ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Vow By Kim Carpenter: A Book Review

Updated on April 26, 2017
Source


I had seen the advertisements on television for the new movie, ‘The Vow,” starring Rachel McAdams, Channing Tatum, and Jessica Lange. I looked forward to one day seeing the movie. And I also thought it would be interesting to read the book. I totally enjoy a good love story, and I mistakenly believed this book was written by Nicholas Sparks, that wonderful author famous for penning juicy love stories that often as of late have been turned into blockbuster movies. Imagine my surprise when I downloaded, ”The Vow” onto my Nook only to discover not only was this not a book written by Nicholas Sparks but is a true love story.

“The Vow” was written by Kim Carpenter, a man whose wife had gotten terribly hurt in a car accident in November of 1993 shortly after they were married. In fact, the medical personnel that treated her on that first night all expected her to die. Due to the accident, Krickitt Carpenter was so hurt that she needed months of rehabilitation. She also had amnesia so did not even remember that she was married. She did have memories of people who had been in her life way in the past, so she recognized her family, but not her husband Kim.

The story is a heart wrenching, tear jerking one of one man’s commitment to his wedding vow to love and to cherish, “till death do us part.’ The book begins with the beginning of their relationship. They were both Christians who wanted to take things slowly and build the type of relationship that would honor Christ as the center of their love. The story moves on to their wedding, and shortly after, the accident that would change the course of their lives forever. It is a story that is almost too good to be true, but shows what a true Christian commitment to love and marriage is all about.

During the time of the rehabilitation, the reader watches the struggle both Kim and his wife struggle with finding out who she is now, after the accident, and their attempt to fall in love, or at least grow in love all over again. One of the nicest additions to the book is the pictures that the couple included. These pictures range from them before they met, through their dating days, and their wedding, as well as pictures that are more current.

This book is a true testament to the sacrament of the wedding vow, and to how love and a true believer’s faith can carry them through anything. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it for anyone who enjoys a good love story, and is also a Christian. Because a lot of the book deals with the tremendous faith this couple has in Jesus Christ and how that faith can carry anyone through great tragedy, it is an example to others as well as an interesting story. The book is also easy to read quickly.

This paperback book is currently available on sale at Barnes and Noble for $8.49 and also at Amazon.com for the same price. It is available at Barnes and Noble for the Nook at $7.50.

4.5 out of 5 stars from 2 ratings of The Vow by Kim Carpenter

The Vow Poll

Have Your read this Book?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • David Warren profile image

      David Warren 4 years ago from Nevada

      I'm going to be honest here and admit I won't be putting this on my reading list. However I did see the movie with my wife. I was expecting it to be a "chic flick" and was quite surprised that indeed it was a great, uplifting positive story, based on a true life event, and had plenty of substance. Thank you for this hub that reminded me what a wonderful movie this was.

    • Karen Hellier profile image
      Author

      Karen Hellier 4 years ago from Georgia

      David Warren,

      Thanks for your honesty and I totally understand. Not all books are for every one. Actually, the movie was a disappointment to me compared to the book. But I am glad you liked it. Probably if I had seen the movie first I would have liked it better. Thanks for stopping by.

    • carol7777 profile image

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      I also so the movie. I saw her perform in Vegas many years ago..She was pretty skinny and angry that Neil Sedaka her opening act got more applause. Thanks for sharing this..great job.

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools99 4 years ago from North-East UK

      Interesting review. I might give the book a try but I will read it before seeing the movie. I am usually always disappointed by a film adaptation though I quite like the stars in this movie so will give it a shot.

    • carol7777 profile image

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Oops I thought Karen Carpenter... Will have to try this book.

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 4 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      My wife and I thoroughly enjoy movies of this genre, and so it was delightful to see my friend from the East Coast write a wonderful hub review of it.

      Busy beaver me needs to set time aside for self-indulgence in the reading of inspirational stories like this one and potato time on the couch watching this movie and others like it.

      Thanks for filling me in on a movie the title of which I recognized...but knew nothing else about.

      BTW, your and your husband's hands look great in the photo above! What a nice, complementary (and complimentary), and loving touch to your article!

    • Karen Hellier profile image
      Author

      Karen Hellier 4 years ago from Georgia

      Hawaiinodysseus,

      So great to see that you stopped by. I was hoping that you might have seen some of the pictures I took on our cruise and maybe comment on the Hawaiian ones? They are in the hub about what I did on our one month cruise vacation. Thanks for such a nice comment about the picture. I downloaded the book on my nook to read on the cruise, then realized I didn't have an actual picture of the book itself. Since our hands represented a vow my husband and I took, I figured it would suffice! I found the end of this book to be much more satisfying than the movie, especially because the book is true life! Let me know what you think if you read it/see the movie!

    • Karen Hellier profile image
      Author

      Karen Hellier 4 years ago from Georgia

      carol7777,

      I read this comment before I read your previous one above...no problem!

    • Karen Hellier profile image
      Author

      Karen Hellier 4 years ago from Georgia

      Well I enjoyed the book more Jools99. It has a better ending, especially because it really happened!

    • Karen Hellier profile image
      Author

      Karen Hellier 4 years ago from Georgia

      Uh, okay, you clarified below that you thought this was about Karen Carpenter, but now I am curious...how did you know Karen was angry about Neil Sedaka's applause? Did she actually complain to the audience?

    • Monis Mas profile image

      Aga 4 years ago

      I haven't read the book, but I saw the movie. I liked it, but I also thought it was based on Nicholas Sparks's novel! Anyway, I read a few stories regarding the couple who had the awful accident in the real life, and their story is very far from the story told in the movie. I have to say I was disappointed that the plot has been altered so much.

    • Karen Hellier profile image
      Author

      Karen Hellier 4 years ago from Georgia

      Monis Mas,

      I was disappointed in the movie in that way as well. If you read the book, you will probably enjoy it. I have separated the book from the movie in my own mind. If you look at the movie as a separate entity, it is a good movie. Thanks for commenting.

    Click to Rate This Article