ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Secret of Crickley Hall Book Review

Updated on June 14, 2020

About the book

  • Author: James Herbert
  • Published: 2006
  • Publisher:Macmillan
  • Pages: 633

The Book

Gabe and Eve Caleigh are distraught after their son, Cam, mysteriously disappears. So when Gabe gets a short term job project in the small Devonshire village of Hollow Bay, he thinks it's a good idea to take Eve and their 2 daughters, Loren and Cally there for a while. He thinks the break will do them good and for Eve to come to terms with everything that has happened. They find a large, gothic style house to rent. Little do they know that Crickley Hall has a past, and not a good one. Their dog, Chester, seems to get a sense of what it's like right from the start. And as anyone who has had a dog, if a dog doesn't like something or someone, then you know that something is wrong.

Back during World War 2, Crickley Hall was an orphanage that housed 11 orphans that were evacuated there for safely. The house was run by brother and sister Augustus and Magda Criben. To the local community, and especially the Vicar at the Church, they were fine, upstanding members of the community. But behind closed doors, things are very, very different. The children are tormented by the Criben siblings in every aspect of their lives. All but one of the children were killed, assumed drowned in the big flood that ravaged the town. The flood is one of the stories that keeps popping up in the book as in the cellar of Crickley House is a well, and the river can be heard gushing underneath.

There are really 2 stories taking place in this book really. You've got the flood that happened, and also the ghosts that still haunt Crickley House. Augusts Cribens may have also died at the time, but his tormented spirit still has a hold on anyone that lives in Crickley Hall. Swish-twack. This is what can often be heard by the the Caleigh family. Augustus used his cane often. And with the children having died the way they did, their souls aren't at rest so they also haunt the home.

Although Magda, still lives on in a residential home for the elderly, she does not give any secrets away. Gabe decides to visit her one day to shed some light on Crickley Hall. But she just sit there - staring into space. The staff inform him that since she came into the home, she has not muttered 1 word to either them or the other residents. Although she is quite capable of doing so.

Apart from all this going on, there is also the story of Gabe and Eve suffering with the disappearance of their son, Cam. All this will come to a conclusion in the book.

My thoughts

This is the first time I have read one of James Herbert's books, but I really enjoyed it. It's been a while since I read a horror story. What I liked about this book is that the chapters are not too long, so you can easily read a chapter, and come back to the book later.

The plot was really good. I thought the author had a good way of setting the scene so you get an idea of what's going on and who the people are. He gave a good description of how the family looked, so you get a mental image of how they look in your mind. Not only that, but also their personalities. You get a good sense of how the family interacted with each other. James Herbert really had a way of describing Crickley Hall and how it's gothic architecture added to the dark ghostly beings that resided in it. Of course, with it being a horror story, it was constantly raining, which added to the dark storyline.

I found it genuinely scary in some parts. Especially the parts with Augustus Criben and his sister Magda. You can certainly understand why the place is haunted and why nobody ever stays that long. James is really good at describing the events that have taken place in the past. Not only that, but he's good at telling the reader the underlying raw fear that the children suffered under the hands of Augustus and Magda, and also how the current family are suffering by living there.

I really did enjoy this book. I'll definitely purchase more of his books to read. This book left me on the edge of my seat, and kept me wanting to turn the page to see what happens next. If horror is your cup of tea, then I would recommend this book.

The Secrets of Crickley Hall book

© 2020 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      13 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for this review. Having so many parallel plots in one story makes the book appealing for me. The horror is the deterrent. Good work on your part.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      13 months ago from USA

      I’ve been looking for a good book and this sounds like a good one. Thank you for reviewing it and bringing it to our attention.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      13 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I generally don't read horror stories, but the one that you've described sounds intriguing. Thanks for the review. I'll look for the book and for some other ones written by James Herbert.

    • Lorna Lamon profile image

      Lorna Lamon 

      13 months ago

      I love a good horror story, and this one appears to have a good plot. Definitely intrigued. A great review Louise.

    • Lora Hollings profile image

      Lora Hollings 

      13 months ago

      This sounds like a gripping story! I usually stay away from horror as I can be quite affected by it. But, if it’s a really well crafted story, then I push on with it. The last horror book I read was “The Shining,” by Stephen King which is more of a psychological thriller. This book sounds a little bit like the story in “The Innocents,” by Henry James which I read back in high school. It’s not only a great ghost story but brilliantly written. This book sounds fascinating as well. And you did such a great job on your review, Louise, that I really want to read it now! It sounds like he’s a very good writer which always helps to make a book a really good one to read! Thanks for sharing.

    • justthemessenger profile image

      James C Moore 

      13 months ago from Joliet, IL

      I don't normally read books from the horror genre. And, I'm not familiar with this author. But, your good review peaked my interest in both.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      13 months ago from Sunny Florida

      I have not read a horror story in quite a while but this one definitely sounds good. It really sounds like the plot is good and it sounds like he developed the characters very well. Thank you, Louise.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)