life just how much importance the world had ascribed to skin pigment, how lately it seemed that skin pigment was the sun and everything else in the universe was the orbiting planets. Ever since school let out this summer, it had been nothing but skin pigment every livelong day. I was sick of it.

The Black Madonna

The Black Madonna is the picture Lily's mother had kept, the back of which read "Tiburon, South Carolina."
The Black Madonna is the picture Lily's mother had kept, the back of which read "Tiburon, South Carolina."

The Black Madonna in the Sisters' Home

"She was one of those figures that had leaned out from the front of a ship in olden times . . . . She was black as she could be, twisted like driftwood from being out in the weather . . . . Her right arm was raised, as if she were pointing the way, except her fingers were closed in a fist. It gave her a serious look, like she could straighten you out if necessary. Even though she . . . didn't resemble the picture on the honey jar, I knew who she was." --Lily Owens, p. 70

Commentary

Two things kept me reading this novel: 1) the delightful interspersed facts and passages within the narrative about beekeeping, and 2) August Boatwright's mature wisdom in dealing with Lily and May--Lily may be the main character, but for me, August left the greatest admirable impression. If these two factors had been missing from the story, I probably would have closed the book and put it in the "Donate" pile because Lily's language and habits are rough, as well as the intermittent tension created through the characters Rosaleen and others on the civil rights issue.

Reviewers noted the significance of the Black Madonna in the story; however, this symbol was not new to me. The icon is well represented in European churches. The figure serves as protection for soon-to-be mothers. In the story, it represents the innate power of woman.

The characters themselves become friends and acquaintances, Lily with her quick-thinking and daring actions (in spite of her language and lies), Rosaleen with her loyalty to Lily, even when Lily ruffles Rosaleen's conscience, and May with her ever-so-sensitive heart for her family and people of the world.

The story contains elements of science, social importance, issues of women, innocence, and bits of amusement. In other words, the book impressed me to the point where I wanted to write a book review about it--and that's saying something.

The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees

Here's the book in paperback, if you care to own a copy for reading after this book review. This could be a helpful gift for a troubled young girl coming of age.

 

Other Books by Sue Monk Kidd

The Dance of the Dissident Daughter

When the Heart Waits

The Mermaid Chair

Traveling with Pomegranates

Supplemental and Referenced Material

Introduction to Beekeeping

Story of the Black Madonna

Cliff Notes on The Secret Life of Bees (Biography of Sue Monk Kidd)

Georgia Encyclopedia (Additional Sue Kidd Biographical Information)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Marie Flint profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Flint 

      9 days ago from Tawas City, Michigan USA

      Denise, it's quite possible your local library may have a copy of this. If not, just click on the Amazon link I provided.

      One reviewer's comment was to the effect that she didn't want to leave "that pink house." Quite frankly, neither did I. August, even at my age, is someone I look up to. She exudes patience and wisdom, certainly qualities needed to run a business and care for bees, let alone handle characters like Lily and May.

      Blessings!

    • Marie Flint profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Flint 

      9 days ago from Tawas City, Michigan USA

      Thank you, Jo, for the read and comment. It's quite possible I may be reading more of Sue Kidd's books myself. This one was a gift to me.

    • PAINTDRIPS profile image

      Denise McGill 

      9 days ago from Fresno CA

      My dad was a beekeeper and loved his bees. He would get mad at us when one of them stung us, accusing us of killing his workers. I haven't read this book but I know I would find it fascinating with all the bee facts. I need to go purchase it.

      Blessings,

      Denise

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 

      9 days ago from Tennessee

      Very good review. I enjoyed this book when I read it several years ago, but I remember little about it. I was familiar with the author's writings before I read the book, but don't remember exactly where I had read her before. I may have to look her writings up again.

    • Marie Flint profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Flint 

      2 weeks ago from Tawas City, Michigan USA

      As a child, I was fascinated by bees, especially honey bees. The smell of sweet honey and beeswax would permeate my mother's bedroom in the summer, especially when a gentle southwestern breeze came through the windows. Later in a monthly children's publication (Scholastic or National Geographic--I can't remember which), I learned how the bees "dance" to communicate to other gatherers in the hive about the location of nectar-filled flowers. The dance used angles between the horizon and the sun--fascinating!

      One time, a swarm covered a small fruit sapling. The swarm was so big and heavy, the poor fruit tree was bent to the ground. My father knew a man from work who kept honey bees as an income-earning hobby. The man came, expertly found the queen, and guided her to the box hive, which he had baited with sweet nectar. All the others in the swarm followed.

    • Marie Flint profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Flint 

      2 weeks ago from Tawas City, Michigan USA

      I agree, Doris, it isn't for everyone. Who wants to keep dwelling on the old problems of the South, for one thing? I didn't care for Lily's language and lying habit. Not everyone is into bees, either, like some of us. Women's issues? That could be written about from a more mature perspective.

      Thank you for the read and comment. Always appreciated!

    • Marie Flint profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Flint 

      2 weeks ago from Tawas City, Michigan USA

      Same here, Pamela. They are such loyal little creatures to their queen and hive. Where would we be without pollinators for our fruits, vegetables, and flowers? Love 'em.

    • MizBejabbers profile image

      Doris James MizBejabbers 

      2 weeks ago from Beautiful South

      I read this book a number of years ago, I guess because it generated so much publicity. This genre of book is very popular among book clubs and ladies groups. Frankly, it isn't my cup of tea and I passed it along to my mother. She enjoyed it.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      2 weeks ago from Sunny Florida

      This is a very good book review. I have always been interested in the b ees for some reason, and I think because of have concern for their survival.

    • Marie Flint profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Flint 

      2 weeks ago from Tawas City, Michigan USA

      Thank you, Liz. It's hard to represent a book when so much is going on in it. I gave it my best.

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      2 weeks ago from UK

      This is a good review of an interesting book.

    • Marie Flint profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Flint 

      2 weeks ago from Tawas City, Michigan USA

      There's actually a movie based on this novel. In reviewing some of the trailers on YouTube, I would have casted the characters differently.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)