ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Enticing Summer Reads Of 2015, Multiple Genres Featured, Official And Personal Reviews and Synopsis Given

Updated on October 15, 2015

Welcome To My Reviews!

These are books I have recently read and highly recommend. Below are the books shown as:

  • Official synopsis* (and/or review)
  • Alice's synopsis (and/or review)
  • A picture of the cover

*All official things are marked with the copyright symbol as not to accidentally associate or confuse it with my words.

A Fantasy TitlesTo Make Your Summer

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs©

"A New York Times #1 best seller
On the New York Times Best Seller List for more than 52 consecutive weeks
Includes an excerpt from the much-anticipated sequel and an interview with author Ransom Riggs

A mysterious island.


An abandoned orphanage.


A strange collection of very curious photographs.


It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive. 

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

“A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story.”—John Green, New York Timesbest-selling author of The Fault in Our Stars

“With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it’s no wonder Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+”—Entertainment Weekly

“‘Peculiar’ doesn’t even begin to cover it. Riggs’ chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies.”—People

“You’ll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It’s a mystery, and you’ll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself.”—Seventeen"©


"Unusual photos and the mysterious last words of his Grandfather sends Jacob into a frenzy. All the things he wanted to believe as a child come face to face in a clash with his failing reality. When the one person who loves Jacob wholeheartedly dies, his world starts changing in ways others deem unhealthy.

Despite this, Jacob is determined to unravel the mysteries his Grandfather left behind; the photos, his last words, his family's distaste with Grandpa Abe. This book shows that not everything meets the eye, and that anything is possible if you're willing to accept it, no matter how peculiar it may seem." - Alice Rose

I like this book alot. This book is part of a two book set (so far), and is delightfully delectable. The photos Ransom describes are included in the content, and while the story isn't all care free, la-de-da, it does present a good mix of fantasy, mystery, romance, and suspense that will keep almost anyone reading it. The content is beautifully woven and moves at just the right clip to keep the reader in the loop instead of too far behind or ahead.

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs

You Can't Hide From This Thriller!

Ten by Gretchen McNeil©

"From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?"©

"When Minnie and Meg head out to a party on a friend's private island property, the last thing either of the girls expects is for a murder mystery to swallow them, and their weekend, up. With ten teenagers, all friends of the party host's, crammed into an island mansion with an unknown killer in their midst, things get well...sketchy, messy even. Meg is determined to keep her life in check, and keep her bipolar best friend level-headed during this weekend trauma. But will she be able to handle all of her self assigned challenges in the midst of her friend's? And better yet, will she be able to juggle it all as their numbers begin to dwindle?" -Alice Rose


This book had my brain on edge trying to figure out the workings of this mysterious and entertaining book. Ten is an enthralling read that makes even the most trustworthy people question the motives of some of their most nearest and dearest. This book has a very good hook to it, and leads to the reader almost instinctively wanting to know what's next? A slight horror theme mingles in with this mystery/thriller, making it edgy and intriguing to the reader. An amazing catch for those who want a little suspense for the summer.

Ten By Gretchen McNeil
Ten By Gretchen McNeil

Sci-fi For The Win

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau©

"It’s graduation day for sixteen-year-old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating. All Cia can think about—hope for—is whether she’ll be chosen for The Testing, a United Commonwealth program that selects the best and brightest new graduates to become possible leaders of the slowly revitalizing post-war civilization. When Cia is chosen, her father finally tells her about his own nightmarish half-memories of The Testing. Armed with his dire warnings (”Cia, trust no one”), she bravely heads off to Tosu City, far away from friends and family, perhaps forever. Danger, romance—and sheer terror—await."©

"In the case of Cia Vale, trust is both the greatest weapon and the greatest enemy. In a failing society, she is forced to chose between friends and life, safety of herself or of others. When Cia is finally chosen for her biggest dream, her father warns her of what it might entail. While he himself participated in the same process, he cannot recall but dashes of the experience and parts her with words of warning("Trust no one"). Armed with truth, love, friends, and high hopes, Cia's story unfolds in ways she never expected in this thrilling trilogy." -Alice Rose

This series connects very well with multitudes of teenagers/adolescents, themes of friendship, trust, and love are inter-woven into themes of tragedy, betrayal, and loss. This book captures one of many of my favorite perspectives of a dystopian novel. The logic Charbonneau laces this trilogy with is expert and just intricate enough for the less experienced minds to unravel by themselves. In other words, it's a beautiful story that is extremely deep but neither too loose or too complicated. The Testing harbors just the right amount of each element and doesn't drag the story out past what needs to be said in order to be understood. This well concocted mix of dystopia and sci-fi is stunning in a multitude of ways that need to be shared.

The Testing By Joelle Charbonneau
The Testing By Joelle Charbonneau

Don't Worry, This Mystery Is History!

The Forgetting By Nicole Maggi©

"Georgie's new heart saved her life...but now she's losing her mind. "An eerie mystery wrapped in a heart-wrenching romance―will leave you breathless!" ― Gretchen McNeil, author of TEN and the Don't Get Mad series

When Georgie Kendrick wakes up after a heart transplant she feels...different. The organ beating in her chest isn't in tune with the rest of her body. Like it still belongs to someone else. Someone with terrible memories...memories that are slowly replacing her own. A dark room, a man in the shadows, the sharp taste of adrenaline – these are her donor's final memories. Pieces of a deadly puzzle. And if Georgie doesn't want them to be the last thing she remembers, she has to find out the truth behind her donor's death...before she loses herself completely.

Fans of Lisa McMann and April Henry will devour this edgy, gripping thriller with a twist readers won't see coming!"©

"If you had to choose between losing your heart or your mind, what would you chose? Georgie Kendrick wakes up from her heart transplant feeling off, and for a while she can't figure out why. Mysterious memories (or are they) that she can't quite recall, and others that just seemingly vanish? Something is seriously wrong with her body and despite everyone else's determination to persuade her she's fine, Georgie is pushing her way through her own questions and to an answer. She must find where these crazy memories are coming from, and why her own are vanishing. To secure her sanity and sense of self Georgie must uncover who her donor is and quickly." - Alice Rose

The Forgetting is one of those engaging books that, if you aren't careful, could end up keeping you up until the wee hours of the morning trying to finish it all up. It's well written and the pace matches the character's desperate search perfectly; matching the peaks and leveling out during Georgie's search. This book keeps a reader engaged and wanting more. Not only does this book carry a mystery and thrill behind it, but also entwines an unusual form of romance right in the middle.

The Forgetting By Nicole Maggi
The Forgetting By Nicole Maggi

Vote

Which Book Would You Read?

See results

© 2015 alice rose 07

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.